Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Vampire

Duskblade's page

727 posts. No reviews. No lists. 1 wishlist.


RSS

1 to 50 of 727 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | next > last >>

Here's another question: does the insinuator qualify for feats like extra lay on hands and extra mercy?


So I have a question about smite impudence: it says that an antipaladin cannot smite a target that shares an alignment with the invoked outsider they chose for the day. Does this mean that if I invoke a 'neutral outsider' (lets say...an elemental), am I not allowed to smite anything that has 'neutral' in its alignment (for example, Lawful neutral, chaotic neutral, neutral evil, etc), or does this just apply to smiting enemies (like animals) that ONLY have a neutral alignment?


Mmmm, would love to hear more about the insinuator antipaladin (and any other archetypes available in the book). :)


I'm curious about the Id Rager, Reliquarian, and Fated Guide. Any chance that we could get some details about them (and the Nexian channeler as well. That's got my very curious too).


I'm interested to know what the True Silvered Throne Shaman archetype is like: what do they give up and what do they get (in a nutshell of course)?


Do you actually have to hold the stone of good luck in order to receive its benefits, or can you store it in something like a Handy Haversack and still be okay?


I wasn't sure how it worked honestly. I mean, yes, it makes sense that all of them would be dispelled since you are targeting the 'spell' and all, but at the same time it also seems like each individual creature would need to be dispelled in order to make them vanish (or, at the very least, you need to use an 'area' dispel' to make sure you get them all).


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

This is an interesting issue that was brought to our table a couple of days ago: Lets say I use the summon monster spell to summon multiple creatures, and then one of those creatures is targeted by dispel magic and is successfully dispelled...what happens?

Does that one single creature get dispelled, or do all of them vanish?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I agree. The ability for me to prove that the eidolon is an instantaneous conjuration effect just isn't there (I basically need a dev to state otherwise at this point because instantaneous duration effects cannot be dismissed...and I have no way proving that the ability to dismiss the eidolon is a separate effect that is just granted through the eidolon ability). I appreciate all the help guys, and thanks for your patience.


I will say it again: the eidolon is NOT a spell.

The eidolon does NOT have a permanent duration, a timed duration, and doesn't require concentration to maintain.

The eidolon is a summoned creature.

It is the 'result' of a conjuration effect with an 'instantaneous duration' created by the one minute ritual used to summon it.

If I am wrong with any this, don't just sit back and call these assumptions. Explain how I am wrong and please don't waste time mocking my conclusions.


Let me clear this up...

The eidolon is NOT spell.

The ritual is the 'effect/spell' that brings the eidolon into existence.

The ritual is NOT permanent.

The ritual has a casting time of 1 minute with NO timed duration.

The ritual brings the eidolon into existence which is an 'instantaneous effect'.

The ritual must be a conjuration effect.

The eidolon counts as a summoned creature.

If the eidolon is magical, then it is the result of a conjuration effect with an instantaneous duration.

If the eidolon is NOT magical, then the eidolon cannot be effected by an antimagic field DESPITE being a summoned creature (because there is no magic to begin with...and therefore there is nothing to suppress...which means that despite being a summoned creature...the eidolon WOULD NOT wink out of existence).


Here are the options...

=======

Timed Durations

Many durations are measured in rounds, minutes, hours, or other increments. When the time is up, the magic goes away and the spell ends. If a spell's duration is variable, the duration is rolled secretly so the caster doesn't know how long the spell will last.

Instantaneous

The spell energy comes and goes the instant the spell is cast, though the consequences might be long-lasting.

Permanent

The energy remains as long as the effect does. This means the spell is vulnerable to dispel magic.

Concentration

The spell lasts as long as you concentrate on it. Concentrating to maintain a spell is a standard action that does not provoke attacks of opportunity. Anything that could break your concentration when casting a spell can also break your concentration while you're maintaining one, causing the spell to end. See concentration.

You can't cast a spell while concentrating on another one. Some spells last for a short time after you cease concentrating.

=======

Now, the ritual that 'summons' the eidolon must have one of these duration effects (if we are to assume the eidolon is magical). From what we can tell, the 'casting time' of the ritual is one minute...and the duration isn't timed because its not based on rounds/days/hours per level...so timed is out.

The duration is not concentration because you don't have to keep concentrating on the 'ritual' to maintain the effect (u don't spend standard actions each round to keep the eidolon).

