Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Dwarf

Diego Rossi's page

Goblin Squad Member. Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Modules, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber. Pathfinder Society Member. 7,439 posts. 1 review. 1 list. No wishlists.



1 to 50 of 88 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Andoran

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Modules, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

When a summoned creature dies or the spell end ll of its possessions disappear.

What happen if the summoned creature has poisoned someone and the poison is still affecting the target?

The damage clearly stay, but, AFAIK, the poison itself part of the creature, so it should disappear, stopping immediately its effect.

Andoran

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Modules, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

The description is taken from Hero Lab (I don't want to check the Reign of Winter AP PDF as I am a player):,

Hero Lab wrote:


Cauldron of overwhelming allies (1/day) Wondrous Item

The artistic scrawls on the dark surface of this small bronze
cauldron depict an array of exotic animals, legendary beasts, leering
fiends, and hosts of elementals. Once per day, if used as the focus
or divine focus for a summon monster or summon nature’s ally
spell, the cauldron automatically conjures 1d3 additional creatures of
the same kind from the next lower level list. For example, if a user
casts summon monster III to summon 1d3 wolves, he could also
summon 1d3 additional wolves (or other creatures from the 2nd level
list).
Construction
Requirements: Craft Wondrous Item, Spell Focus (conjuration),
summon monster IV or summon nature’s ally IV ; Cost 2,250 gp
Appears In : Reign of Winter

My problem is that: "conjures 1d3 additional creatures of

the same kind from the next lower level list".
Using the cauldron require you to choose exactly the same kind of creatures twice (so 1d3 wolves+1d3 wolves if you are casting summon monster III) or kind is a bit more loose and if you are casting summon monster V and call a large earth elemental you can call 1d3 medium fire elemental (same kind but not the same monster) from the next ower level list?

That part "(or other creatures from the 2nd level list)" make it even more confusing.

We should read kind as type, as per the bestiary? I.e if you call an animal you should call animals?

Andoran

4 people marked this as FAQ candidate.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Modules, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

The question:

What is your casting class when you use Preferred spell if you are a multiclassed spellcaster?

- * -

I have found very little discussion on preferred spell, and almost nothing about the caster level if you are a multiclassed spellcaster.

PRD wrote:

Preferred Spell

You find it very easy to cast one particular spell.

Prerequisites: Spellcraft 5 ranks, Heighten Spell.

Benefit: Choose one spell which you have the ability to cast. You can cast that spell spontaneously by sacrificing a prepared spell or spell slot of equal or higher level. You can apply any metamagic feats you possess to this spell when you cast it. This increases the minimum level of the prepared spell or spell slot you must sacrifice in order to cast it but does not affect the casting time.

Special: You can gain this feat multiple times. Its effects do not stack. Each time you take the feat, it applies to a different spell.

Let's start with a 1th level cleric, 6th level wizard that has taken Preferred spell cure light wounds (don't ask why, it is an example).

He burn a 1st level wizard spell to fuel Preferred spell and cast CLW.

By the text of the feat it is possible and allowed.
I would say that he would cast the spell as a Cleric, CL 1, as that is the class that can cast CLW.
But there is the basis to argue that he will cast it as a wizard at CL 6.

Now let's consider a 9th level magus/1st level wizard (he want a broader base for his 1st level spells and want to use all wizard scroll without using UMD).
He has taken Preferred spell shocking grasp.
He can burn a 1st level wizard spell to cast shocking grasp? Yes.
What is his caster level, and what spell list he is using? .....

As he want to use his caster level as a magus, he has never transcribed shocking grasp in his wizard spellbook, so he can't cast it as a wizard.
That change the answer to the previous question?

Someone has a clear answer?
The feat don't give any information about what casting class you should use with your preferred spell, so AFAIK, there is no limitation about using spells of one class to fuel spells of another class.

Andoran

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Modules, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
PRD wrote:

Creating Staves

To create a magic staff, a character needs a supply of materials, the most obvious being a staff or the pieces of the staff to be assembled.

The materials cost is subsumed in the cost of creation: 400 gp × the level of the highest-level spell × the level of the caster, plus 75% of the value of the next most costly ability (300 gp × the level of the spell × the level of the caster), plus 1/2 the value of any other abilities (200 gp × the level of the spell × the level of the caster). Staves are always fully charged (10 charges) when created.

If desired, a spell can be placed into the staff at less than the normal cost, but then activating that particular spell drains additional charges from the staff. Divide the cost of the spell by the number of charges it consumes to determine its final price. Note that this does not change the order in which the spells are priced (the highest level spell is still priced first, even if it requires more than one charge to activate). The caster level of all spells in a staff must be the same, and no staff can have a caster level of less than 8th, even if all the spells in the staff are low-level spells.

The creator must have prepared the spells to be stored (or must know the spells, in the case of a sorcerer or bard) and must provide any focus the spells require as well as material component costs sufficient to activate the spell 50 times (divide this amount by the number of charges one use of the spell expends). Material components are consumed when he begins working, but focuses are not. (A focus used in creating a staff can be reused.) The act of working on the staff triggers the prepared spells, making them unavailable for casting during each day of the staff 's creation. (That is, those spell slots are expended from the caster's currently prepared spells, just as if they had been cast.)

Creating a few staves may entail other prerequisites beyond spellcasting. See the individual descriptions for details.

Crafting a staff requires 1 day for each 1,000 gp of the base price.

When creating a stave, the cost for the material components is calculated before of after "the number of charge used" part?

Let's say I am making a staff that cast stoneskin as its first spell, with a material component of "(granite and diamond dust worth 250 gp)".

If the stoneskin spell drain 1 charge the price is:
SL 4, CL 7 4*7*400= 11.200
250*50= 12.500
Total 23.700

If the stonesking spell drain 2 charges for each use, the staff would cost (4*7*400+250*50)/2= 11.850

or

(4*7*300)/2+(250*50)=18.100

Following the pricing guidelines above I think that the second procedure is the right one, but reverse engineering a staff of life show that it has been priced using the first procedure.
(The explanation on how to price the material cost part is after the "charge used" reduction)

Reverse engineering a staff of life

Heal
SL 6 SL 11 = 6*11*400= 26.400

Raise dead
SL 5 CL 11 = 5*11*300= 16.500
Material component 50*5.000 = 250.000
266.500/5 = 53.300

Total creation cost 79.700 Market price 109.400

Andoran

25 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Modules, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Until today I hadn't even dreamed it was possible, but in another thread it was propose and the text of the ability seem to allow it.

PRD wrote:
Smite Evil (Su): Once per day, a paladin can call out to the powers of good to aid her in her struggle against evil. As a swift action, the paladin chooses one target within sight to smite. If this target is evil, the paladin adds her Charisma bonus (if any) to her attack rolls and adds her paladin level to all damage rolls made against the target of her smite. If the target of smite evil is an outsider with the evil subtype, an evil-aligned dragon, or an undead creature, the bonus to damage on the first successful attack increases to 2 points of damage per level the paladin possesses. Regardless of the target, smite evil attacks automatically bypass any DR the creature might possess.

Reading the ability text, if you roll damage you get to add your smite evil damage to it.

Corollary questions:

- if applied to a magic missile damage it is applied once or once for each missile hitting the target of smite evil?

- what happen when it is applied to a spell/power that don't do hit point of damage but deal other forms of damage?

Andoran

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Modules, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I am interested to hear how people rule the use of extradimensional containers and spell components pouches during a underwater adventure.

To explain the problems I see:

Extradimensional containers: you open a bag of holding/handy haversack underwater to draw something. The container fill with water and burst as it has been overloaded? (the maximum volume of water that he can contain is way more than the maximum weight allowance for the item.)
Nothing in the rules I see say that if the container is open only what you want will enter it. Au contraire, if you open it the air within change, allowing a creature to survive for 10 minutes after the bag is closed again.

Even if the bag isn't destroyed by being overloaded (we don't include the air in it in the weight carried, so we can say that the water don't count, too. A bit of a stretch, but maybe acceptable if the bag is immersed in water) it will fill with water and that will damage/destroy a lot of the stuff in the bag.
Waterlogged arrows don't work very well.

