Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ

Dezhem's page

Goblin Squad Member. FullStarFullStar Pathfinder Society GM. 125 posts (145 including aliases). 2 reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 15 Pathfinder Society characters. 2 aliases.

Dark Archive

I've been mulling a new character for PFS around; I really like the concept as I'm a fan of the more unusual things, but I'm trying to tweak it so that I'll still be an effective contributor to the party.

The idea is as follows:

Qlippoth-Spawn Tiefling, worshipper of Achaekek, Monk 1 (Master of Many Styles)/Cleric 10 (Separatist Death/Animal), rides around on a giant Mantis at level 7 and punches people with channel smite while holding Inflict/Harm/Slay Living spells.

How the build looks at the moment:

Str: 15 (+1 at 4)
Dex: 12
Con: 14
Int: 6 (ouch)
Wis: 17 (+1 at 8)
Cha: 14

Level 1: Channel Smite
Level 3: Power Attack
Level 3 (Monk): Snake Style
Level 5: Mantis Style
Level 7: Boon Companion (Probably not going to use the AC until this point)
Level 9: Improved Channel
Level 11: Divine Interference

I have a couple of concerns about this:

1. I'm not used to playing 6 Int character, will have a very hard time having any decent Handle Animal/Ride.

2. AC is low for a frontliner, slightly mitigated by Snake Style and a massive Sense Motive.

3. Will seem like a pretty selfish character.

Any recommendations on how I can improve on this? Realistically I might as well be playing a Magus but the flavour of this appeals to me a lot.

Dark Archive

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Question the First

Is spending a ki point that's called out by a feat in order to provide an additional effect (such as Ki Throw), a swift action?

Ki Throw:
Benefit: On a successful unarmed trip attack against a target your size or smaller, you may throw the target prone in any square you threaten rather than its own square. This movement does not provoke attacks of opportunity, and you cannot throw the creature into a space occupied by other creatures.

Special: A monk may gain Ki Throw as a bonus feat at 10th level. A monk with this feat can affect creatures larger than his own size by spending 1 ki point per size category difference.

Does not list what sort of an action it is. The closest reference can be found under the Qinggong archetype, where emulating Feats is expressly called out as a free action.

Reliable Maneuver:
Reliable Maneuver (Ex)

At 4th level, as a swift action, a maneuver master may spend 1 point from his ki pool before attempting a combat maneuver. He can roll his combat maneuver check for that maneuver twice and use the better result.

This ability replaces slow fall.

Neither does this.

Question the Second

Is Flurry of Manoeuvres ineligible for spending a Ki point for an extra attack? It replaces Flurry of Blows, which is called out by the Ki Pool ability in the CRB. Considering that The Maneuver Master came out in UC, what's the ruling on things like this, where a core ability is replaced by a similar ability and thus loses out on some base feature?

Dark Archive

Let's say you have a very paranoid party, who have reason to be paranoid, and are very carefully exploring every 5ft square for traps. Nobody was a Rogue, but someone did have Trapfinding.

They come across a 5ft square where a trap will go off in... But the trap itself is located in the next 5ft square. Something like:


P = player, X = square (trap will affect this square), T = trap (trap mechanism is here but set to trigger when X is occupied.

I wasn't sure how to handle it when I came across it so I judged it as a 'you have a gut feeling that stepping forward would be a very bad idea'.

How would you have handled it? And how should I handle it in the future?

Dark Archive

So I got my Wizard foolishly caught by a Grapple the other week. What concerned me was how utterly debilitating that was. Aside from being more careful in the future (Invisibility is not a get-out-of-perception-free-card), I started to think about ways to escape a grapple sans ranks in Escape Artist.

And I'm coming up dreadfully short, pretty much because this ONE line from the grapple rules.

Grappled Condition:
Grappled: A grappled creature is restrained by a creature, trap, or effect. Grappled creatures cannot move and take a –4 penalty to Dexterity. A grappled creature takes a –2 penalty on all attack rolls and combat maneuver checks, except those made to grapple or escape a grapple. In addition, grappled creatures can take no action that requires two hands to perform. A grappled character who attempts to cast a spell or use a spell-like ability must make a concentration check (DC 10 + grappler's CMB + spell level), or lose the spell. Grappled creatures cannot make attacks of opportunity.