It can't be permanent because the eidolon is immune to dispel magic (and the effect of the ritual disappears if the eidolon is killed, etc).

However, upon the completetion of the ritual, the 'ritual' is complete and the eidolon arrives.

The 'ritual' itself is the thing with the duration...the eidolon is the 'result' of said ritual...and as I stated...

The effects of instantaneous conjurations are not affected by an antimagic field because the conjuration itself is no longer in effect, only its result.

The eidolon is that result.


Komoda wrote:

Why don't you think the duration is a weaker form of concentration? Anytime the summoner "is unconscious, asleep, or killed" sounds like a weak form of concentration to me.

That is completely different than instantaneous or no duration.

I think it would disappear in an Anti-Magic field.

The problem with that logic is that 'weaker concentration' does not equal 'actual concentration'. The definitions of all 'durations' are clearly spelled out: permanent, timed, concentration, and instanteous. The ability must fall under one of these cateregories if we are to assume the summoning and existence of the eidolon is a magical effect.

From what I can tell, of the four durations listed, the only one it could possibly be is instantaneous based on the description of how the eidolon is summoned.


Nigrescence wrote:
Nigrescence wrote:
Duskblade wrote:
Also, as I stated before...if the eidolon doesn't even register as being magical (such as using detect magic on it)...
How are you arriving at this conclusion, or is this just an assumption that you have made?

I see you have completely ignored my post here. Please, answer it.

I will also reiterate for you this text from Antimagic Field.

"Summoned creatures of any type wink out if they enter an antimagic field."

Again, read my post explaining all of the relevant portions and follow the logic. You are making completely unfounded assumptions and then using a parenthetical text explaining a non-related issue (which is overruled by the above quoted text anyway) to completely ignore EVERYTHING that the rules are saying.

I am not ignoring anything that the rules are saying (if anything I am supporting them, but pointing out a contradiction).

Summoned creatures of any kind wink out of existence.

I agree. However...

The effects of instantaneous conjurations are not affected by an antimagic field because the conjuration itself is no longer in effect, only its result.

The problem with the ENTIRE issue is that from what I can tell...the eidolon qualifies for BOTH of these: it is a summoned creature that is brought into existence using a conjuration effect with an instantaneous duration. If this is the case, then the eidolon CANNOT be subject to an anti-magic field via the rules. This is NOT an unfounded assumption (nor is it an unrelated issue), so please stop calling it such.


Nigrescence wrote:
Duskblade wrote:
Also, as I stated before...if the eidolon doesn't even register as being magical (such as using detect magic on it)...
How are you arriving at this conclusion, or is this just an assumption that you have made?

Let me put it another way:

If the eidolon is magical, then it would be of the 'conjuration school'...and it is a conjuration effect with no duration...meaning anti-magic field doesn't work against it.

If the eidolon ISN'T magical...then anti-magic field can't effect it anyway because there is NO MAGIC to suppress.

The problem is that the 'ritual to summon an eidolon' doesn't exactly specify what kind of 'effect' it is (yes, we can assume it is a 'summoned effect'...but as you said..this is not specifically stated). Therefore, it stands to reason that the eidolon is either magical or it is NOT magical.

If it is NOT magical, anti-magic field doesn't work regardless of whether or not it is treated as a summoned creature. If it is magical, then it would have to be some sort of conjuration effect (and if it is a conjuration effect with no duration...it is therefore immune to antimagic field).

My point is that either way...regardless of whether the eidolon is magical or not...it would seem that in both cases it is immune to anti-magic field.


I understand the logic and agree with you to a point, but I'm afraid the issue still remains:

If the eidolon is not a 'magical effect', then how can anti-magic field effect it? Yes, while I realize that it is treated as summoned creature, it is NOT a summoned creature with a set duration. By that logic, the eidolon MUST have an instantaneous duration (which is understandable considering dispel magic doesn't work against it). Now, regardless of whether it is called, created, OR summoned...all of these effects are CONJURATION effects....

And as anti-magic field states:

The effects of instantaneous conjurations are not affected by an antimagic field because the conjuration itself is no longer in effect, only its result.

A summoned creature IS a conjuration effect...because we both agree you do summon it. The eidolon does NOT have a duration of any kind (it doesn't exist for hours per level/days per level/etc), which means that the process of 'summoning' the eidolon is instanteous.

Therefore, does it not stand to reason the eidolon is immune to antimagic field? From what I can tell, that seems to be the case.