Spell component pouch: even if you get a waterproof pouch, you need to open it to manipulate the material components in it to cast your spells. That mean that it will fill with water and your components will become waterlogged and probably useless. Unless each set of components for each spell is conserved in a separate, waterproof container, I don't see a way to do that.
But lugging around teens of waterproofed small container will make our component pouches unmanageable.

For the record, I assume that our character will store the spell components for each spell is separate packets for ease of use, but that those packets are made with parchment or oiled paper. I.e. the ball shaped red packs are those used for the fireball components, the yellow square packet contain the gold dust for several spells, and so on.
[Maybe I should take a skill in Craft (origami). So I can make horse shaped container for the components for the Phantom steed spell and a dove shaped container for the Fly spell :-P]

Andoran

2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Modules, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

In another thread we had a side discussion about what happen when you combine abilities and magical bonus so that you would exceed the +10 limit for enhancement and special abilities for weapons.

Let's start with a example where we only have magical bonuses from enchanted items:

A guy with a +1, axiomatic, holy, flaming burst bow (equivalent to +7 total bonus) fire a +5, ghost touch, arrow (equivalent to +6 total bonus)
The +1 and +5 enhancements overlap but the other abilities stack, so the arrow work as a +5, axiomatic, holy, ghost touch, flaming burst arrow, equivalent to +12 total bonus.
The enhancement limit for a weapon is +10.

So, what happen?

1) the character firing the arrow decide what abilities should be suppressed so that the +10 limit is respected?

2) the character can't notch the arrow to the bow as the excessive magical forces repel each other?

3) "It is an arrow, the only rule is: Ranged Weapons and Ammunition: The enhancement bonus from a ranged weapon does not stack with the enhancement bonus from ammunition. Only the higher of the two enhancement bonuses applies., all the other effects aren't transferred to the ammunition, you only benefit from them, so there is no actual overlapping. You fire a +5 ken arrow that that benefit from axiomatic, holy, flaming burst."
(No one has tried that argument, but it is a possible reading of the rules)

- * -

Now let's have some temporary effect.
Same scenario as above, but the arrow is +5 keen because someone has cast greater magic weapon at caster level 20 and keen weapon on it.

That give us option 4:

4) Temporary effects are suppressed till the item is compliant with the rules.

- * -

Now we get our +1, axiomatic, holy, flaming burst bow (equivalent to +7 total bonus) and want to cast greater magic weapon at caster level 20 on it.
That would give us a total bonus of +11 (the straight +x enhancements overlap).

What we should do? We can temporarily suppress some of the bow bonuses or we should have to cast greater magic weapon at a lower caster level so that it only give a +4 bonus?

- * -

Now let's move to melee weapon. We have a magus (or one of the other classes that can give extra bonuses to a weapon) with a +1, keen, holy, spell storing, ghost touch, wounding scimitar (equivalent to +8 total bonus) He is 17th level and he want to use his arcane pool to add to his weapon powers. He don't have any of the extra arcana giving other options for the weapon so he can't add abilities that overlap with those currently working on the weapon beside the +1.
Adding the +5 from Arcane bond would give the weapon a +13 bonus, +12 if he chose to overlap the existing +1 enhancement with another +1.
So what happen?

1) The magus can't use the arcane bond ability and substantially lose a major class feature?

2) he will have to use his ability arcane bond as a lower character level (and someone is arguing that it is not possible to do that)?

3) he get to choose what abilities are suppressed and what work?

Comments?

Edited to change keen to ghost touch in the first example.

Andoran

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Modules, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

The glossary give us a definition of the unconscious condition

PRD wrote:
Unconscious: Unconscious creatures are knocked out and helpless. Unconsciousness can result from having negative hit points (but not more than the creature's Constitution score), or from nonlethal damage in excess of current hit points.

So far so good, but, then we have at least 1 ability, the Ice Tom hex, that impose this condition on a failed saving throw.

Ice Tomb wrote:
If the target fails its save, it is paralyzed and unconscious ...

The hex applies 2 separate conditions:

- paralyzed and several creatures are immune to it;
- unconscious and, AFAIK, no creature is immune to that condition, even those that die at 0 hp and/or are immune to nonlethal damage.

Let's look other effects that impose that condition.

I have found:

Color spray and Scintillating Pattern are spells that apply the unconscious condition.
Suffocation too, but that is because it bring you to 0 hp.
Knock-Out Blow will make the target unconscious.

So we have at least 2 mind affecting spells that make creatures unconscious, one that is based on reducing your hp and an ability that is based on sneak attack beside the ice tomb hex.

The mind affecting spell aren't a big problem. The creatures immune to them are clearly stated and I don't see a problem with color spray making a elemental unconscious.

Suffocation similarly isn't a big problem. It bring the target at 0 hp if he fail his ST, the unconsciousness part is a effect of that.

Knock-Out Blow start to be a problem. It is saved by requiring a fortitude save and targeting a creature, not an object (so Undead and Constructs are immune to it) and being based on sneak attack (so Elementals and Oozes are immune to it).

The Ice tomb hex instead apply the condition to anything that it can target. Today FAQ has cleared the targeting part as it "targeting a creature", not an object:

PDT wrote:
In the second printing of Ultimate Magic, the text says, "A storm of ice and freezing wind envelops the creature...," so it only affects creatures, not objects.

so Undead and Constructs should be immune to the unconscious part.

We are still left with a plethora of creatures that are immune to paralyzation and sleep that will be subject to this hex.
To me it seem that creatures that have both immunity to sleep and to paralyzation should be immune to the unconscious condition from things that don't deal hp of damage. Or better (as the color spray spell has a reasonable basis to be able to affect elementals) that the unconscious part should be removed from the Ice tomb hex and used with extreme caution in other abilities.

Andoran

6 people marked this as FAQ candidate.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Modules, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

In the rules about the Impact ability for magical weapons there is a difference between the table and the ability text:

The ability say:

PRD wrote:

Impact

Price +2 bonus; Aura moderate transmutation; CL 9th; Weight —
This special ability can only be placed on melee weapons that are not light weapons. An impact weapon delivers a potent kinetic jolt when it strikes, dealing damage as if the weapon were one size category larger. In addition, any bull rush combat maneuver the wielder attempts while wielding the weapon gains a bonus equal to the weapon's enhancement bonus; this includes all bull rush attempts, not only those in which a weapon is used, such as Bull Rush Strike, Shield Slam, or Unseat.
Construction Requirements
Cost +2 bonus
Craft Magic Arms and Armor, bull's strength, lead blades (Advanced Player's Guide), righteous might or giant form I

The table has the notation "Impact3" and 3 is "3 Piercing or slashing weapons only (slashing only for vorpal)."

I think that there is a typo and the notation should be 4 "4 This special ability cannot be applied to light melee weapons.", especially as that table has that notation at the bottom and no weapon ability to which it apply.

A valid question for a FAQ (actually an errata, but it for now a FAQ should be sufficient).

Edit:
Link to the impact ability, you can find the table scrolling up.

Andoran

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Modules, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Animal companion

PRD wrote:
Share Spells (Ex): The druid may cast a spell with a target of “You” on her animal companion (as a spell with a range of touch) instead of on herself. A druid may cast spells on her animal companion even if the spells normally do not affect creatures of the companion's type (animal). Spells cast in this way must come from a class that grants an animal companion. This ability does not allow the animal to share abilities that are not spells, even if they function like spells.

Eidolon

PRD wrote:

Share Spells (Ex): The summoner may cast a spell with a target of “you” on his eidolon (as a spell with a range of touch) instead of on himself. A summoner may cast spells on his eidolon even if the spells normally do not affect creatures of the eidolon's type (outsider). Spells cast in this way must come from the summoner spell list. This ability does not allow the eidolon to share abilities that are not spells, even if they function like spells.

Familiar

PRD wrote:


Share Spells: The wizard may cast a spell with a target of “You” on his familiar (as a touch spell) instead of on himself. A wizard may cast spells on his familiar even if the spells do not normally affect creatures of the familiar's type (magical beast).

So:

- to use the spells on a Animal Companion the spells should came from a class that get a Animal Companion (even if they get the AC with a feat? or it may come only from a class ability, so at most it should be granted by an archetype?)
As I read it that mean that the spells should come from your spell slots.

