Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Dervish

Dragnmoon's page

Goblin Squad Member. Paizo Charter Superscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Tales Subscriber. FullStarFullStarFullStarFullStarFullStar Venture-Lieutenant, Alaska—Anchorage. 9,630 posts (9,704 including aliases). 1 review. 3 lists. 1 wishlist. 26 Pathfinder Society characters. 7 aliases.


RSS

1 to 50 of 9,630 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | next > last >>
Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Paizo Charter Superscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Tales Subscriber

Wow, Liz you will be missed, though I am sure we will see each other again at some convention or another. Great luck with ever you do next!

Liberty's Edge ***** Venture-Lieutenant, Alaska—Anchorage aka Dragnmoon

Pirate Rob wrote:
I'm not talking about the +4, I'm was saying Storykin Eidolon treats the eidolon as summoned for more purposes, although rereading I take that back.

Yeah if it was allowed to add augment summoning to their eidolon I think the archetype would have not been allowed originally.

Liberty's Edge ***** Venture-Lieutenant, Alaska—Anchorage aka Dragnmoon

Wait what? There is nothing in summoner that allows you to use augment summoning on their eidolon.

Unless you are comparing Storykin Eidolon ability to augment summoning? They are not the same. Augment summoning is a lot more powerful since you get +4 to both strength and Constitution and Storykin Eidolon gives a +4 randomly to one of 6 stats, which will not always go your way.

Also the templates on summoned monsters are random as well which also means it will not always go your way. There are other ways to get templates on summoned monsters that are a lot more useful.

I agree it may be a bit if a bump but I disagree it is a significant power increase.

That said it has not been allowed for Unchained Summoners for those reasons but only because it modifies the eidolon's type or base form, it is still an authorized archetype for the grandfathered summoners.

Edit: My biggest worry is that it changes the alignment of the Eidolon temporarily which may be an argument against allowing it since it changes the alignment of something that has a fixed alignment due to the plane it comes from. I am not sure if there are other Archetypes that are allowed for Unchained Summoner that do that. Are there?

Liberty's Edge ***** Venture-Lieutenant, Alaska—Anchorage aka Dragnmoon

I would love some eyes on this, plus some comments from the peanut gallery ;).

Just because I have an argument above why it think the Archetype should be allowed does not mean I am correct, would love to hear some reasonable arguments against or for.

Liberty's Edge ***** Venture-Lieutenant, Alaska—Anchorage aka Dragnmoon

Can you add a link to the The Expanded Narrative Boon to the Roleplaying Guild Resources page with the other GM boon?

Liberty's Edge

Paizo Charter Superscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Tales Subscriber

Though I will miss the RPGs, I am more upset about them losing Talisman Boardgame.

Liberty's Edge ***** Venture-Lieutenant, Alaska—Anchorage aka Dragnmoon

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

First off I am going to start of admitting that my request for allowing the Story Summoner Archetype (The Harrow Handbook pg 25) for Unchained Summoner is based on selfish reasons. It is an Archetype I have always been interested in and once the Harrow Deck was allowed it was the only Archetype that actually made the Summoner interesting to me. In my opinion it is one of the more story rich archetypes around the harrow deck and has links to my favorite module The Harrowing. Just as I was about to start playing the PC I made (Started off with GM credit) PFS changed to Unchained Summoner.

That said here is why it is not legal for Unchained Summoner. According to the Blog "Society Unchained" the unchained summoner qualifies for all existing summoner archetypes, save those that modify the eidolon's type or base form. Which the Story Summoner does with the following:

Evolve Base Form (Su): Starting at 8th level, whenever he gains a level, the story summoner can change his eidolon’s base form to a new base form. Once chosen, this base form is set until the story summoner gains another summoner level. This ability replaces transposition.

Now this particular class ability still works with unchained summoner but you would be limited to what base form you can change to by your subtypes available forms which for some would mean you can't change at all. So in itself it works fine with unchained summoner and does not break the unchained summoner class.