Basically consider this:

If the eidolon DOESN'T register as magical...how can an anti-magic field effect it?

And if the eidolon DOES register as magical with a conjuration effect....then it is a conjuration effect WITHOUT a duration (thus it is immune to ant-magic field).


Hey Mark, I have to ask: Does an eidolon function in an antimagic field? I apologize for bringing up this question if it has already been asked, but the issue has come up in my current adventure path and I'd really like to find an answer.

I've also posted this question on the forums:

http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2sxsw?What-happens-when-an-eidolon-enters-an

In the thread I list my reasons as to why I believe the eidolon doesn't wink out of existence in an ant-magic field, but if you could help shed some light on the subject that would be great.


Hey Jason, I have to ask: Does an eidolon function in an antimagic field? I apologize for bringing up this question if it has already been asked, but the issue has come up in my current adventure path and I'd really like to find an answer.

I've also posted this question on the forums:

http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2sxsw?What-happens-when-an-eidolon-enters-an

In the thread I list my reasons as to why I believe the eidolon doesn't wink out of existence in an ant-magic field, but if you could help shed some light on the subject that would be great.


Yes, I agree that summoned creatures do wink out...but that only applies to summoned creatures with a duration. Here is the relevant text...

Pathfinder SRD wrote:


ANTIMAGIC FIELD
School abjuration; Level cleric 8, sorcerer/wizard 6
Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, S, M/DF (pinch of powdered iron or iron filings)
Range 10 ft.
Area 10-ft.-radius emanation, centered on you
Duration 10 min./level (D)
Saving Throw none; Spell Resistance see text
An invisible barrier surrounds you and moves with you. The space within this barrier is impervious to most magical effects, including spells, spell-like abilities, and supernatural abilities. Likewise, it prevents the functioning of any magic items or spells within its confines.

An antimagic field suppresses any spell or magical effect used within, brought into, or cast into the area, but does not dispel it. Time spent within an antimagic field counts against the suppressed spell's duration.

Summoned creatures of any type wink out if they enter an antimagic field. They reappear in the same spot once the field goes away. Time spent winked out counts normally against the duration of the conjuration that is maintaining the creature. If you cast antimagic field in an area occupied by a summoned creature that has spell resistance, you must make a caster level check (1d20 + caster level) against the creature's spell resistance to make it wink out. (The effects of instantaneous conjurations are not affected by an antimagic field because the conjuration itself is no longer in effect, only its result.)

A normal creature can enter the area, as can normal missiles. Furthermore, while a magic sword does not function magically within the area, it is still a sword (and a masterwork sword at that). The spell has no effect on golems and other constructs that are imbued with magic during their creation process and are thereafter self-supporting (unless they have been summoned, in which case they are treated like any other summoned creatures). Elementals, undead, and outsiders are likewise unaffected unless summoned. These creatures' spell-like or supernatural abilities may be temporarily nullified by the field. Dispel magic does not remove the field.

Two or more antimagic fields sharing any of the same space have no effect on each other. Certain spells, such as wall of force, prismatic sphere, and prismatic wall, remain unaffected by antimagic field. Artifacts and deities are unaffected by mortal magic such as this.

Should a creature be larger than the area enclosed by the barrier, any part of it that lies outside the barrier is unaffected by the field.

Basically the eidolon is summoned into existence by a 'conjuration effect' and has an instanteous duration. Therefore, it is an except to the rule of being effected by the anti-magic field.

Also, as I stated before...if the eidolon doesn't even register as being magical (such as using detect magic on it), how can it even be effected by an anti-magic field?


4 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

Okay, this issue has come up in my current adventure path in Kingmaker, and I really need to find an answer.

Basically the argument boils down to this: does the eidolon 'wink' out of existence when it enters an antimagic field or not?

My argument is that it does not, because the eidolon is brought into existence using a 'ritual' with an instantaneous effect (I'm assuming the ritual MUST be a conjuration effect because u are literally 'summoning' a creature from another plane). Therefore, the eidolon follows the similar rules to a planar ally (basically a planar ally would NOT wink out of existence in an antimagic field because it is not tethered to the material plane by magic).

Furthermore, if you detect magic on the eidolon, from what I can tell...the eidolon would not register as a 'conjuration' effect (again, meaning that the eidolon is ACTUALLY there and not simply existing in that location because of a 'magical' effect). Therefore, if the eidolon doesn't register as 'magical' when u detect magic on it...how can it be effected by an 'anti-magic field' if there is NO MAGIC on the eidolon?