- to use the spells on a Eidolon they should come from a summoner spell list.
This FAQ seem to imply that "spell list" mean your spell slots, but the two terms aren't interchangeable

FAQ wrote:

Magus, Spell Combat: What spells can I cast when using spell combat?

The relevant text of the ability is:

"As a full-round action, he can make all of his attacks with his melee weapon at a –2 penalty and can also cast any spell from the magus spell list with a casting time of 1 standard action (any attack roll made as part of this spell also takes this penalty)."

The spell you cast when using spell combat has to be a magus spell you know, and it must be a magus spell prepared with one of your magus spell slots.

(Other magus abilities may modify what spells can be used with spell combat. For example, the broad study magus arcana explicitly states the magus can use spell combat to cast spells from the selected non-magus spellcasting class.)

—Pathfinder Design Team, 11/14/13:

So it is unclear if you can use items that cast Summoner spells on a Eidolon (example, a wand of enlarge person).

- You can use any spell on your familiar, regardless of the source.
For sure there is no limit on the spell list from which the spells come.

- * -

In another thread Chapy said that this FAQ bar you from using items with the Sahre spell ability:

FAQ wrote:


Items as Spells: Does using a potion, scroll, staff, or wand count as "casting a spell" for purposes of feats and special abilities like Augment Summoning, Spell Focus, an evoker's ability to do extra damage with evocation spells, bloodline abilities, and so on?

No. Unless they specifically state otherwise, feats and abilities that modify spells you cast only affect actual spellcasting, not using magic items that emulate spellcasting or work like spellcasting.

—Sean K Reynolds, 09/01/10

But it say "feats and abilities that modify spells you cast" and that seem to limit the FAQ meaning to increasing DC, damage, range, etc. Share spell change your target nature. am am not totally convinced of Cheapy interpretation.

- * -

Maybe we need a new glossary entry that specify what we man with "spell list" so that the different authors will use the term in a consistent way.

Andoran

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Modules, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
çPRD wrote:

Locate Weakness

School divination; Level inquisitor 3, magus 3, ranger 2, sorcerer/wizard 3, witch 3

Casting time 1 standard action

Components V, S, M/DF (a pickled predator's eye)

Range personal

Target you

Duration 1 minute/level

You can sense your foes' weak points, granting you greater damage with critical hits. Whenever you score a critical hit, roll the attack's damage dice (but not extra or precision damage dice) twice and take the highest result.

I am trying to gauge how powerful is this spell, and I am uncertain on how it work:

- you reroll all your damage dice at the same time and take the highest result as the damage you do?
(i.e. a typical magus roll 2d6 from his scimitar critical, get a 6 and a 8 and take the 8)
or
- your reroll every dice separately and keep the highest dice of each pair?
(i.e. a typical magus roll the first d6 from his scimitar critical, get a 2 and a 5 and take the 5, then he roll the second d6, get a 4 and a 3 and keel the 4, for a total damage of 9)

The first interpretation seem fairly weak as, as the number of dice increase, you tend to get a number near the average result. The math is fairly complicated but I doubt it will add more than a couple of hit point of damage to your critics.

The second seem acceptable for your weapon damage but it become too good when you land a shocking grasp critical.

Any idea of what it the intended mechanic?

Andoran

12 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Modules, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

There are 2 different text for the casting time of SLA:

CRB magic chapter:

Quote:
A spell-like ability has a casting time of 1 standard action unless noted otherwise in the ability or spell description. In all other ways, a spell-like ability functions just like a spell.

Bestiary - Universal monster rules:

Quote:
Reactivating a constant spell-like ability is a swift action. Using all other spell-like abilities is a standard action unless noted otherwise, and doing so provokes attacks of opportunity.

I (probably influence by how they worked in the 1st and 2nd edition) have always used the Bestiary rule, having them require a standard action unless the monster ability explicitly said the SLA had a different casting time.

I had missed the first version until reading about it in another thread today.

Several GM that I know do the same.

So, what version of the text is correct? CRB or Bestiary?

And it is possible for Paizo to make an errata so that both text say the same thing?

Andoran

3 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Modules, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
PRD wrote:


Incorporeal (Ex) An incorporeal creature has no physical body. It can be harmed only by other incorporeal creatures, magic weapons or creatures that strike as magic weapons, and spells, spell-like abilities, or supernatural abilities. It is immune to all nonmagical attack forms. Even when hit by spells or magic weapons, it takes only half damage from a corporeal source (except for channel energy). Although it is not a magical attack, holy water can affect incorporeal undead. Corporeal spells and effects that do not cause damage only have a 50% chance of affecting an incorporeal creature. Force spells and effects, such as from a magic missile, affect an incorporeal creature normally.

So, what is a corporeal spell or effect?

1) one that has some physical constituent, like glitterdust, ice tomb or stone call?

2) one cast by a corporeal creature?

3) some other thing?

Spells like Searing light are corporeal?

Starting points:
- Force spell and effects effects always work;
- Spells and effects with a physical constituent always suffer from the 50% damage reduction or 50% chance of failure. That surely include some energy effect, like fire and acid.

Andoran

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Modules, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I have just received the mail announcing my shipment, so someone at Paizo is working the 26th of December.
Many thanks guys, but take your holidays, you merit them.

Have some nice holiday and a good New Year.

Diego

Andoran

2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Modules, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Scenario: an hangman tree has a single target in reach.

It has 3 wines that do 1d6+7 of damage plus Grab and Pull, then it has the constrict special ability.

PRD wrote:


Constrict (Ex) A creature with this special attack can crush an opponent, dealing bludgeoning damage, when it makes a successful grapple check (in addition to any other effects caused by a successful check, including additional damage). The amount of damage is given in the creature's entry and is typically equal to the amount of damage caused by the creature's melee attack.

If there is only 1 target in reach, it can make a full attack, grab the target with the first attack and deal constriction damage and then, without releasing the grapple, attack with the other vines and deal constriction damage again with each successful attack? i. e. if a creature with the constriction SA grab you multiple times in a round without releasing you, it can apply the constriction damage multiple times?

RAW it seem to be the case, but the effect seem a bit excessive.

Note: I am fully aware that the tree can grab and constrict a creature, then release it with a free action then resolve the next attack that can be again a grab+constrict, but in that situation the tree is dealing with a creature with full CMD, not one with a reduced CMD for being grabbed.

Andoran

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Modules, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
PRD wrote:

Creating Magic Armor

If spells are involved in the prerequisites for making the armor, the creator must have prepared the spells to be cast (or must know the spells, in the case of a sorcerer or bard) and must provide any material components or focuses the spells require.

Same for Potions, Staffs, Wands.

But not Weapons, Wondrous items, Rods:

PRD wrote:


Creating Magic Weapons
If spells are involved in the prerequisites for making the weapon, the creator must have prepared the spells to be cast (or must know the spells, in the case of a sorcerer or bard) but need not provide any material components or focuses the spells require.

Rings have a different text again:

PRD wrote:


Creating Rings
Rings that duplicate spells with costly material components add in the value of 50 × the spell's component cost. Having a spell with a costly component as a prerequisite does not automatically incur this cost.

So, apparently, if I want to make a scroll, armor or staff capable to cast a wish I need to find 1 or more 25K gp diamonds.

If I want to make a luckblade or a ring of three wishes I need undetermined materials to enchant the item worth 25.000 gp for each wish, but I don't need to find a 25K diamond for each wish that the item will be capable to cast.

It can make a serious difference in some campaign,

- * -

You can change the 25.000 gp diamond to a 5.000 gp one used for a staff of life if the idea of a staff casting wish is troublesome, the problem stay the same, why some item require you to procure the exact spell components and some other didn't?

- * -

Just to avoid confusion, the rules don't say that you don't have to spend the money to pay for the components, only that you don't need to procure the exact component required.
apparently when enchanting weapons or rings you can use substitute items with the same final value as the diamonds required by the spell.

Andoran

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Modules, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I have posted this thread 3 and a half hours ago:
http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2qery?Catching-fire-Acid-pit-and-damaging-objec ts#1
link
in the Rule sections section of the forum. Now I have come and checked it to see if there were replies, but looking the Rule questions section of the forum I can't find it anywhere. I was capable to find it only because I am the thread creator and it is visible in the list of my posts.

