Asmodeus

El_Razor's page

6 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


Talonhawke wrote:
I'll Throw and FAQ on it and hope for the best, however being a slightly underused weapon to begin with and only one monster even using I wouldn't get my hopes up that this will garner a lot of hits.

I'm hoping more people would use it if it had more clarification on its reach. There's so much flavor potential with a whip in combat!


17 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

I see this topic has been addressed many times on the forum without any official rulings whatsoever (Am I missing something?).

What is the reach of a large creature, huge creature, and gargantuan creature respectively with a whip? Assume all creatures are humanoid.

JJ's interpretation is that a large creature with a whip would have 30ft reach but that contradicts the Balor's 20ft of reach with a whip.

Ordinarily reach weapons double the creature's natural reach but a whip has 15ft reach on a medium sized creature. Why then does the Balor have 20ft reach?

Thanks!


blahpers wrote:
Suggestion: Make a new thread. The "No reply required" response was common for the day because the FAQ system wasn't as sophisticated back then.

Thanks!


Kifaru wrote:

I have been playing a whip magus character for the past 3 or so years in PFS. He has progressed all the way to 12th level. The general consensus has been that whips have 30 foot reach when large. I've played at a lot of tables, with many different GMs and none have ever ruled that the reach should only be 20 feet.

Definitely not an official ruling from on high, but this has been my general experience.

That's always been my interpretation as well but my current GM has ruled whips to have the creature's natural reach +10ft.

Large = 20ft
Huge = 25ft
Gargantuan = 30ft

At higher levels this is even worse than normal reach weapons!
His reasoning is the stats of the Balor.
On the bright side, he challenged me to provide him with either an official ruling or an example of a large (or larger) creature which uses a whip to change his mind.
And thus the hunt begins...


Hello I'm just bumping this thread as I am also looking for clarification on the reach large and huge creatures with whips.
JJ's interpretation seems to contradict that 20ft reach of Balors, which are large creatures. Has there been an official ruling?


James Jacobs wrote:
Gauss wrote:

James:

Two questions about reach (I know you answered Lunes questions but mine, while related are different or restated for clarification purposes):

CRB p141 wrote:
Reach Weapons: Glaives, guisarmes, lances, longspears, ranseurs, and whips are reach weapons. A reach weapon is a melee weapon that allows its wielder to strike at targets that aren’t adjacent to him. Most reach weapons double the wielder’s natural reach, meaning that a typical Small or Medium wielder of such a weapon can attack a creature 10 feet away, but not a creature in an adjacent square. A typical Large character wielding a reach weapon of the appropriate size can attack a creature 15 or 20 feet away, but not adjacent creatures or creatures up to 10 feet away.

Please note the bolded section for the following questions.

1) A tiny or smaller creature has a reach of zero. Double of zero = zero.
1A) What is the reach of a tiny or smaller creature with a longspear? 1B) If greater than zero can the tiny or smaller creature attack in his own square or adjacent squares?

2) A Small or Medium creature using a Whip has a reach of 15'. This is not 'double natural reach' but is in fact triple the natural reach.
2A) What is the reach of a Large creature with a natural reach of 10 when using a whip? (20feet is double, 30feet is triple)
2B) What is the reach of a Huge creature with a natural reach of 15 when using a whip? (30feet is double, 45feet is triple)
2C) What is the reach of a Tiny or smaller creature with a natural reach of 0 when using a whip? (0feet is double, 0 feet is triple, see question 1)

Thanks for your time as always and welcome back!

- Gauss

First off... all of these situations are strange corner cases that the rules don't specifically address, really, but here's how I'd answer all of them:

1) Giving a tiny or smaller creature a reach weapon allows it to attack adjacent foes as if it were a Small or Medium creature.

2) Small is a weird size category that, for...

I apologize for bumping this really old question on whips and reach but this is especially important for a campaign I'm in with a disagreement I'm having with my GM. Thankfully he's open to an official ruling (not including from a creative director).

I would like to know what the reach would be for a large creature, huge creature, and colossal creature respectively. Can anybody offer guidance on where I can get an official ruling? Thanks!

EDIT!
There appears to be some inconsistency with your interpretation James as the Balor is known to use a whip although it only has 20ft of reach as a large creature.