Keep in mind that like planar ally, eidolon's are not effected by dispel magic effects (which is essentially what antimagic field does). So, if the eidolon is immune to dispel magic effects...how can antimagic field work on it?

Yes, I know the eidolon is listed as being a 'summoned creature', but it would appear that it is a summoned creature that with 'no duration' (which would then mean that the 'summoning' of this summoned creature is an instantaneous effect...which would then imply that antimagic field CANNOT effect it).

Please, any thoughts on the matter would be greatly appreciated.


Lets say, for example, that I am a half-orc, and I just got to level 4 allowing me to increase my intelligence from a 13 to a 14. Now, when it comes time to select my bonus language to learn, what are my restrictions?

Am I only capable of selecting the half-orc 'starting languages' (Abyssal, Draconic, Giant, Gnoll, and Goblin), or can I select any language I want?


Well, here's something a little ironic: there is nothing in the description of panoply bond that prohibits you from selecting a 'special material' for your implement. So technically it seems u could start out with mithral armor, an adamantine weapon, etc.


Is it possible to target a square with your kinetic blast while using the snake infusion + ride the blast? Basically what I'm asking is do you have to target an 'enemy' specifically, or can you target things like walls, ledges, etc?


So I assume that means the kinetic healer burn cost isn't reduced by infusion specialization (I wasn't sure if it was because all of this seems to come from an 'infusion' to begin with)? (Also, thanks for replying Mark :) tis always nice to hear from one of the big guys)

I guess the real meat of the question is this: is it possible to reduce the burn cost of the 'vampiric infusion' down to zero using things like gather power or infusion specialization (I only ask because the burn from kinetic healer normally can't be reduced via gather power, and I'm not sure if the burn gained from it counts as an 'infusion' since it triggers from vampiric infusion).

Basically I'm wanting to see if a blood Kineticist/overwhelming soul can even use this ability.


When using the 'vampiric infusion' gained from the Blood Kineticist archetype, is the burn cost for using kinetic healer included in the infusions cost, or is it separate? For anyone who doesn't know, here is what the 'vampiric infusion' does...

Pathfinder SRD wrote:

At 11th level, a blood kineticist can drain the vitality from her enemy's blood to restore her own.

If her blast hits (or the enemy fails its saving throw against a blast without an attack roll) the blood kineticist can activate the kinetic healer utility wild talent on herself by accepting its burn cost; she doesn't need to take an action to do so. If she doesn't possess the kinetic healer utility wild talent, she can still use this ability, but it heals only half as much. This is a 5th-level substance infusion that costs 3 points of burn and can be used with water and blood blasts.

From what I can tell, this infusion either costs 3 or 4 burn depending on whether or not the additional burn from kinetic healer is added on to the total cost. However, this also made me a little curious about other possibilities:

1. Can this infusion's cost be reduced to 0 via the infusion specialization ability? (basically at level 11 or 14 respectively, can the infusion specialization ability reduce the entire cost, including the extra burn gained by kinetic healer, down to 0)

2. Do you still have to accept the burn from kinetic healer if you do not possess the kinetic healer wild talent? (in other words, do you just heal half the damage without having to increase the amount of burn you receive)


When using 'gather power' to reduce the burn cost of blast wild talents, is it only able to reduce the cost of a single wild talent, or does it reduce the 'total cost' of burn.

For example, a 16th level Kineticist with both supercharge and composite specialization can already reduce the cost of infusions by 4 (from infusion specialization), composite blasts by 1, and can spend a move action to reduce the cost of burn from wild talents by 2 more.

However, here is where my confusion lies...

Lets say I use gather power to reduce the cost of my composite blast (which is currently at 1 burn) down to 0 burn, and I also want to add the 'empower' metakinesis to my composite blast as well (which also costs 1 burn). Now then, leaving aside the cost reduction from 'infusion specialization', would gather power be able to reduce the cost from both the composite blast burn AND the empower metakinesis burn, or does it ONLY apply to a single 'wild talent' (in other words, the cost reduction provided by gather power can only reduce the composite burn cost OR the empower metakinesis burn cost, but it cannot reduce the total burn gained down to 0 because the burn is gained from two different sources).