To be on the safe side I have hit the show command to make visible all the hidden thread, even if was sure not to have hidden it. it is still invisible to me.

So:
1) other people can see it in the Rule questions forum?
2)Anyone has an idea about what happened?

Something similar happened November 3, when the posts made in the morning in Europe were invisible until late evening. That was possibly caused by the change in the daylight saving time in the US, a change that happened earlier in Italy, but this time it is different, as my posts in other threads are visible.

Andoran

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Modules, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I have a question about the damage to objects when you suffer some kind of attack that deliver continuous damage to your body, like catching fire or being immersed in a pool of acid.

First, some rule citation [no question should miss them ;-) ].

Damaging objects:

PRD wrote:

Saving Throws: Nonmagical, unattended items never make saving throws. They are considered to have failed their saving throws, so they are always fully affected by spells and other attacks that allow saving throws to resist or negate. An item attended by a character (being grasped, touched, or worn) makes saving throws as the character (that is, using the character's saving throw bonus).

Magic items always get saving throws. A magic item's Fortitude, Reflex, and Will save bonuses are equal to 2 + half its caster level. An attended magic item either makes saving throws as its owner or uses its own saving throw bonus, whichever is better.
PRD wrote:

Damaging Magic Items

A magic item doesn't need to make a saving throw unless it is unattended, it is specifically targeted by the effect, or its wielder rolls a natural 1 on his save. Magic items should always get a saving throw against spells that might deal damage to them—even against attacks from which a nonmagical item would normally get no chance to save. Magic items use the same saving throw bonus for all saves, no matter what the type (Fortitude, Reflex, or Will). A magic item's saving throw bonus equals 2 + 1/2 its caster level (rounded down). The only exceptions to this are intelligent magic items, which make Will saves based on their own Wisdom scores.
Magic items, unless otherwise noted, take damage as nonmagical items of the same sort. A damaged magic item continues to function, but if it is destroyed, all its magical power is lost. Magic items that take damage in excess of half their total hit points, but not more than their total hit points, gain the broken condition, and might not function properly.

Catching fire

PRD wrote:


Those whose clothes or equipment catch fire must make DC 15 Reflex saves for each item. Flammable items that fail take the same amount of damage as the character.

Acid Pit

PRD wrote:

In addition, exposed items carried by a creature in the pit may be harmed. Refer to Table 9–2: Items Affected by Magical Attacks (Core Rulebook 216). Items are affected one at a time in the order listed on the table, and must make Fortitude saves after 3 consecutive rounds in the acid or gain the broken condition. Objects with the broken condition (regardless of how they became broken) must make a Fortitude saving throw each round spent within the acid or be destroyed.

1) Catching fire seem very simple:

you make a Saving throw at DC 15 for each item worn, then, where applicable, you apply hardness and then subtract the hp of damage from the item. An item that saves take no damage.

2) Being immersed in a pool of acid I already more complicated. The procedure should be the same depicted above, but there is no clear indication of what kind of saving throw you must make.
I would apply the same ST(DC 15 reflex) as catching fire if it is possible to quickly remove the item from the acid, a Fortitude ST if that isn't possible. The DC would be set by the kind of acid used and sometme it should be eyeballed.

3) Acid Pit.
For this spell the acid damage seem to have been changed: On one side it has been toned down, on another it seem to have been intensified.
The item(s) need to make a ST only after 3 rounds, not immediately, on the other hand they seem to get the broken and destroyed conditions regardless of their hardness and hp.
And what is the meaning of: "Items are affected one at a time in the order listed on the table"? It mean that after 3 rounds you cheek to see if your shield get the broken condition, then after another round if the armor get the broken conditions, and so on?
Or that after 3 rounds you have an item making a ST, and after another 3 round a second item need to make a ST?
Or that all the items need to make a ST after 3 rounds and simply you make them in the order given?

So, the questions
1) how do you use these effects?
2) there are other spells or effects that force you to make ST against your equipment being damaged? (Potions, vials and so on and being crushed by a moving wall come to mind)
3) how do you set the DC of the saves when they aren't specified?

Clarification: in my gaming group we usually use ST as a shorthand for Saving Throw. As the term appear a lot of times I have used this acronym.

Andoran

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Modules, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Blood of the Moon wrote:

Surprising Combatant (Combat)

You can briefly trick your foes into discounting you as a combatant.
Prerequisites: Improved Initiative, Bluff 3 ranks.
Benefit: At the beginning of combat, after initiative is rolled but before the first round of combat begins, you can attempt a Bluff check as a free action. Each opponent who is aware of you must succeed at a Sense Motive check (DC equal to the result of your Bluff check). Failure means that an opponent is treated as if it were not aware of you when determining whether it is aware combat has begun. If none of your opponents are aware of you, you may act during the surprise round. If an opponent is effectively unaware of any foes, it cannot act during the surprise round.

I think I get what this feat is trying to accomplish, but the description of what it do is very confusing.

Let's look what it say it do, and what I feel are the problem with that:

* At the beginning of combat, after initiative is rolled but before the first round of combat begins, you can attempt a Bluff check as a free action.

1) You can act this way during the surprise round even if surprised?
2) You have acted "At the beginning of combat" so you are no longer flat footed? That would be reason enough yo take the feat even if it didn't do anything more.

* Each opponent who is aware of you must succeed at a Sense Motive check (DC equal to the result of your Bluff check). Failure means that an opponent is treated as if it were not aware of you when determining whether it is aware combat has begun.

so far so good, but

* If none of your opponents are aware of you, you may act during the surprise round.

1) That mean that if even 1 of the enemies make is Sense motive check you can't act during the surprise round?
2) It mean that if all the enemies fail the Sense motive check you get to act during the surprise round, even if you are surprised?

* If an opponent is effectively unaware of any foes, it cannot act during the surprise round.

1) Shouldn't be "If an opponent is effectively unaware of all foes, it cannot act during the surprise round."?

I am not native English, but to me the original phrase meaning sound as "If an opponent is effectively unaware of even 1 foe, it cannot act during the surprise round." The people with which I have played has always played as "If you notice even one opponent you can act during the surprise round. You lose your dexterity bonus against the people you haven't noticed until you become aware of them."

Andoran

72 people marked this as FAQ candidate. Answered in the FAQ. 3 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Modules, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

The witch hex Ice tomb has several holes in its description:

[quote?PRD]Ice Tomb (Su): A storm of ice and freezing wind envelops the target, which takes 3d8 points of cold damage (Fortitude half). If the target fails its save, it is paralyzed and unconscious but does not need to eat or breathe while the ice lasts. The ice has 20 hit points; destroying the ice frees the creature, which is staggered for 1d4 rounds after being released. Whether or not the target's saving throw is successful, it cannot be the target of this hex again for 1 day.

1) what is the range at which it work?

- 30', 60 like most major hex, line of sight?

2) It work on objects (and so it can target undead and constructs)?

3) A target that is totally immune to cold damage is still "paralyzed and unconscious" as an effect of a failed saving throw?

4) As Mathwei ap Niall as repeatedly pointed out, it say that the target "does not need to eat or breathe while the ice lasts" but it still need to drink, so he will die of thirst while unconscious after a few day of being encased in ice.

5) If the target make his fortitude Saving Throw, it is still encased in the ice, but not unconscious and paralyzed?
As written the apparent reply is yes. and that make the hex a Save and suck supernatural power plus a Save or die supernatural power.
A "tiny" bit to much.
Note that a weak creature that need to breathe could die of suffocation if he made the Saving throw and his encased in the ice.

6) The ice duration seem straightforward: until it melt or the ice is destroyed.

Edit:

7) Actually, the name notwithstanding, nothing in the Hex description say that the target is encased in the ice. It say "A storm of ice and freezing wind envelops the target,", not "You trap the target in solid ice" like Icy prison.
As written the target is still plainly visible, there is line of effect to him and he can be attacked normally ....
It seem totally against the hex intentions, but RAW there is nothing encasing the target.

