|Paizo Pathfinder® Paizo Games|
|About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ|
I second all the hubbub about inquisitor, but with that said, does your gaming group allow or have you read into dreamscarred press' psionics?
The Marksman can make an insane archery build in gestalt, especially with zen archer, and there is surprisingly little overlap.
Full Bab, Wisdom synergy, and the option of The Shroud archetype can make you even more of a tactical espionage beast.
Just a thought.
Do you have a reference for that? Not saying you're wrong, but most interpretations I've seen went the other way.
Core Rulebook, Pg. 12 under heading "Multipling" wrote:
When you are asked to apply more than one multiplier to a roll, the multipliers are not multiplied by one another. Instead, you combine them into a single multiplier, with each extra multiple adding 1 less than its value to the first multiple. For example, if you are asked to apply a ×2 multiplier twice, the result would be ×3, not ×4.
Bold is mine. The rule only ever specifies what to do with multipliers on rolls, making an an acceptation altering normal math for the game balance. If a roll is not involved, normal math takes precedence.
I've followed the advice in the FAQ and I can't seem to find a way into my sidecart to make adjustments. What am I missing?
If at all possible, I need someone to remove all of the Star Wars miniatures from my sidecart, as I no longer have a need for them. I would still like to purchase the bank, medallion, and Pale Tower guard miniature, however. Thanks in advance.
What happens if you combine these? The obvious answer would be that if you double something twice, in 3e/3.5e/PF, you triple it, so you can make 3,000gp per day. The one counterargument I could see is that one of these is halving the time taken to produce 1000gp, not doubling the value per day, and the other is doubling the value per day, which would let you make 4k per day.
The rules on multiplying being added percentages (x2 = +100%) only applies to numbers and variables involved in die rolls. For static game numbers, such as carrying capacity, overland movement, and hours spent crafting, normal multiplication applies.
There is one part of the monster advancement section you are forgetting. "These values are not absolute." When the developers and editors look over the final product for those creatures, they skewed them for their intended role. That does not mean that the other numbers do not fall within the charts capabilities.
The spriggan and animal companions stat modifications for size follow monster advancement, with the stated variation, and most certainly do not follow the polymorph size chart.
The big eye opener for me: All my characters need to be self sufficient. If they have to rely on a party member for something, it's not an option for very long.
As a fighter, I will let the caster "fly" me once or twice, but if it becomes apparent that it will continue, I will spend an enormous chunk of change so I can fly by myself.
If I'm the caster I will still, somehow, find a way to have the highest AC in the party, cause I don't trust the front-lines to always be there.
And I think teamwork feats are a waste of a slot unless I'm playing both characters.
I love the idea of rogues, but I will not play one on the assumption of flanking being how I get sneak attack.
..I, Apparently, have trust issues... ('_')
Nothing in game that I can think of uses the first table, except during Monster Creation.
The spriggan is the only monster I can find with an (SU) size altering ability and its stat boosts are in line with the monster advancement table. Likewise, EVERY animal companion uses that table to determine their bonuses upon size increase. In fact, I've only ever seen the Polymorph size table used for spell and spell-like effects. Maybe the editors use the ability type as a rule of thumb for which table to use; polymorph for (SP) & spells and Monster Advancement for (SU) & (EX).
Just a thought.
The Spriggan is from Tome of Horrors Complete, a third party supplement. As denoted by the big "This product was created by a 3rd party publisher" tag on the top right of the page.
..and has a similar stat block in Bestiary 2, pg. 257.
Edit* altered previous link to more appropriate one.
I don't know if this helps or hurts the argument, but the Spriggan has a non-polymorph supernatural size alteration that has bonuses that vaguely resemble the stat changes from the monster advancements table, not the polymorph table.
Bradley Mickle wrote:
Damage isn't done until they roll a save. If they succeed at a will save, they take half damage. It's like a fireball, make a reflex save. If you succeed, you take half damage. Channel Energy is similar except that its a will save.
Then you see my problem. As written, mythic improved channel doesn't cause anyone to roll twice until AFTER they're damaged.
Improved Channel (Mythic), pg.66 wrote:
(1) It looks as though once its created, it's set. Your GM may be nice, however, and let you gain another 20-foot cube's worth of customization when your tier raises.
(2) "Conjuring the door automatically dismisses any other active door." Before you create another door, the first one would dismiss instantly, shunting out all creatures (save familiar) inside.
(3) As the object becomes a construct creature, I would say yes.
(4) Yes, Sanctum doesn't remove the food clause, Bon Appétit!. As for the amount, my guess is 32 people per tier (20' cube per tier is 33% more than 6 10' cubes per 2 levels, ergo, 12 people x 2 levels per tier x 33% increase = 32 people. Sanctum does not change the description of the unseen servants, so they are most likely visible.
(5) Unseen servants would most likely be able to repair any object created by the mansion, given time. However, if you furnished your Sanctum with elaborate mechanical apparatuses or expensive crystal everything, I might require outside help.
(6) As the rules would allow you to 'furnish' your Sanctum with a solid gold couch, I'm inclined to believe mundane traps would be fine.
(Bonus from Ultimate2099) Yes. It is not location based. It's your own hermit crab pocket dimension.