Basically, here are the scenarios:

a) It reduces the 'total burn', meaning that applying the composite blast and empower metakensis to the kinetic blast wouldn't cost me any burn (because the burn was reduced to 0).

or

b) It reduces the burned gained from only '1' of the sources (which means that my Kineticist would still take 1 point of burn).

Which one is correct?


Well, since we are on the subject of possible errors for the spiritualist, here is something I caught for the 'Haunted Spiritualist' archetype...

Pathfinder SRD wrote:
Ferocious Phantom: At 18th level, when using usurp manifestation the phantom gains DR 10/slashing and spell resistance equal to 11 + the haunted's spiritualist level (this spell resistance doesn't apply to spells originating from the spiritualist or from the usurp spell ability).

It seems a little silly that the phantom gains DR 10/slashing at 18th level when you automatically gain the following...

Pathfinder SRD wrote:
Damage Reduction: A phantom manifested in ectoplasmic form has DR 5/slashing. When the spiritualist reaches 5th level, the phantom gains DR 5/magic. At 10th level, the damage resistance increases to 10/magic. At 15th level, it increases to 15/magic, and at 20th level, the damage reduction becomes DR 15/—.

At best, you gain DR 15/magic and DR 10/Slashing at level 18, but it seems a bit strange that not only is the DR you gain less then the amount that the phantom already has, it pretty much becomes obsolete once you hit 20th level.


4 people marked this as a favorite.

Well, I'm hoping for Antipaladin archetypes as usual. Specifically archetypes that deal with trading out smite good and cruelties for other bonuses (such as gaining the barbarian 'Rage' ability along with 'Rage Powers'). Some Ninja archetypes would also be very welcome as well.

Or....how about an Antipaladin archetype that trades out 'fiendish boon' for a 'Black Blade' (like the one gained from the Magus archetype). I mean, come on...who doesn't like the idea of having an evil blade with a mind of its own? Tis clearly much more practical than a silly little ring (just make sure the hobbits don't steal it) ;)


I apologize if I sound dense, but doesn't the term 'may always act in a surprise round' basically mean that he is always aware regardless? From what I can tell, that seems to be the case, but it doesn't answer the question: what does 'is never surprised' actually mean in gaming terms.

For example, lets say a bunch of enemies ambush the party and a surprise round begins. The party already made their perception checks in order to determine who was 'aware' of the ambush, and any players that made the DC will get to act in the 'surprise round'.

However, a 13th level Kensai would get to act in the surprise round regardless of whether or not he made the perception check (he does this because of the ability gained at 13th level). Yet for this example, let us assume the Kensai is 19th level, and thus can never be surprise.

What happens then?

From what I can tell, the term 'never surprised' seems to suggest that while a surprise round does occur for all other combatants, the Kensai would treat the 'surprise round' as a 'normal round' instead (because he can never be surprised, and is thus not subject to the normal 'surprise round' restrictions). Based on the wording of the ability, this doesn't seem to be an inappropriate explanation, especially when you consider the inverse of a question:

How can a Kensai act in a 'surprise round' if he is 'never surprised'?


Then I suppose the begs the question: what is the point of saying a kensai is 'never surprised' if he already gains this ability at an earlier level...

Pathfinder SRD wrote:
At 13th level, a kensai may always act and may draw his weapon as a swift action during a surprise round, though he is considered flat-footed until he acts. During a surprise round or when attacking a flat-footed opponent, he adds his Intelligence modifier on damage with his chosen weapon (minimum 0).


Pathfinder SRD wrote:

Iaijutsu Master (Ex)

At 19th level, a kensai’s initiative roll is automatically a natural 20 and he is never surprised.

Given the wording of a 'surprise round', it would seem that the Kensai can take a full round action during a surprise because he can never be surprised (Which would mean that if there was a surprise round, the kensai would simply treat it as a normal round for himself instead).

Is this correct?


I know this is an old subject, but I still would appreciate an answer on this :)


I'm curious about all the archetypes in general for the core/hybrid/base/and alternate classes. Does anyone care to make a list of them (along with a brief description as to what they do/replace)?


So quick question: does the spirit summoner archetype still work with the unchained summoner. I would think it does because it doesn't really 'alter' the eidolon in any meaningful way (it basically has the same restrictions that the new eidolon subtypes have).


While I was browsing around trying to construct my oracle, I came across something that kinda confused me...