So in itself it is not an archetype that does not work with Unchained Summoner. But there is another reason why I am making this request. There is another Archetype that is legal for unchained summoner that does the same thing but allowed you to do so more often and starting at level 1, the Morphic Savant from Monster Summoner's Handbook pg 16. Here is the ability in question:

Eidolon of Chaos: A morphic savant’s eidolon must be of a chaotic alignment (if using the summoner from Pathfinder Unchained, the eidolon must have the azata, demon, or protean subtype). The morphic savant’s eidolon has three base forms: biped, quadruped, and serpentine. Each form has the same feats and skills, but has its own set of evolutions. When the summoner meditates and regains his spell slots for the day, he can select any of the three base forms of his eidolon. The eidolon has 1 fewer evolution point than normal for an eidolon of the morphic savant’s summoner level, and has 1 fewer skill point per Hit Die. This ability alters eidolon.

Yes it is a different ability but it also allows you to change your base form of any of 3 forms at the beginning of the day starting at first level. It is also not limited to the Subtypes base forms as the archetype gives you the base forms not the subtype, so in the case of the Azata and Protean you actually get more base forms.

I would love it if you would reconsider allowing story summoners for unchained summoner based on above and would love to hear input from others against or for.

Liberty's Edge ***** Venture-Lieutenant, Alaska—Anchorage aka Dragnmoon

Don't worry Todd can handle it. Make sure you send him lots of pictures of your pets, he loves those!

Liberty's Edge ***** Venture-Lieutenant, Alaska—Anchorage aka Dragnmoon

I said Like Indiana Jones I did not say I would be Indiana Jones.

The similarity would be he would have a Scholar side and an Adventure side, and few would known they were the same person.

Liberty's Edge ***** Venture-Lieutenant, Alaska—Anchorage aka Dragnmoon

Steven Schopmeyer wrote:
Drahliana Moonrunner wrote:
Indiana Jones does not work because his identity is fully known by both his peers and his foes.
Sure it does. He just doesn't get his bonuses against those in the know.

This right her which will be my fellow pathfinders and the leadership of the Pathfinder Society.

Liberty's Edge ***** Venture-Lieutenant, Alaska—Anchorage aka Dragnmoon

What I am doing with mine is something like Indiana Jones.

His social identity is a famous scholar not associated with the Pathfinder Society and his Vigilante is a Pathfinder who has gotten in trouble before for "liberating" artifacts.

Liberty's Edge

Paizo Charter Superscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Tales Subscriber

About 6000 factory workers in an Irish town from what I read in an article.

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Paizo Charter Superscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Tales Subscriber
Gorbacz wrote:
Finally! :))))

I with Gorbacz here, I have been wanting this to happen for a long time. There is a place for the Short Stories but it was never the APs.

Liberty's Edge ***** Venture-Lieutenant, Alaska—Anchorage aka Dragnmoon

I can't seem to find a Join Pathfinder Society link on the new web page. Is this an oversight? Or am I just missing it?

Liberty's Edge ***** Venture-Lieutenant, Alaska—Anchorage aka Dragnmoon

Todd Morgan wrote:
Please utilize the online reporting tool for incorrect sessions as I do not regularly check my PMs.

Does the reporting tool actually do anything? Nothing of mine has ever gotten fixed using it.

Liberty's Edge

Paizo Charter Superscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Tales Subscriber

You are missing two of the Add-ons in the Backerkit from the Stretch Goals reached during the kickstarter.

You are missing the following:

Bonus B&W Modules #1
Tales Pack #1

Liberty's Edge ***** Venture-Lieutenant, Alaska—Anchorage aka Dragnmoon

I missed that distinction myself in her post.

Liberty's Edge

Paizo Charter Superscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Tales Subscriber

Prestige class for spellcasters. I can't link to it at work, but if you own the book check it out.

Because if their extreme bulk I believe that they get reduced to 5' movement only and later move around by floating slightly off the ground every where.

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Paizo Charter Superscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Tales Subscriber

Bloatmage from city of strangers?

Liberty's Edge

Paizo Charter Superscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Tales Subscriber

You can still change your address on the The Blight Backerkit page.