Also, though it's not in the rules, I would allow a character to cast a Mage's Magnificent Mansion spell on the sanctum to rearrange it's floor plan and fix any broken furniture (Imagine how bummed a player might feel if he accidentally left the oven on or something and burned his Mythic Sanctum to a crisp and the GM just said, "Too bad. Enjoy the desolate rathole you wasted a mythic path ability on." I would also let a player use a spell such as Dimensional Anchor, Dimensional Lock or Binding during the creation of a construct to bind it to the Sanctum, but it would have to remain inside.
Quick list of what I could find:
Damned; story feat - completion grants a +2 to stat of choice and a +2 to caster level checks.
All-seeing eye, wondrous item - +1 to dispel vs. divination.
Deep Magic, Duergar alternate racial trait - +2 to overcome spell resistance and on dispel checks.
Strength of the Land, Dwarven (magic) trait - +1 trait bonus on caster level checks while touching the ground.
Unusual Heritage, Changeling teamwork feat - +2 to concentration checks and dispel checks within 30ft of 2 other changelings; +4 if one of them also has this feat.
Innocent Blood; story feat - +1 unnamed bonus on caster level checks for 1 min after you kill an intelligent creature.
Mage of the Wild; Elf feat - +2 to caster level checks in chosen terrain.
Scepter of Heaven; magic rod - +2 sacred bonus on caster level checks to dispel magic against evil descriptor or effects by evil outsiders. must be good to use.
Otherworldly Kimono; wondrous item - +4 on caster level checks, +6 if someone is trapped inside it. Best option
Pipes of Dissolution; wondrous item - +2 on caster level checks in 30ft while played.
Look into pummeling style. There is currently debate on it's rules as intended, but as written it works with all weapons and balls all their attacks into one shot. Clear with your DM how it will work with your critical fumbles rule. I have a zen archer that, after applying pummeling style, lets him deal 36d6+324 (when all attacks hit and at least one crits successfully; he crits approx. 46.8559% of the time) with a longbow.
Do the people who advocate an "only punches work" side of the argument also require only hand attacks when using the following feats: Crusader's Fist, Dispelling Fist, Elemental Fist, Gorgon's Fist, Nightmare Fist, One Finger, Stunning Fist, Unblinking Flame Fist?
What about feet attacks and Punishing Kick or Vicious Stomp?
The way I believe the critical pummeling style full attack would work is each attack crits for itself then adds together. Lets say we are doing the kukri / heavy pick combo:
Total for 2 attacks, one with each weapon is 4d6+4x(bonuses)+2d4+2x(offhandbonuses)
This feat does seem a little powerful, but I selfishly hope it stays with flurry-able weapons because I have a zen archer who would love this.
I really like that I can finally make One-Punch Man, though!
have the PCs already cleared out the Old Light?
If so did they destroy the sinspawn-pool-thingy? *Edit* Runeforge was the word!
Maybe Nualia decides to make one last kamikaze run at Sandpoint with some sinspawn from the caverns in tow? Some patron of the hagfish alerts the authorities (the PCs) that something is going on down the beach near the old light. PCs arrive to find the remainder of Nualia's entourage plus some sinspawn/mutated goblin fodder.
For extra epic points have the combat be on the beach at night.
Extra style points are awarded for increasing the size and scope of the battle on both sides, higher CR baddies and reinforcements for goodies (like Sherif Hemlock, Shelalu, and Ameiko).
Last I remember, Pathfinders iconic wizard, Ezren, was an atheist. His philosophy (if I remember correctly) was that if gods can be born, can be killed, and any mortal could become one, what's so special?
Just because this player doesn't believe Pelor is a god doesn't mean Pelor does not exist. It sounds more like he is either anti-theist or anti-religious; he doesn't believe (or trust) in god or religions, respectively. You should clear up whether this character is atheist, anti-theist, or merely anti-religious by informing him of how those concepts would interact with the populous. Have him describe his philosophy and reasoning, which should help you determine how future events may unfold (and whether he's just trying to dick you around).
114 Witty Paladin Sayings
1. And now, judgement!
Core Rules wrote:
A grappled creature is restrained by a creature, trap, or effect. Grappled creatures cannot move and take a –4 penalty to Dexterity.
As both of you gain the grappled condition after the successful grab, I'd rule that you would stop moving if you wanted to maintain the grapple.
If a vampire has successfully pinned a creature, does he deal negative levels in addition to constitution damage on subsequent successful grapple checks so long as he is choosing the 'deal damage' option and using a natural weapon?
Does he have to make an attack roll with a natural weapon to deal negative levels or is dealing natural attack damage enough?
Creatures w/ hands (can use conductive weapons)-
Creatures w/out hands (can only us conductive amulet)-
This list only contains Bestiaries I,II, & III. will add more later.
These are all supernatural abilities; I didn't look at spell-like. A couple of these monsters have abilities that already trigger once per round through a weapon (lamia matriarch and toshigami from memory) which a conductive weapon would allow them to use a second time.
The weird one on this list is the pale stranger, as his pistols area supernatural ability that requires a ranged touch attack. You could give him a conductive rifle and his pistols will still shot them :)
Sorry to point out, but conductive won't work with a vampire's energy drain or the Talons of Leng because neither are touch attacks. Both effects occur when using a natural weapon (specifically the claws in the case of the talons) and are not independent from those attacks.
If a monk with the crane style feat tree decided on her turn to fight defensively while making a maneuver attempt for which she didn't have the improved feat, would she still benefit from fighting defensively / the crane style feats for the attack of opportunity even though she hasn't made an attack yet?