Phantom Touch (Su): As a standard action, you can perform a melee touch attack that causes a living creature to become shaken. This ability lasts for a number of rounds equal to 1/2 your oracle level (minimum 1 round). You can use this ability a number of times per day equal to 3 + your Charisma modifier. (From the Ancestor Mystery)

Phantom Touch (Su): As a standard action, you can perform a melee touch attack that causes a living creature to become shaken. This ability lasts for a number of rounds equal to 1/2 your oracle level (minimum 1 round). You can use this ability a number of times per day equal to 3 + your Charisma modifier. At 5th level, the target instead becomes frightened, and at 7th level, the target becomes panicked. (From the Occult Mystery)

So um, I guess my question is...is this a typo? Or are both these abilities meant to be different? I mostly ask because other mysteries such as Ectoplasmic Armor and Spirit Shield seem to be the same so...what's the deal?


Alright, so my plan is to make a dhampir bloodrager, but I was concerned about the whole 'negative energy affinity'. Therefore, I thought it would be neat to counter that problem by using the spelleater archetype for Bloodrager. However, while going over the archetype, I came across something that kind worried me...

Spell Eating (su) - At 5th level, a spelleater can consume spell slots for an extra dose of healing. As a swift action, the spelleater can consume one unused bloodrager spell slot to heal 1d8 damage for each level of the spell slot consumed.

So my question is this: does 'Spell Eating' count as positive energy, or is the dhampir allowed to heal with it?


2 people marked this as a favorite.

Succubus in a grapple...the only way to die :P


Hopefully Kuru will be supported as well :)


I hope we get to see new archetypes (especially for antipaladin, ninja, or samurai).


Antipaladin archetypes!!!! I want them sooo badly (or more archetypes in general).


James Jacobs wrote:
Duskblade wrote:
Please...PLEASE tell me Kuru are supported in this book. I soooo want more options for my Kuru character...pretty please James *looks at u with puppy dog eyes*
Sorry. Kuru are not really intended to be PCs first of all... and on top of that I'm pretty sure they're way too obscure for much of a mention in this book.

To James Jacob:

Ahem, my Kuru Brawler of Gorum might disagree with you.

hehehe


Please...PLEASE tell me Kuru are supported in this book. I soooo want more options for my Kuru character...pretty please James *looks at u with puppy dog eyes*


1 person marked this as a favorite.

One of my favorite things about Pathfinder has always been the archetypes. I love being able to trade out certain abilities in order to give my character more flavor, power, or at the very least make them more unique. However, even after all the books paizo has released, there are still some classes that are in DESPERATE need of more archetypes (at least in my opinion): Samurai, ninja, antipaladin, sorcerer, and witch (just to name a few), and I'm sure we would all certainly love to see more archetypes included for the classes in the Advanced Class Guide as well.

So tell me everyone, what do you think? What kind of archetypes would you like to see in the future? For me, I think I'm mostly looking forward to more Antipaladin (or even paladin) archetypes. Perhaps something that can turn you into a vampire (or maybe an archetype for a wizard/sorcerer/arcanist that turns you into a lich).

Perhaps a samurai archetypes that has access to ki, or an antipaladin archetype that sacrifices smite good for barbarian Rage.

Please feel free to post some of your thoughts/suggestions as well (and who knows, maybe paizo will consider the idea of printing this book somewhere down the road).


Okay, to answer a few questions:

1) I am currently one of the PCs, and we are near the end of book two in Kingmaker (not sure where exactly, but the GM says we are nearly done).

2) My group and I (along with the GM) all agreed that we did not need to write extensive 'criminal law'. In other words, cases of 'self-defense' have some pretty basic assumptions (such as using any means necessary in order to defend our lives). Therefore, by adopting this method, all my allies (myself included) maintain the ability to use enchantment magic, necromancy, etc.

3) In regards to 'tax laws', I have to be honest: I didn't want to write them (and to be fair, I'm pretty sure no one does). However, our kingdom does assume that there is a law that expects citizens to pay their taxes.

4) The laws I created were meant to handle problems in 'broad strokes'. I'd really like to avoid writing out page after page of legal documentation that dictates how magic items of extensive value need to be registered in order to establish proper ownership. Essentially if such a problem did arise, then the issue would be declared as 'theft' and thus investigated accordingly.


Also, while I realize the second right might seem a little strange, it actually serves two purposes: the first being that citizens are granted a great degree of freedom in our kingdom, yet at the same time, should any gathering start to prove dangerous (basically on the verge of a riot), then the presiding authorities have the right to disperse the group in order to avoid any potential escalating violence.