Andoran

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Modules, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I recall a -20 modifier for trying to use Diplomacy to change someone attitude using a full round action instead of using 1 minute, but I am unable to find it.
It is a 3.x rule that wasn't ported over or someone can point me to the right page of the CRB/PRD?

- * -

Same deal for Intimidate and changing a target reaction. It require 1 minute. There is any modifier to use that a 1 round action?

Andoran

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Modules, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I would like an opinion about the effect of being blinded by a supernatural effect for a life oracle with the lifesense ability.

Situation:
a life oracle with the haunted curse was permanently blinded by the Blinding Light ability of a Shining Child.

What are the limitations to movement and combat for him?

Relevant abilities:

Lifesense (Su) Lifesense (Su): You notice and locate living creatures within 30 feet, just as if you possessed the blindsight ability. You must be at least 11th level to select this revelation.

Blindsight (Ex) This ability is similar to blindsense, but is far more discerning. Using nonvisual senses, such as sensitivity to vibrations, keen smell, acute hearing, or echolocation, a creature with blindsight maneuvers and fights as well as a sighted creature. Invisibility, darkness, and most kinds of concealment are irrelevant, though the creature must have line of effect to a creature or object to discern that creature or object. The ability's range is specified in the creature's descriptive text. The creature usually does not need to make Perception checks to notice creatures within range of its blindsight ability. Unless noted otherwise, blindsight is continuous, and the creature need do nothing to use it. Some forms of blindsight, however, must be triggered as a free action. If so, this is noted in the creature's description. If a creature must trigger its blindsight ability, the creature gains the benefits of blindsight only during its turn.

To me the "You notice and locate living creatures" seem to mean that you don't overcome the blindness drawbacks to movement, not being flat footed against character using ranged attacks, even if they are within the 30' radius of your ability.
The oracle think he can move as easily as a sighted creature following another person around a dungeon and that molds and lichens on the walls will help him when needed.
He think he will defeat any attempt to disguise as he see the real aspect of every living creature (unless phlymorphed).
another player think he should see the equipment worn by living creatures as it si within the "living aura2 of the creature.

Andoran

38 people marked this as FAQ candidate.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Modules, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

What is the DC of SU bard abilities when they say "allow the same saving throw" of spell X?

It is 10+ cha bonus + level of the spell x?

Or 10 + cha bonus + 1/2 bard level?

There is an example amply debated in this thread from this point onward, the Thundercaller Thunder Call ability:

SRD wrote:

Thunder Call (Su): At 3rd level, the thundercaller can use her performance to unleash a deafening peal of thunder. This allows the thundercaller to spend a round of performance to create an effect similar to the spell sound burst (having the same range and area and allowing the same saving throw). At 7th level, the sonic damage that is dealt by this blast of sound increases to 3d8. This damage further increases to 5d8 at 11th level, 7d8 at 15th level, and 9d8 at 19th level.

This performance replaces inspire competence.

Having "the same saving throw" mean "having a Fortitude save" or having a DC of 10 + cha bonus +2 as sound burst is a second level spell?

Andoran

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Modules, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Currently we have Protection from Chaos/Evil/Good/Law and the equivalent magic circle spell.
They all stop "any spells or effects that possess or exercise mental control over the creature (including enchantment [charm] effects and enchantment [compulsion] effects," cast on the protected creature and on a successful saving throw suppress an existing effect if the caster is of the appropriate alignment.
That line of spell practically shut down the power of the enchantment school for a chaotic/evil/good/lawful caster.
Nothing stop a neutral caster, so if someone want to specialize in enchantment spells the obvious choice is to be neutral.

There is some drawback that balance that advantage?

(I know we can houserule an appropriate spell, I am curious to know if I have missed some drawback in the official rules)

Andoran

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Modules, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Black tentacles wrote:
If the tentacles succeed in grappling a foe, that foe takes 1d6+4 points of damage and gains the grappled condition. Grappled opponents cannot move without first breaking the grapple. All other movement is prohibited unless the creature breaks the grapple first. The black tentacles spell receives a +5 bonus on grapple checks made against opponents it is already grappling, but cannot move foes or pin foes. Each round that black tentacles succeeds on a grapple check, it deals an additional 1d6+4 points of damage. The CMD of black tentacles, for the purposes of escaping the grapple, is equal to 10 + its CMB.
Grapple wrote:

Once you are grappling an opponent, a successful check allows you to continue grappling the foe, and also allows you to perform one of the following actions (as part of the standard action spent to maintain the grapple).

....
Damage: You can inflict damage to your target equal to your unarmed strike, a natural attack, or an attack made with armor spikes or a light or one-handed weapon. This damage can be either lethal or nonlethal.

Reading the above quotes it seem to me that the Black tentacles damage is part of the grappling maneuver, and so it is physical damage, not magical damage (and so subject to DR).

On the other hand the spell don't specify that it is physical damage and the the basic assumption for spell is that without a specific line of text the spell damage is a magical effect and DR don't do anything against it.

Someone has a definitive answer?
With motives for the answer, please.

Andoran

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Modules, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
PRD wrote:
Mutagen (Su): At 1st level, an alchemist discovers how to create a mutagen that he can imbibe in order to heighten his physical prowess at the cost of his personality. It takes 1 hour to brew a dose of mutagen, and once brewed, it remains potent until used. An alchemist can only maintain one dose of mutagen at a time—if he brews a second dose, any existing mutagen becomes inert. As with an extract or bomb, a mutagen that is not in an alchemist's possession becomes inert until an alchemist picks it up again.

1) It say: "An alchemist can only maintain one dose of mutagen at a time—if he brews a second dose, any existing mutagen becomes inert.", so when that happen? At the stat of the brewing process or at the end when you decant the new mutagen?

Note that:

PRD wrote:
an alchemist can gain the effects of another alchemist's mutagen if he drinks it. (Although if the other alchemist creates a different mutagen, the effects of the “stolen” mutagen immediately cease.) The effects of a mutagen do not stack.

can make this very important.

and

PRD wrote:
Whenever an alchemist drinks a mutagen, the effects of any previous mutagen immediately end.

don't necessarily mean that what matter is the act of drinking the mutagen, as you can drink the mutagen of another alchemist or a infused mutagen.

2) what happen if a alchemist drink the mutagen he made and he is carry a mutagen made by another alchemist? The mutagen become active? Or the alchemist must want it to become active?
Apparently a alchemist can carry the mutagen of several different alchemists and use it if needed, essentially bypassing the need for the infuse mutagen discovery if he has "stay ad home" friendly alchemists.

Andoran

10 people marked this as FAQ candidate.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Modules, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
"Pathfinder Design Team" May 24, 2013, 09:01 PM | wrote:

FAQ: http://paizo.com/paizo/faq/v5748nruor1fm#v5748eaic9qno

Power Attack: If I am using a two-handed weapon with one hand (such as a lance while mounted), do still I get the +50% damage for using a two-handed weapon?

Yes.

"Pathfinder Design Team" Sat, Jul 20, 2013, 01:26 AM wrote:

FAQ: http://paizo.com/paizo/faq/v5748nruor1fm#v5748eaic9quw

Weapons, Two-Handed in One Hand: When a feat or other special ability says to treat a weapon that is normally wielded in two hands as a one handed weapon, does it get treated as one or two handed weapon for the purposes of how to apply the Strength modifier or the Power Attack feat?

If you're wielding it in one hand (even if it is normally a two-handed weapon), treat it as a one-handed weapon for the purpose of how much Strength to apply, the Power Attack damage bonus, and so on.

Maybe someone has already addressed this problem in the thread about fighting with a two handed weapon and a secondary weapon, but I have abandoned that thread early because most post were of little interest.

The question is, how do you apply the two FAQs together?

In the discussions about using 2 handed weapons one handed (the oner that originated the first FAQs) people was arguing that someone using a small falchion one handed would get all the benefits of using a 2 handed weapon.
The first FAQ seem to allow that, the second to disallow that.
The first FAQ has been superseded? They are both in the FAQ list.

The Inappropriately Sized Weapons part of the rules don't say that the weapon is "wielded as" light, 1-handed or 2-handed weapon, it say that it is the "measure of how much effort it takes to use a weapon".
The lance say: "A lance deals double damage when used from the back of a charging mount. While mounted, you can wield a lance with one hand."

