Red Dragon

Dragongold3's page

FullStarFullStarFullStar Venture-Agent, Idaho—Boise 18 posts (20 including aliases). No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 34 Organized Play characters.


RSS


So looking into the options, few as they are, it seems that to do the mystic I'm coming up with:
Race: Half-Elf

Classes:
1 Oracle (1)
2 Mesmerist (1), Dreamstalker
3 Sorcerer (1)
4 Oracle (2)
5 Sorcerer (2)
6 Oracle (3)
7 Sorcerer (3)
8 Oracle (4)
9 Sorcerer (4)
10 Mystic Theurge (1), Sorcerer Spellcasting, Oracle Spellcasting
11 Mystic Theurge (2)
12 Mystic Theurge (3)
Specials:
1 Revelation 1: Sidestep Secret. Mystery: Lore. Curse: Haunted.
2
3 Sorcerer Bloodlines: Possessed.
4
5
6 Revelation 2: Lore Keeper.
7
8
9
10
11
12
Feats:
1 Noble Scion of War
2
3 Combat Casting
4
5 Spell Focus: Illusion
6
7 Spell Focus: Enchantment
8
9 Greater Spell Focus: Enchantment
10
11 Greater Spell Focus: Illusion
12


So some of the local players here in Boise have decided to come up with "lust" domain characters. It's led to some interesting gameplay and I got "challenged" to make one of my own. Now a separate person asked what the mystic theurge was for since it took so long to get into and I couldn't give them a adequate answer so I decided to kill 2 birds with one stone, but think that I'll need some help refining the implementation...
Race: Human

Classes:
1 Oracle (1)
2 Sorcerer (1)
3 Oracle (2)
4 Sorcerer (2)
5 Oracle (3)
6 Sorcerer (3)
7 Oracle (4)
8 Sorcerer (4)
9 Mystic Theurge (1), Sorcerer Spellcasting, Oracle Spellcasting
10 Mystic Theurge (2)
11 Mystic Theurge (3)
12 Mystic Theurge (4)
Specials:
1 Revelation 1: Sidestep Secret. Mystery: Lore. Curse: Haunted.
2 Sorcerer Bloodlines: Possessed.
3 Extra Revelation: Lore Keeper.
4
5 Revelation 2: Think On It.
6
7
8
9
10
11 Select Mage's Tattoo School: Enchantment.
12
Feats:
1 Noble Scion of War; Eclectic
2
3 Extra Revelation
4
5 Arcane Armor Training
6
7 Spell Focus: Enchantment
8
9 Greater Spell Focus: Enchantment
10
11 Mage's Tattoo
12


I had assumed that it did follow the CRB pattern seeing the table stating the standard "+1 level of spellcasting class".


Inner Sea World Guide wrote:

Spells

When a harrower gains a level, she gains new spells per day as if she had also gained a level in a spellcasting class she belonged to before she added the prestige class. She does not, however, gain any other benefits a character of that class would have gained. This essentially means that she adds the level of harrower to the level of whatever other spellcasting class she has. If the character had more than one spellcasting class before she became a harrower, she must choose which class she adds each harrower level to for the purposes of determining spells per day.

A harrower adds the harrowing spell to all of her spell lists as a 3rd-level spell if it is not already on a spell list.

Bold mine.

As Stated in the raw it is specific to spells per day. I can only hope that your reference to the FAQ for the core rule book instead of any reference to the ISWG is how it's supposed to be run.


I was leveling up my Cartomancer witch with the Harrower Prestige class to level 7 and noticed that hero labs wasn't letting me add the free spells to my spell deck. thinking that it was a glitch i decided to look at the RAW from the inner sea world guide that my friend lets me use, to make sure I had proof for the bug report. To my surprise I found that the Harrower only gives spells per day, not caster level and definitely not the free spells per day...

I'm Hoping that this is not the right interpretation of this.

*** Venture-Agent, Idaho—Boise aka Dragongold3

Mmm, so a chronicle sheet that would be applied at level 7 means that a character is is dead before it's made? Seems a little odd to me. But I'll tell the GM that he can't take the players word that he would save the 16 prestige points and needs to claim it as dead.

*** Venture-Agent, Idaho—Boise aka Dragongold3

I recently had a player do a Pregen at a 7-11 game, and he wants to play a character that is fated to die... is it legal to still play till that sheet is applied?