The purpose of the seventh right is to preserve the individual freedom and to also avoid potential corruption. For example, when writing our laws, it occurred to me that enchantment magic (namely charm or domination spells) could cause a huge problem in regards to how criminals are handled.

My main concern is that charm magic could 'technically' be used to force someone to confess (or in some cases, admit to a crime they did not commit). Other problems included charming a citizen to sell their house or give up their life savings (things of this nature).

While I understand the law does hamper enchantment magic for PCs, this has yet to be an issue for my current group. However, this isn't to say that exceptions can be made (for instance, the 'sleep' spell is classified as mind-effecting, but if the spell is being used to sedate someone who is in a lot of pain, then it is excusable).


Hey everyone. My group and I just finalized the laws for our kingdom, and I was hoping to get some feedback from the forums regarding any potential improvements/oversights that we need to address. Our Kingdom is currently neutral good in alignment, and the way our laws are worded specifically alienate certain types of creatures (mainly undead). This is intentional of course because we've currently been suffering from a small vampire infestation, and it was decided by my group that the undead had no place in our current kingdom.

Anyway, please look over our laws and let us know what you think. If you see anything we should change/improve upon, or if you find something that we've overlooked, please let me know.

=========

Crimes
Treason-Providing assistance, comfort, or information to enemies of the Kingdom, and acting directly against its interests.
[Sentence]-Death, imprisonment of a term to be set by the presiding authorities, or exile.

Murder-Killing of another person without justification. All murders pertaining to nobility must be dealt with by the crown.
[Sentence]-Imprisonment of a term to be set by the presiding authorities, or death.

Kidnapping-Unlawfully seizing and carrying away a person by force or fraud, or seizing and detaining a person against their will.
[Sentence]- Imprisonment of a term to be set by the presiding authorities.

Theft-Unlawful removal or destruction of property. This includes larceny, robbery, vandalism, fraud, tax evasion, and corruption.
[Sentence]-Two payments of equal value for the removed/damaged property, once to the victim and once to the crown, and one of the following:
a) Up to 10 years of indentured servitude in service of the victim. The accused can choose instead to pay the value of years of labor instead. Should the accused not be able to pay the first part of the sentence, the value of that fine is also to be added to the term of servitude.
b) Imprisonment of a term to be set by the presiding authorities.

Assault-Physical harm to any person or persons.
[Sentence]-Payment of any medical treatment required by the victim, and a matching payment to be made to the realm (anyone not able to pay must enter indentured servitude to work off their debt) as well as one of the following:
a) Up to 5 years of indentured servitude in the service of the victim.
b) Imprisonment of a term to be set by the presiding authorities.
c) Death (reserved for repeat offenders or serious offenses).

Slavery-The ownership of any sentient creature above primal intelligence, whether by magical means or otherwise (with the only exception being indentured servitude, which will always be determined by the presiding authorities).
[Sentence]-All slaves will be confiscated and granted their freedom, as well as one of the following:
a) A fine of up to 30,000 gold pieces to be paid to the crown.
b) Up to 10 years imprisonment or exile for repeat offenders.

Neglect-The mistreatment of any sentient creature. This includes, but is not limited to, abandonment of dependent parties, malpractice, or abuse.
[Sentence]-Confiscation of said dependent parties, as well as one of the following:
a) A fine of up to 5,000 gold pieces to be paid to the crown.
b) Up to 10 years imprisonment for repeat offenders.

Avoidance of Punishment-Violating exile, resisting arrest, or escaping indentured servitude or imprisonment.
[Sentence]-Increased severity of previous punishment, or death.

Attempted Crimes-If it can be proven that an individual attempted to commit a crime but was unsuccessful, they may be tried as if they had, indeed, committed the crime.

Necromancy-The summoning and/or creation of undead without a valid permit.
[Sentence]-Destruction of said undead, imprisonment of a term set by the presiding authorities, or death.

--------

The Rights of All:
The First Right
All living people have a right to live and work within the kingdom regardless of race so long as they obey the law including direct orders given by the presiding authorities. Any interference with this right is to be considered, by law, the crime of theft (removal of one’s ability to live and work is akin to stealing their wages).

The Second Right
All living people have the right to speak their minds and gather in public or in private as they see fit, so long as they obey the law including direct orders given by presiding authorities. Any interference with this right is to be considered treason.