Reading that in the light of the FAQs I get the impression that the effect is the opposite of what is intended. The lance, wielded in one hand thanks to a special ability of the lance, is treated as a 1 handed weapon for power attack. The 2 handed falchion, used in one hand thanks to being sized for a smaller character can be used in one hand but it hasn't a special ability that allow that, so work as a 2 handed weapon.

Andoran

90 people marked this as FAQ candidate. Answered in the FAQ. 4 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Modules, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Recently I have seen several threads where problems have arisen with the term "spell level" when used in conjunction with metamagic feats.

People constantly cite "In all ways, a metamagic spell operates at its original spell level, even though it is prepared and cast using a higher-level spell slot." to say that:

- lesser metamagic rods can be used in conjunction with metamagiched 1-3 level spells, even if the modified level is well above third level (like a quickened fireball);
- the concentration check to cast metamagiched spells is based on the original level of the spell, not the current level;
- a magus can recall a empovered shocking grasp with 1 arcana point as what matter is the unmodified level of the spell;
- I haven't jet see someone claiming that a pearl of power will recall a spell based on its original level but I am sure someone will make that argument too.

Maybe they are right in some or all of those examples, but I think it need a clarification as "spell level" is often used in a interchangeable way with "spell slot", so please hit the FAQ button.

The question:
The phrase "In all ways, a metamagic spell operates at its original spell level, even though it is prepared and cast using a higher-level spell slot." is in reference to the DC of a spell, its ability to bypass a protective spell that only stop up to a specific level of spells, the casting stat requirement and what spell slot you need to counter it when using some abilities or it extend to the DC of the concentration checks, what metamgic rods can affect it, to the cost of recalling the spell through the use of class ability (spell recall) or magic items (pearl of powers)?

Andoran

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Modules, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Quote:

Grappled: A grappled creature is restrained by a creature, trap, or effect. Grappled creatures cannot move and take a –4 penalty to Dexterity. A grappled creature takes a –2 penalty on all attack rolls and combat maneuver checks, except those made to grapple or escape a grapple. In addition, grappled creatures can take no action that requires two hands to perform. A grappled character who attempts to cast a spell or use a spell-like ability must make a concentration check (DC 10 + grappler's CMB + spell level), or lose the spell. Grappled creatures cannot make attacks of opportunity.

A grappled creature cannot use Stealth to hide from the creature grappling it, even if a special ability, such as hide in plain sight, would normally allow it to do so. If a grappled creature becomes invisible, through a spell or other ability, it gains a +2 circumstance bonus on its CMD to avoid being grappled, but receives no other benefit.

A simple question with a not so simple answer:

The bolded part mean that the grappled creature can't use a weapon that require 2 hands or do any other action that require to use two hands at the same time?
Or that he can use only one hand at all and so he is limited to using a single weapon and can't use two weapon combat?

Andoran

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Modules, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
PRD wrote:


Start/Complete Full-Round Action

The “start full-round action” standard action lets you start undertaking a full-round action, which you can complete in the following round by using another standard action. You can't use this action to start or complete a full attack, charge, run, or withdraw.

I thought it was possible to use it only if you were limited to a standard action, but apparently you can use it without limitations as long as you don't use it "to start or complete a full attack, charge, run, or withdraw."

That leave weird corner cases, as an example Spell combat is a full round action but not a full attack.

So, following RAW, I can:
- Declare to use spell combat.
- start it with a "Start Full-Round Action"
- move
next round
- cast my spell, do my full attack
- move away?

I am sure it is not RAI, but if you can use "Start/Complete Full-Round Action" any time you want it seem to follow RAW.

Andoran

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Modules, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Today FAQ:

FAQ wrote:

Invisibility: Can you see yourself when you're invisible?

The spell doesn't say one way or the other.

Because being invisible doesn't give you penalties on actions that require you to be able to see exactly what you're doing (such as picking a lock), you can assume that you can at least see yourself well enough to perform such actions without penalty. Whether this means you can see yourself as if you were not invisible, can see yourself as a ghostly image, or some other description is up to the GM, so long as the description doesn't hinder your own actions.

—Pathfinder Design Team, yesterday

You really need to see to pick locks?

What are the penalties for not seeing?

To my limited knowledge thieves train to open lock in the dark. This mean that they have simply a very high skill or that there is no penalty for picking locks when not seeing?

Andoran

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Modules, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

The recent FAQ about the magus:

FAQ wrote:

Magus: Does spell combat count as making a full attack action for the purpose of haste and other effects?

No. Spell combat is its own kind of full-round action, and is not a full attack action.

PRD wrote:

Spell combat:

...
As a full-round action, he can make all of his attacks with his melee weapon at a –2 penalty and can also cast any spell from the magus spell list with a casting time of 1 standard action (any attack roll made as part of this spell also takes this penalty).
...

From this text it an attack but not any form of attack action. The FAQ reiterate that.

PRD wrote:

Combat Expertise

...
You can only choose to use this feat when you declare that you are making an [b]attack or a full-attack action[b] with a melee weapon.
...

AFAIK you can't even fight defensively as:

PRD wrote:


Fighting Defensively as a Standard Action: You can choose to fight defensively when attacking. If you do so, you take a –4 penalty on all attacks in a round to gain a +2 dodge bonus to AC until the start of your next turn.

require you to use a standard action to fight and you are using a full round action and

PRD wrote:
Fighting Defensively as a Full-Round Action: You can choose to fight defensively when taking a full-attack action. If you do so, you take a –4 penalty on all attacks in a round to gain a +2 dodge bonus to AC for until the start your next turn.

require you to use a full attack action.

I am missing something?

Andoran

4 people marked this as FAQ candidate.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Modules, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

From the last group of FAQs:

FAQ wrote:

Unarmed Strike: For the purpose of magic fang and other spells, is an unarmed strike your whole body, or is it a part of your body (such as a fist or kick)?

As written, the text isn't as clear as it could be. Because magic fang requires the caster to select a specific natural attack to affect, you could interpret that to mean you have to do the same thing for each body part you want to enhance with the spell (fist, elbow, kick, knee, headbutt, and so on).
However, there's no game mechanic specifying what body part a monk has to use to make an unarmed strike (other than if the monk is holding an object with his hands, he probably can't use that hand to make an unarmed strike), so a monk could just pick a body part to enhance with the spell and always use that body part, especially as the 12/4/2012 revised ruling for flurry of blows allows a monk to flurry with the same weapon (in this case, an unarmed strike) for all flurry attacks.
This means there is no game mechanical reason to require magic fang and similar spells to specify one body part for an enhanced unarmed strike. Therefore, a creature's unarmed strike is its entire body, and a magic fang (or similar spell) cast on a creature's unarmed strike affects all unarmed strikes the creature makes.
The text of magic fang will be updated slightly in the next Core Rulebook update to take this ruling into account.

—Pathfinder Design Team, 03/01/13

Unless this row of text in Two weapon fighting "You can fight with a weapon wielded in each of your hands. You can make one extra attack each round with the secondary weapon." forbid non-monk characters from using two weapon fighting while using Improved Unarmed Strike [and I don't think that that is the intention] this mean that it is possible to get 2+ "weapons" [hands, feet, whatever] enhanced with one casting of the spell and use both of them at the same time in conjunction with two weapon fighting.

Flurry of blow is a specific exception that allow a monk to make his multiple attacks with a single appendage, but other characters that use multiple appendages exist.

To put it another way, it it meant for the FAQ to give this benefit to the Unarmed Fighter or similar archetypes or only to the monk?

Andoran

6 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Modules, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

The spell with a range of self or a target of you lack a Sawing throw line, but with the advent of alchemist it has become possible to make then into infusions and hit a enemy with them.

That mean that even the most powerful enemy, with the best protections against magic can be killed by a successful touch attack and a standard attack using skinsend. If done right the enemy has almost no hope to avoid this fate.
Even Panacea, a first level spell, will put you into a sleep state and allow for a Coup de grace.

For even more "fun" skinsed will work upon golems, undead and oozes.