Is that meant to be a blanket statement covering ALL spells, regardless of what they require? For example, if I had a Silent Dimension Door prepared, that reduces the components required for it to nothing. Would I still need to make a concentration check? (Against any half-decent grappler that's impossible to make)

The best I could come up with is to have a Spell Tattoo inscribed on a hand; this works like a scroll but you only need to use one hand and be able to see the tattoo to activate it. It does provoke but would hopefully bypass the Concentration check.

Dark Archive

Oh, Dezhem. I slay myself.


I have a query about the Klar, since I'm considering making a Shoanti warrior type. Leaning towards a Bladebound/Skirnir/Spellblade Magus of the Skoan-Quah, carrying around some of his ancestors. This is for PFS, by the way.

The Klar is a Shoanti weapon that kinda combines a short sword and a shield into one. Digging around the various sources it's mentioned in, you can find the following.

"If you use a Klar to make an attack, you lose its AC bonus until your next action (usually until the next round)

I read that as the Klar being both weapon and shield. I also read that as 'you can use it as a weapon, lose the shield bonus, take a 5-foot step, regain shield bonus'.

Does that make sense?

Dark Archive **

So I've been working on my faux Arabian accent and decided to create a Qadiran merchant who is actually a Druid... But doesn't know it. In true Qadiran style, I'd be trying to throw as many desert themed scenarios at him as I can. Or at least scenarios set in Qadira/Osirion with a more diplomatic/negotiation feel.

So far I have:

Murder on the Silken Caravan
The Many Fortunes of Grandmaster Torch
The Citadel of Flame
Our Lady of Silver

Anyone know of any more? I'm using the Wiki but if anyone knows specifically which scenarios meet my criteria I'd be grateful!

Dark Archive

As per title, I'm wondering if these two work together.

Taunt wrote:

You may be small, but your remarks cut others down to size.

Prerequisites: Cha 13, Small size or smaller.

Benefit: You can demoralize opponents using Bluff rather than Intimidate (see the Intimidate skill description for details) and take no skill check penalty for being smaller than your target.

Dazzling Display wrote:

Your skill with your favored weapon can frighten enemies.

Prerequisite: Weapon Focus, proficiency with the selected weapon.

Benefit: While wielding the weapon in which you have Weapon Focus, you can perform a bewildering show of prowess as a full-round action. Make an Intimidate check to demoralize all foes within 30 feet who can see your display.

So, will Taunt allow me to use Dazzling Display with Bluff?

Dark Archive

So I've been playing around with the Diabolist Prestige class for my PFS Wizard. and am curious if this is possible.

Currently: Level 10 Wizard (Necromancer)
Next level: Diabolist 1/Wizard 10

Book of the Damned 1:

Class Level

This is the diabolist's class level plus her highest caster level. This does not stack with class levels that grant an animal companion.

Boon Companion:

Your bond with your animal companion or familiar is unusually close.

Prerequisites: Animal companion or familiar class ability.

Benefit: The abilities of your animal companion or familiar are calculated as though your class were four levels higher, to a maximum bonus equal to your character level*. If you have more than one animal companion or familiar, choose one to receive this benefit. If you lose or dismiss an animal companion or familiar, you may apply this feat to the replacement creature.

Special: You may select this feat more than once. The effects do not stack. Each time you take the feat, it applies to a different animal companion or familiar.

Now I applied Boon Companion to the Diabolist class before I really read the feat, and according to Hero Lab at least, it worked. Since Hero Lab isn't exactly definitive and is wrong on a number of things, I thought I'd check here first.

tldr; Does Boon Companion up the level of the Imp Animal Companion granted by the Diabolist PrC?

Dark Archive

Hi there

I've asked a similar (more specific) question before and didn't really get anywhere. Now that I know my way around these parts a bit better I'm having another crack at it.

Does anyone know if it's possible/allowed to use a spell like:

Familiar Melding:
School necromancy; Level sorcerer/wizard 4, witch 4

Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, S

Range medium (100 ft. + 10 ft./level)
Target your familiar
Duration 1 hour/level or until you return to your body
Saving Throw Will negates (harmless); Spell Resistance yes

You project your soul into your familiar, taking over its body while leaving its consciousness intact. When you transfer your soul upon casting, your body is, as near as anyone can tell, dead.