The Third Right
All living people have the right to bear grievances in open or meetings private meetings with the presiding authorities. Any interference with this right is to be considered treason (preventing members of the kingdom from bearing grievances harms the kingdom on a fundamental level).

The Fourth Right
All living people have the right to basic property. A man’s home and his possessions may not be taken without authority of law. Any interference with this right is to be considered, by law, the crime of theft.

The Fifth Right
All living people have the right to bring crimes to the attention of the presiding authorities for investigation. If in the course of that investigation the presiding authorities determine that a crime has been committed, further action will be taken. Interference with this right is to be considered treason.

The Sixth Right
All living people have the right to bear grievance against another in the form of juris macto. Both parties must agree to the duel and both parties must have a second to represent their interests. There must also be a member of the presiding authorities to attend the event. The seconds meet and decide the terms and time/location of the duel. All duels must happen on public land. The seconds must agree to weapons for the duel and the means of its conclusion (wounding, death, submission, first blood, incapacitation, etc). Once agreed, these options are presented to both the presiding authorities and the duelers. If the seconds cannot come to terms they can instead request arbitration from the presiding authorities. Anyone can reject a duel, and duelers are not responsible for any harm done to their opponent during the course of the duel. Any dueler caught cheating in said duel, or attempts to deceive the presiding authority, automatically forfeits both duel and life. Duelers may also nominate champions in their stead, although such champions must be presented in a timely fashion.

The Seventh Right
All living people have the right to free will and freedom of form. Magic cannot be used to forcefully alter an individual’s personality or ability to think for themselves, nor can it be used to change their appearance if they do not desire it. Any violation of this right will be considered assault.

---------

Terms of Office/Elections
Whenever a seat on the council becomes vacant (either due to death, resignation, conviction of a crime, etc.) the presiding authorities may elect a temporary replacement to hold the office until an official election can be conducted. In such a case, the election must occur within two months of the councilmember’s position becoming vacant, during which time the people may nominate a representative to participate in a campaign to claim the open position. If this representative is the same individual that the presiding authorities already nominated as the temporary replacement, then no election will be necessary and the temporary replacement will be automatically sworn in as the new councilmember. However, if the people’s representative is not the same nominee that the presiding authorities elected as the temporary replacement, an election must be held to determine which one among the two of them will become the newest councilmember. Each citizen above the age of 14 will be allowed one vote, and at the end of the election, the representative with the most votes will be declared the winner. If the votes end up becoming a tie, then the ruler of the kingdom will decide the final outcome. Any attempts to fix, alter, or cheat the election process will be considered treason.

Positions of Authority
The Ruler-The ruler has full authority to make any decision, or overrule any previous decision, in proxy for any member of the presiding authorities.

The Heir-The heir to the kingdom has full authority to act in the ruler’s stead, although the heir cannot overrule or make any decisions in proxy for any member of the presiding authorities. If the ruler is removed from the throne, the heir is then appointed as the new ruler for the kingdom, and must subsequently select a new heir for the realm. Only a majority vote from members of the presiding authorities can bring the heir up on charges. If convicted of a capital crime (or deemed incompetent to rule by the presiding authorities), the heir can be removed from their position, exiled from the kingdom, imprisoned, or be put to death.

Presiding Authorities-The presiding authorities act upon their offices and are only answerable to other members of the council (the heir and ruler included). Only a majority vote from members of the presiding authorities can bring a councilmember up on charges. If convicted of a capital crime (or deemed incompetent by the presiding authorities), the councilmember can be removed from office, exiled from the kingdom, imprisoned, or be put to death.

Nobility- The title of a noble can only be granted by the ruler of the kingdom (or by the heir if the ruler is absent). Nobles are responsible for maintaining their lands, providing for their people, and collecting taxes for the crown. Only the ruler can terminate a claim of nobility, although the heir does maintain the authority to suspend a noble’s title if the ruler is absent.


Kuru are a race of cannibals from the Shackles...

Check them out here.


Ya know, as soon as I read this I REALLY wanted to make an amazing Kuru villian, but sadly that race is not allowed :(


The Brawler (like Chuck Norris) channels the power of MANLINESS into their fists. MANLINESS is power. MANLINESS is greater than magic. To be honest, when the brawler hits something, you should just be grateful that your players are still alive to witness the aftermath. ;)

1 to 50 of 727 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | next > last >>

©2002–2015 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.