Even without a alchemist in the party it would be possible to buy a skinsend infusion from a alchemist and put it in a syringe spear, so almost any group can have this handy combo.

Done the other way you can give your golem plenty of self buffs if you give it a few infusion in the form of oils.

I think that all (or almost all) spells with a target of you or a range of self need a saving throw line like this one:

Saving Throw Will negates (harmless); Spell Resistance yes (harmless)

substituting Reflex of Fortitude to will where appropriate.

If you agree please hit the FAQ button.

Andoran

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Modules, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

From the Animal Companion:

Quote:

INSTANT MUZZLE CL 9th

SLOT none PRICE 6,500 GP WEIGHT 4 lbs.
AURA moderate enchantment and transmutation

This ball of iron bands and hinges is about the size of a human fist. Three times per day, when thrown at a creature or space as thrown weapon, the contraption opens up as it strikes a solid surface, taking the shape of a metal muzzle. If it hits the target, the muzzle immediately attaches itself to the face of any Large or smaller creature struck by the ball or any single Large or smaller creature in the 5-foot square so targeted. The muzzle harmlessly clatters to the ground and returns to ball form if it fails to strike a creature or no creature is present in the space in which it landed, and it does not return to its thrower.
A creature muzzled with an instant muzzle cannot speak properly (if it was normally able to do so), and gains a 20% spell failure chance for any spell it attempts to cast with verbal components, and a 20% chance to incorrectly use a command word when activating a magic item. The muzzled creature cannot make bite attacks or even drink or eat properly. The muzzle has hardness 10 and 25 hit points. An instant muzzle remains attached to a creature for 4 rounds before detaching and returning to ball form, immediately teleporting back to the hand of the creature that originally threw the item.

CONSTRUCTION REQUIREMENTS COST 3,250 GP
Craft Wondrous Item, fumbletongue UM, telekinesis

My problems are all in this piece of the description: "when thrown at a creature or space as thrown weapon"

1) "as a throw weapon". What is the range increment of this attack? Throw weapons range increments go from 10 to 30 feet.

2) "when thrown at a creature". I suppose it need to hit touch AC and use all the other modifiers for hitting (cover, concealment, blur, mirror image, ecc.).
"or space". Sorry? so you can throw this thing to a space, hit it and muzzle a creature in that space, with no need to care for his actual AC, concealment, mirror images, blur, ecc., without a ST or anything?

This seem "a bit" too easy.

3) Just for the record, it do something to other language dependent abilities, like several of the bardic performances, the guide terrain bond bonus (your allies need to hear you to benefit from it) and so on?

Andoran

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Modules, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

In a thread about pricing magic items there was the example of a wondrous item with several spells with different caster levels.

I doubt that that is an intended mechanic, as managing an item with 5 different caster level is a nightmare.
What power work and what power don't work if someone dispel it?
What is the DC of crafting the item?

Checking the crafting rules I find this:
Creating Staves:
"The caster level of all spells in a staff must be the same, and no staff can have a caster level of less than 8th, even if all the spells in the staff are low-level spells."

No similar text for the other items.

Someone know if there is a Dev answer to this doubt?

Andoran

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Modules, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
FAQ wrote:

What crafting requirements can you bypass by adding +5 to the DC of your Spellcraft check?

As presented on page 549 of the Core Rulebook, there are no limitations other than (1) you have to have the item creation feat, and (2) you cannot create potions, spell-trigger, or spell-completion magic items without meeting their spell prerequisites. So racial requirements, specific spell requirements, math requirements (such as "caster level must be at least three times the enhancement bonus"), and so on, are all subject to the +5 DC rule.

—Pathfinder Design Team, 02/22/13

So the recent FAQ cited above has specified that it is possible to bypass the "caster level must be at least three times the enhancement bonus" rule when enchanting items taking a +5 to the DC of the enchanting check.

Now I have a question about that.
How the +5 to the DC is applied?

It is a flat +5 independently from how many caster level are missed?, i.e. a 3rd level crafter can make a +5 sword (that would require a level 15 crafter) taking a +5 to the DC?

It is a +5 for missed level?
I.e. a 3rd level crafter making a +2 weapon would have a +15 to the DC while a 5th level crafter would have a +5 to the DC?

It is a +5 missed crafting tier?
i.e. if you want to make a +5 sword that require you to be level 15 (5*3) but you are only able to make +4 swords (level 12-14) you get a +5 to the DC, but if you are only able to make +3 swords )level 9-11) you get a +10 to the DC and so on.

Any idea?

Andoran

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Modules, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

There is something strange in the pricing of the Strand of prayer beads.

PRD wrote:
The power of a special bead is lost if it is removed from the strand. Reduce the price of a strand of prayer beads that is missing one or more beads by the following amounts: bead of blessing –600 gp, bead of healing –9,000 gp, bead of karma –20,000 gp, bead of smiting –16,800 gp, bead of summons –20,000 gp, bead of wind walking –46,800 gp.

The spellcasting beads:

bead of blessing 600 gp, spell level l * caster level 1 * 2 no space *1.800 =3.600/5 =720

bead of healing 9,000 gp, 3*5*2*1.800 command word = 10.800/5 = 2.160

bead of smiting 16,800 gp, 4*7*2*1.800= 100.800/5= 20.160

bead of wind walking 46,800 gp. 6*11*2*1.800=237.600/5= 47.520

The bead of blessing, smiting and wind walking have a discount, and that is reasonable as the bead are spell trigger items, so limited to the classes that can already cast those spells.

The bead of healing instead has a great surcharge. Being capable to chose between 3 different spells is a bonus, but it is not worth a multiplier of 4.16. For that price it would be possible to make 4 different beads and get a better final result.

I am missing something?

Andoran

4 people marked this as FAQ candidate.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Modules, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

The rules about polymorph say:

PRD wrote:


When you cast a polymorph spell that changes you into a creature of the animal, dragon, elemental, magical beast, plant, or vermin type, all of your gear melds into your body. Items that provide constant bonuses and do not need to be activated continue to function while melded in this way (with the exception of armor and shield bonuses, which cease to function). Items that require activation cannot be used while you maintain that form.

Bonuses are definite as:

PRD wrote:


Bonus: Bonuses are numerical values that are added to checks and statistical scores. Most bonuses have a type, and as a general rule, bonuses of the same type are not cumulative (do not “stack”)—only the greater bonus granted applies.

So I assume that only things that respect the in game definition of bonus work.

Some people has countered that saying that that has strange consequences, like:

-A Belt that has you constantly under the effect of Bull's Strength, Cat's Grace, and Bear's Endurance. Works fine.
-A Ring that has you constantly under the effect of Resist Energy or Freedom of Movement. Doesn't work for some reason. [not so sure about resist Energy, as it give the wearer resistance 10 against fire]
-A Ring that has you constantly under the effect of Shield of Faith. Now this one does work fine.
- Feather step slippers cease to function because they don't provide a bonus
- Boots of striding and springing do because they do give a bonus.

So what is the intention of the rule?

Andoran

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Modules, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

As it as come up in another thread, someone has a RAW answer on what happen if you dispel the entry point of a Magnificent Mansion or a Rope Trick?

My interpretation is that the spell is canceled and the items/people that were taken into the extradimensional space appear in the spot where the spell was cast.

But seeing how items that create extradimensional spaces work it is possible to use the opposite interpretation and say that the access point stop functioning but the extradimensional space last if full duration. With that interpretation we have a new problem: what happen when the spell end?

Andoran

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Modules, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

My list of subscriptions start to be a bit unwieldy. There is any way to hide it?

Andoran

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Modules, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

This idea come up in another thread:
- dispel the big magic sword of the fighter;
- shatter it while it is a non magical object.
I think there is some problem with that idea:

PRD wrote:


Shatter
School evocation [sonic]; Level bard 2, cleric 2, sorcerer/wizard 2
Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, S, M/DF (a chip of mica)
Range close (25 ft. + 5 ft./2 levels)
Area or Target 5-ft.-radius spread; or one solid object or one crystalline creature
Duration instantaneous
Saving Throw Will negates (object); Will negates (object) or Fortitude half; see text; Spell Resistance yes

Shatter creates a loud, ringing noise that breaks brittle, nonmagical objects; sunders a single solid, nonmagical object; or damages a crystalline creature.