As for Deaf playing I haven't run into one, but I'm the only fully hearing male in 3 generations on my father's side of my family so...


You would think that wouldn't you? The dwarfs have there (Morse code) not a sign language though.


The only action that PFS had taken on this was to make some mention on how it would work mechanically and then to leave it at the non-legal drow sign. The only thing that seems to prevent this in the petition was the 7+ seasons that don't have it... At lest that seems to be the only valid one I could see.


Is there a chance that we could have a legal sign language for society play at the start? The PFS messageboards have at quick look at lest 4 threads and one petition asking for this.


Ah, didn't think of that that way. thank you BBT.
But that still leaves the math part of my original post, is the extra -2 apart of oversize penalties or is that separate?

And would the TF "Incredible Heft" apply to it at all? It doesn't specify that the extra -2 is an oversize penalty, just imply that it is.


I did indeed mean Titan Fighter, I was a little tired sorry.

Is it larger? By RAW it seems that a Huge light weapon is "equivalent" to a medium 2-handed weapon, you just take a -4 for it being 2 "sizes" to big...

Core Rulebook wrote:

Inappropriately Sized Weapons: A creature can't make optimum use of a weapon that isn't properly sized for it. A cumulative –2 penalty applies on attack rolls for each size category of difference between the size of its intended wielder and the size of its actual wielder. If the creature isn't proficient with the weapon, a –4 nonproficiency penalty also applies.

The measure of how much effort it takes to use a weapon (whether the weapon is designated as a light, one-handed, or two-handed weapon for a particular wielder) is altered by one step for each size category of difference between the wielder's size and the size of the creature for which the weapon was designed. For example, a Small creature would wield a Medium one-handed weapon as a two-handed weapon. If a weapon's designation would be changed to something other than light, one-handed, or two-handed by this alteration, the creature can't wield the weapon at all.


Ok, so say i make a TF with the Giant-Blooded Trait(1/2 oversize penalties). does the math look like:
BAB+STR+Enchantment(-Oversize-"2-handed")/2
OR
BAB+STR+Enchantment-(Oversize/2)-"2-handed"?

Also could you by RAW use a Huge one-handed weapon as an equivalent to a large two-handed weapon?(Yes I'm looking at you Amiri with that bastard sword...)

*** Venture-Agent, Idaho—Boise aka Dragongold3

Sadly those are "rebuild rules", not "retrain rules" and there are those in my groop that would use that to declair it not a leagle character. And I can't find anything that talks about a free rebuild after first level...

*** Venture-Agent, Idaho—Boise aka Dragongold3

Ok, so lets start at the beginning eh? started a character for the playtest, got the boon to keep playing it between the end of the playtest until the release of the book. Now I'm looking at a level 8 Kineticist with only 17 PP to spend and the additional resource page is saying that to update the character I need to retrain into the class.

Now I may be missing something but is this character now worthless because I don't have the Huge amount of PP to spend? The math that I'm seeing is 8 class levels * 5pp(assuming that the Playtest has synergy with the Book Class if not that would be 7PP)


What about more complex uses, say with a Composite Blast or using the Metakinesis: Empower? There is also an item that increases the dice(Kineticist Diadem), would that work?

I see 3 ways to work the lot of them...
1) That the empower doesn't work, leaving you with dice/3.
2) That empower works after the infusion, leaving you with (dice/3)*1.5. Making empower worthless for this till after you get 6d6 at lvl 11(or 9 with a Lesser Kineticist Diadem), since the default is to round down.
3) That empower works before the Fist conversion, leaving you with (dice*1.5)/3. Making this only useful after you get 4d6 at level 7...

Last to consider is Fire's Fury, which says that it adds to all blasts that use fire. This I think would add to Fist/Blade/Whip since they are the only ones that don't use the elemental overflow that it specifically calls out...


This is the idea, a gnome "Mounted Paladin" of Apsu. This would of course be riding a dragon, but that isn't an option in PFS so I thought use the summoner to "summon" a dragon to ride as part of his faith...

The problem I'm having is with the Mount evolution. As a "paladin" of a LG god (albeit a dragon one), the Daemon, Demon, Devil, or Protean subtypes are just not acceptable. And while I could try to swing a "elemental" as a dragon, the N is about as different an ideal as the others...

Now I had enough to on the character that i didn't need to use the unchained book. But having looked through it I so want to use it in PFS. Is there any way that I could use an Unchained Summoner to do this?