While possessing your familiar, you can communicate with it telepathically. You keep your Intelligence, Wisdom, Charisma, level, class, base attack bonus, base save bonuses, alignment, and mental abilities. The familiar’s body retains its own Strength, Dexterity, Constitution, hit points, natural abilities, and automatic abilities. A body with extra limbs does not allow you to make more attacks (or more advantageous two-weapon attacks) than normal. You may use any abilities the familiar has, including spells and spell-like abilities. You cannot speak unless your familiar has the ability to speak a language. You cannot cast spells with somatic components if your familiar does not have anthropomorphic limbs that can perform the appropriate motions.

As a standard action, you can return to your body as long as it is within range. If your familiar is slain while your soul is in it and your body is within range, your soul returns to your own body, unharmed. If your familiar is out of range when slain, you die. The spell ends when you shift from the familiar to your own body.

followed by

Shadow Projection:
School necromancy [evil]; Level sorcerer/wizard 4

Casting Time 1 minute
Components S

Range personal
Targets you
Duration 1 hour/level (D)

With this spell, you infuse your life force and psyche into your shadow, giving it independent life and movement as if it were an undead shadow. Your physical body lies comatose while you are projecting your shadow, and your body has no shadow or reflection while the spell is in effect.

While projecting your shadow, you gain a shadow's darkvision, defensive abilities, fly speed, racial stealth modifier, and strength damage attack. You do not gain the creature's create spawn ability, nor its skill ranks or Hit Dice.

Your shadow has Hit Dice and hit points equal to your own.

Your shadow projection has the undead type and may be turned or affected as undead.

If your shadow projection is slain, you return to your physical body and are immediately reduced to -1 hit points. Your condition becomes dying, and you must begin making Constitution checks to stabilize.

, to essentially end up in the shadow body of your familiar and still able to cast your own spells and use its abilities, assuming the familiar can do so?

And if yes... How far does that rabbit hole go? There are quite a few spells that allow for this sort of thing, like Marionette Posession and Skinsend.

I'm up to the levels now where I can feasibly do all of these things so I'm keen to know if this is possible in a legitimate 'no I'm not rules lawyering you here guys' way. :)

Dark Archive

So my Wizard (Necromancer)is about to hit level 7 and I've had an idea for him... I need to know if it's possible, though!

The idea is:

Skinsend (30hp to 15, add 20 from construct traits = 35)
Familiar Melding (Familiar has 17 hp)
Skinsend (17hp to 8)
Alter Self to Medium size (8, add 20 from construct traits = 28)

Since my Familiar has half my hp, does this mean when I skinsend it also loses half? And is that from max or current hp, since Medium sized creatures with Construct traits gain 20 hp.

So I can stuff my skin in a bag along with the skinless familiar, and I'm now in a tiny construct Imp familiar with higher hp/ac than my wizard, various immunities/dr and the neat at wills that come with it. And I can still cast spells.

Oh, and if I also have an Imp Animal Companion from the Diabolist class, could I use him as an Animal Companion in combat if I'm inhabiting my Familiar's body?

Dark Archive

So I like the idea of the Dawnflower Dervish and wanted to build my next character around the concept.

I'd just like to know the following... I intend to go Bard 1/Fighter 6/Duelist 5. One of the reqs for Duelist is Weapon Finesse. Now, Dawnflower Dervish grants Dervish Dance as a bonus feat. Dervish Dance requires Weapon Finesse.

Does Dervish Dance count as having granted Weapon Finesse for purposes of taking prestige classes?

My gut says no but I'd like to know before I 'waste' a feat.

Dark Archive

So... I'd like to work out how these spells interact.

What I'm thinking of doing is casting Skinsend, which does not appear to have a range attached to it, store my body somewhere safe, then cast Familiar Melding to transfer my consciousness into my familiar, and store my skin in a party member's backpack or bag of holding or something.

That way I can act through my familiar (an Imp, so I'd be able to cast spells), and if it died within range of my skin, I'd revert to my skin and could continue playing.

Does this work?

I sure hope so because the sound of it just tickles my Necromancer fancy!

©2002–2016 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.