Used as an area attack, shatter destroys nonmagical objects of crystal, glass, ceramic, or porcelain. All such unattended objects within a 5-foot radius of the point of origin are smashed into dozens of pieces by the spell. Objects weighing more than 1 pound per your level are not affected, but all other objects of the appropriate composition are shattered.

Alternatively, you can target shatter against a single solid nonmagical object, regardless of composition, weighing up to 10 pounds per caster level. Targeted against a crystalline creature (of any weight), shatter deals 1d6 points of sonic damage per caster level (maximum 10d6), with a Fortitude save for half damage.

PRD wrote:


(object): The spell can be cast on objects, which receive saving throws only if they are magical or if they are attended (held, worn, grasped, or the like) by a creature resisting the spell, in which case the object uses the creature's saving throw bonus unless its own bonus is greater. This notation does not mean that a spell can be cast only on objects. Some spells of this sort can be cast on creatures or objects. A magic item's saving throw bonuses are each equal to 2 + 1/2 the item's caster level.

1) The weapon is a attended object so it get a Will ST to avoid the damage;

2) Then the spell don't say how many HP of damage you do to the weapon. Sunder isn't a condition as broken or destroyed, it is a kind of attack that dealt damage. Sunder say "If your attack is successful, you deal damage to the item normally."
So, what is the damage dealt by shatter? Unless it is a crystalline item you don't know as the spells don't quantify the damage. [a crystalline item, by the text, is destroyed].
A adamantine weapon is as resistant or as weak to this spell as a normal steel one? Or a leather and cloth sling?

I think that all the rules about breaking items apply, with item hardness, ineffective attacks, halving of energy damage dealt when appropriate and so on.

Probably the spell would dealt 1d6 hp/level of damage against non crystalline items but the spell don't say anything about what damage it do.

Comments or informations about this?

Andoran

2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Modules, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Total defense and quickened spells.

A strange thing that has come up in a magus discussion:

- when using total defense you can't make attacks of opportunity and use up a standard action;
- you can cast a quickened spell as a swift action;
- so it is possible to cast a quickened shocking grasp and use spellstrike to attack with your weapon.

What are the attacks modifiers in that situation?

Casting any quickened spell with an attack roll it is possible to get an attack while using total defense for any spellcasting class, so I think it is fairly important question for plenty of characters.

If it is not possible to cast quickened spells with a to hit roll when using total defense, it is possible to cast other quickened offensive spells that don't require a to hit roll, like magic missile?

- * -

An ability or magic item that allow you to make an attack as a quick action will allow you to make that attack while using total defense?
At what modifier?

Andoran

14 people marked this as FAQ candidate.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Modules, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Underwater combat rules:

PRD wrote:
Ranged Attacks Underwater: Thrown weapons are ineffective underwater, even when launched from land. Attacks with other ranged weapons take a –2 penalty on attack rolls for every 5 feet of water they pass through, in addition to the normal penalties for range.

Underwater Crossbow:

PRD wrote:

Merfolk Equipment

Merfolk have access to the following equipment.

Underwater Crossbow: An underwater crossbow functions like its normal counterpart above water, and can be used underwater. When fired underwater, the crossbow has a range increment of 20 feet. Anyone proficient with a normal crossbow can use an underwater crossbow.

As written the merfolk crossbow is an inferior weapon as its range is shortened and its quarrels still suffer from the "–2 penalty on attack rolls for every 5 feet of water they pass through".

Probably the RAI is that the other missile weapon have shortened range increments of 5' when used underwater, but the RAW don't say that.

The questions from that are:
- missile weapons used underwater are meant to have a 5' range increment instead of their normal range increment?
- there is a more extensive explanation of underwater combat in some supplement, like the shackles pirate AP?

- * -

My reading is that normal missile weapons are meant to have a range increment of 5' underwater and special ones, like the merfolk crossbow are meant to have different range increments, but that is a personal interpretation.
I think this need a FAQ.

Andoran

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Modules, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Looking the alchemist formulae list in the Advanced player's guide I don't see the spell poison anywhere.
If I look the list of the alchemist "spells" in the index part of the PRD, I get Poison as a 2nd level formulae.

Someone know if it is a spell that only some alchemist archetype get, or simply an error in the database?

Andoran

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Modules, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
FAQ wrote:

Alchemist: What kind of action is it to use an extract, mutagen, or throw a bomb?

It is a standard action to use an extract, mutagen, or throw a bomb. This action includes retrieving the necessary materials from the alchemist's supplies, in the same manner as retrieving a material component is included in the act of spellcasting.

—Sean K Reynolds, 09/01/10

Burst of speed wrote:


Burst of Speed

School transmutation; Level alchemist 3, antipaladin 3, magus 3, inquisitor 3, paladin 3, ranger 3
Casting Time 1 swift action
Component V
Range personal
Target you
Duration see text

Until the end of your turn, you gain a +20-foot bonus to speed (or +10-foot bonus if you are wearing Medium or Heavy armor), your movement does not provoke attacks of opportunity, and you can move through the space of creatures that are larger than you are, but you cannot end your movement this round in a space occupied by a creature.

So, what happen with this extract? It become a standard action to sue it?

Or he get to drink that extract as a swift action?

Having it in hand, already mixed, change something?

Having a engineer has a player get you that kind of questions. :-P

Andoran

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Modules, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

The ring of spell storing say:

PRD wrote:


A minor ring of spell storing contains up to three levels of spells (either divine or arcane, or even a mix of both spell types) that the wearer can cast. Each spell has a caster level equal to the minimum level needed to cast that spell.

I recall a ruling saying that that apply to randomly found rings with spells in them, and that if a specific spellcaster put the spell into the ring it has the caster level of that caster, but can't find ruling anywhere.

Someone know if it is a Pathfinder ruling or a old 3.X ruling?

Andoran

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Modules, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

The alchemist infusion discovery say:

PRD wrote:
Infusion: When the alchemist creates an extract, he can infuse it with an extra bit of his own magical power. The extract created now persists even after the alchemist sets it down. As long as the extract exists, it continues to occupy one of the alchemist's daily extract slots. An infused extract can be imbibed by a non-alchemist to gain its effects.

I have read that as "it last more than 24 hours" not only as "it last when outside the magic field of the alchemist".

Recently another player has cast some doubt on that interpretation.
There is a official ruling somewhere?

Andoran

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Modules, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Today I have received this from a distributor of used games:

Quote:
Unfortunately as many of you have heard our US Post Office has lost billions of dollars this past year and have decided to raise prices in 2013. Unfortunately also international rates will see a dramatic increase, in some cases almost double the previous rates. This increase will take place on the 27th of January.

What will be the effect of thos increases on the shipping costs of Paizo products?

Andoran

42 people marked this as FAQ candidate. Answered in the FAQ. 1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion, Modules, Pawns, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

The cackle hex say:

PRD wrote:
Cackle (Su): A witch can cackle madly as a move action. Any creature that is within 30 feet that is under the effects of an agony hex, charm hex, evil eye hex, fortune hex, or misfortune hex caused by the witch has the duration of that hex extended by 1 round.

1) Some people take "cackle madly" literally, so, for them, this ability make the party easy to perceive and is noticeable, other say that it is a supernatural ability and that you can cackle without making any noise and maybe even in a unnoticeable way.

2) "an agony hex, charm hex, evil eye hex, fortune hex, or misfortune hex caused by the witch has the duration of that hex extended by 1 round."
As written that allow the witch to cackle for an extended period (hours) using both his move and standard action and extend the duration of the hex by hours. It is working as intended?

3) Several hexes have the text "Once a creature has benefited from the fortune hex, it cannot benefit from it again for 24 hours." or "a creature cannot be the target of this hex again for 1 day". It should be read as "the target can't be affected by the hex until the next day (so, conceivably you can affect him at 23.59 and again at 00.01) of you can't affect him till 24 hour have elapsed?
(with the first interpretation the witch could keep up the fortune hex for a whole day and the reuse it on the same targets the next day, with the latter using it for a full day would bar him from using it on the same targets the next day)

Please hit the FAQ button.

1 to 50 of 88 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.