Liberty's Edge ***** Venture-Lieutenant, Alaska—Anchorage aka Dragnmoon

4 people marked this as a favorite.

In my experience the majority of pregen deaths I have seen are when the GM is playing the pregen in a 3 player table. We had an ongoing joke at my last location about Kyra Clone #x every time we had to use her.

I have never seen anyone "Abuse" the system by playing a pregen.

Liberty's Edge ***** Venture-Lieutenant, Alaska—Anchorage aka Dragnmoon

4 people marked this as a favorite.
Jeffrey Fox wrote:
Steven Lau wrote:
This has not been confirmed yet since this was a FAQ not something in the Guide and the FAQ still states you can.

The question has come up at Gen con and the answer from Tonya was that the change is intentional,

I'm sure after Gen Con the conflicting FAQ will be removed.

If this is the case I am not a fan of this change. My personal experience with who actually uses PreGens most of the time, this only hurts new players and keeping them.

Liberty's Edge ***** Venture-Lieutenant, Alaska—Anchorage aka Dragnmoon

Just so you are all aware, the clarification that You can apply to a different PC after Pregen Death was a FAQ thing and was not in the PFS Guide at all. So though that might change with the new guide, it is not a given that it will.

We will have to wait on a clarification. There is nothing in the guide that contradicts the FAQ, just puts it in possible question.

Liberty's Edge ***** Venture-Lieutenant, Alaska—Anchorage aka Dragnmoon

This has not been confirmed yet since this was a FAQ not something in the Guide and the FAQ still states you can.

Liberty's Edge

Paizo Charter Superscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Tales Subscriber
Chris Lambertz wrote:
Dragnmoon wrote:
Thank you for getting this out much quicker this year!
I consider it a personal victory that this is out the door *on time* :)

And you won't have me posting every few months asking "Is it ready yet?" ;).

Liberty's Edge

Paizo Charter Superscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Tales Subscriber

Thanks for the info Chris.

Liberty's Edge

Paizo Charter Superscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Tales Subscriber

Thank you for getting this out much quicker this year!

Liberty's Edge

Paizo Charter Superscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Tales Subscriber

Good point... Have any of the older Pregens been changed? Or have only the new pregens been added?

Liberty's Edge

Paizo Charter Superscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Tales Subscriber

Wow, I really thought this would never happen.

Liberty's Edge

Paizo Charter Superscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Tales Subscriber

Is an email going to be sent out saying this has been updated?

Liberty's Edge ***** Venture-Lieutenant, Alaska—Anchorage aka Dragnmoon

Thanks Chris! You are the awesomeness!

Liberty's Edge ***** Venture-Lieutenant, Alaska—Anchorage aka Dragnmoon

I don't see a distinction on what Modules can and can not be play in Campaign Mode. Can all modules now be played in Campaign Mode?

And I am glad to see they finally officially are using the terms Campaign/Module mode since I coined the terms ;).

Liberty's Edge ***** Venture-Lieutenant, Alaska—Anchorage aka Dragnmoon

Jeffrey Reed wrote:
Horror adventures will be legal for PFS, at least portions of it. I expect that it will be a little bit before it hits additional resources, however.

And.... It was added

Additional Resources

Liberty's Edge ***** Venture-Lieutenant, Alaska—Anchorage aka Dragnmoon

No

Emerald Spire can only be run with PFS legal characters as if it was a PFS game using all the rules per a PFS game.

The rules for Emerald Spire can be found in the Chronicle Sheets for the module which can be found on the product page for the module.

Liberty's Edge

Paizo Charter Superscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Tales Subscriber

Ahhh Found it.

Liberty's Edge

Paizo Charter Superscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Tales Subscriber

Have we seen the Backerkits for this and the blight yet?

Liberty's Edge

Paizo Charter Superscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Tales Subscriber

Just ran into one of your old editors here in Anchorage, Dawn. Reminded me how much I love this company! I am sooo looking forward to this and the Blight! Hopefully soon I will be able to move into my house and get all my books out of storage so I can start running some Frog God Games! Also looking forward into joining Dawn's S&W game!

Liberty's Edge ***** Venture-Lieutenant, Alaska—Anchorage aka Dragnmoon

Legacy of Fire is not one of the APs that has been authorized for PFS play. That came out before the Pathfinder RPG and was written using 3.5.

You can check Additional resources for what APs have chronicle sheets, and The PFS Guide has the rules on how to run them for credit.

Liberty's Edge ***** Venture-Lieutenant, Alaska—Anchorage aka Dragnmoon

Sin to give you some context, last year the guide came out the Monday before GenCon, so if we follow that it will not be out until next Monday.

Liberty's Edge ***** Venture-Lieutenant, Alaska—Anchorage aka Dragnmoon

Yay and removing the requirement of Pregens in the older Quests!

Liberty's Edge ***** Venture-Lieutenant, Alaska—Anchorage aka Dragnmoon

Take a look at this FAQ.

Liberty's Edge ***** Venture-Lieutenant, Alaska—Anchorage aka Dragnmoon

Steven Schopmeyer wrote:
I was far more visible as VC than as TOZ.

Who are you?

Liberty's Edge ***** Venture-Lieutenant, Alaska—Anchorage aka Dragnmoon

Steven Schopmeyer wrote:
I think being able to play an aasimar paladin was a big draw for me back in season 3/4.

My aasimar Paladin is my favorite character to play.

2 of my favorite games I have ever played where with my Paladin.

One where I wrenched control from a bitter Crusader the leadership of an expedition and The Quest for Perfection—Part I where there were 4 of us, 2 Humans, 1 Tiefling and myself all Silver Crusade, all Paladins of Iomedae. That last one was a lot tougher then I thought it would be, a lot of heroics.

Liberty's Edge

Paizo Charter Superscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Tales Subscriber

The Display states "This product is out of print" but I am able to add it to my cart. Do you have any in stock?

Liberty's Edge ***** Venture-Lieutenant, Alaska—Anchorage aka Dragnmoon

3 people marked this as a favorite.

I updated the Document with the list deities that are PFS legal choices for PCs.

The new Source Added with the Additional Resources update on 10 June 2016 is:

Pathfinder Campaign Setting: Heaven Unleashed: Deity: The empyreal lord Andoletta is a legal divine patron.

Liberty's Edge

Paizo Charter Superscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Tales Subscriber

I will you handle reprints of the Hardcover with the pocket edition?

I know normally you don't get the next printing until you are close to the end of your stock of the current, I doubt the stocks to the Pocket Edition and Normal Hardcover will match. So will the pocket edition be behind on the current printing if and when you go to the 7th printing of the Core?

Liberty's Edge ***** Venture-Lieutenant, Alaska—Anchorage aka Dragnmoon

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Drogon wrote:
Like I said, just a little bump. I'm not hyperventilating, yet. (-:

Hands Drogon a brown paper bag just in case

Liberty's Edge

Paizo Charter Superscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Tales Subscriber

I never got into the double-barreled firearms, I knew sooner or later they would change they way they worked. It took a long time but they finally did in the last Ultimate Equipment Errata, you can no longer take a full attack firing both barrels at once, it is now a attack action.

Liberty's Edge

Paizo Charter Superscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Tales Subscriber

Yes...

From Early Firearms

UC wrote:
When firing an early firearm, the attack resolves against the target's touch AC when the target is within the first range increment of the weapon, but this type of attack is not considered a touch attack for the purposes of feats and abilities such as Deadly Aim..

Distance doubles that range increment to include the first.

Try that on a Musket 80'!

Liberty's Edge ***** Venture-Lieutenant, Alaska—Anchorage aka Dragnmoon

I will take a look at it this weekend and get back to you. Sadly I don't have any games going on currently other the Pathfinder Society so I will not be able to give an in use feedback until my house is done and I have a place to run a Home game in a few months.

1 to 50 of 9,630 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | next > last >>

©2002–2016 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.