Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Danse Macabre

DevotedKnight's page

Pathfinder Society Member. 13 posts (20 including aliases). No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 2 Pathfinder Society characters. 2 aliases.


RSS

Scarab Sages

Hello every one! How's it going!

I posted this on the General Discussion board under Rule Verification: Martial Weapons Proficiency. If you would like to respond you can respond just to out group or the Pathfinder Society.

Hope that ya'll have a good day!

John

Rule verification:

During the Pathfinder game last night there was a question about the Martial Weapons Proficiency feat. I took the Martial Weapon Proficiency (Slashing). My understanding is if I choose this feat I would choose a TYPE of weapon. The GM ruled that you only choose one weapon. I just want to make sure that I understand the rule going forward.

Here is what the feat states:

Core Rule Book, page 130 wrote:

Martial Weapon Proficiency: Choose a TYPE of martial weapon. You understand how to use that TYPE of martial weapon in combat.

Benefit: You Make attack rolls with the selected weapon (without the non-proficient penalty).

Normal: When using a weapon with which you are not proficient, you take a –4 penalty on attack rolls.

This is telling me to choose a TYPE of weapons. If you look on page 144 of the Core Rule book, under the Weapon Qualities section it states:

Core Rule Book, page 144 wrote:

TYPE: Weapons are classified according to the TYPE of damage they deal: B for bludgeoning, P for piercing, or S for slashing. Some monsters may be resistant or immune to attacks from certain types of weapons.

Some weapons deal damage of multiple types. If a weapon causes two types of damage, the type it deals is not half one type and half another; all damage caused is of both types. Therefore, a creature would have to be immune to both types of damage to ignore any of the damage caused by such a weapon.

In other cases, a weapon can deal either of two types of damage. In a situation where the damage type is significant, the wielder can choose which type of damage to deal with such a weapon.

Also if you look at the weapons chart, pages 142 and 143. The are three groups of weapons, simple martial, and exotic. And each group of weapons has the following qualities:

Quote:

Cost - DMG(S) - DMG(M) – Critical - Range – Weight - TYPE – Special

Here again the weapon has a Type: B for bludgeoning, P for piercing, or S for slashing.

If choosing this feat means you only choose one weapon, (like Longsword or Battle Axe), than the fighter really cleans house with 36 feats from the Core Rule Book, and 8 more from the Advanced Player’s Guide, at first level fighter.

Martial Weapon Proficiency (Axe, Throwing)
Martial Weapon Proficiency (Hammer, Light)
Martial Weapon Proficiency (Handaxe)
Martial Weapon Proficiency (Kukri)
Martial Weapon Proficiency (so on )

This is just an observation, not a criticism. My goal is to understand the rule.

Scarab Sages

Rule verification:

During the Pathfinder game last night there was a question about the Martial Weapons Proficiency feat. I took the Martial Weapon Proficiency (Slashing). My understanding is if I choose this feat I would choose a TYPE of weapon. The GM ruled that you only choose one weapon. I just want to make sure that I understand the rule going forward.

Here is what the feat states:

[quote = Core Rule Book, page 130]

Martial Weapon Proficiency: Choose a TYPE of martial weapon. You understand how to use that TYPE of martial weapon in combat.

Benefit: You Make attack rolls with the selected weapon (without the non-proficient penalty).

Normal: When using a weapon with which you are not proficient, you take a –4 penalty on attack rolls.

This is telling me to choose a TYPE of weapons. If you look on page 144 of the Core Rule book, under the Weapon Qualities section it states:

Core Rule Book, page 144 wrote:

TYPE: Weapons are classified according to the TYPE of damage they deal: B for bludgeoning, P for piercing, or S for slashing. Some monsters may be resistant or immune to attacks from certain types of weapons.

Some weapons deal damage of multiple types. If a weapon causes two types of damage, the type it deals is not half one type and half another; all damage caused is of both types. Therefore, a creature would have to be immune to both types of damage to ignore any of the damage caused by such a weapon.

In other cases, a weapon can deal either of two types of damage. In a situation where the damage type is significant, the wielder can choose which type of damage to deal with such a weapon.

Also if you look at the weapons chart, pages 142 and 143. The are three groups of weapons, simple martial, and exotic. And each group of weapons has the following qualities:

Core Rule Book page 142 wrote:

Cost - DMG(S) - DMG(M) – Critical - Range – Weight - TYPE – Special

Here again the weapon has a Type: B for bludgeoning, P for piercing, or S for slashing.

If choosing this feat means you only choose one weapon, (like Longsword or Battle Axe), than the fighter really cleans house with 36 feats from the Core Rule Book, and 8 more from the Advanced Player’s Guide, at first level fighter.

Martial Weapon Proficiency (Axe, Throwing)
Martial Weapon Proficiency (Hammer, Light)
Martial Weapon Proficiency (Handaxe)
Martial Weapon Proficiency (Kukri)
Martial Weapon Proficiency (so on )

This is just an observation, not a criticism. My goal is to understand the rule.

Scarab Sages

StrangePackage wrote:

I had a great time last night. Thanks to all of my players for the opportunity to run a game for you all. I hope you enjoyed it.

I will scan your sheets and get them to Dink in the near future to let him get the numbers all entrified.

Again, it was my pleasure to run for you all- you're one dedicated and talented group of gamers.

I had a great time!!! Thank You for running the game for us.

What I learned at Pathfinder game last night:

Don't jump on a box with a wand in your hand. You draw to much attention to yourself!!! They just might AXE you a question!

John

Scarab Sages

Thorynn wrote:
DevotedKnight wrote:

With this if mind, I propose the following as our group name,

A.P.G.

which stands for the Asheville Pathfinders Group.

I’m a member of the A.P.G.

The name does sounds cool and important.

John

ps are we going to get t-shirts?

Only problem with that is many people refer to the Advanced Players Guide as the APG. Could get a little confusing. I *do* like APL, and my brother works for a t-shirt company so we could get them at nearly cost if the was enough interest once we agree on a name/logo. It would be cool to represent at cons. We had a pretty big crew out at SCARAB! Who's going to StellarCon?

As for hillside... I leave you guys alone for 6 hours and the plan completely changes..... I couldn't be more thrilled. I really like Nate & crew. I bet he'll be surprised at the size of the mob coming thru his door.

Hi There! And how is everyone?

Yea, I see your point. :-)

A.P.C. Ashville Pathfinder Confederation

P.A.L. Pathfinders Asheville Lodge

A.P.S. Asheville Pathfinder Society

jOHN

Scarab Sages

My suggestion for our group name.

What we call ourselves as a group is important. Our name should reflect who we are and also reflect that we are sincere and worth of membership.

The most famous or infamous organizations have a three letters abbreviation,

For example:

F.B.I C.I.A. K.G.B. P.L.O I.R.A.

With this if mind, I propose the following as our group name,

A.P.G.

which stands for the Asheville Pathfinders Group.

I’m a member of the A.P.G.

The name does sounds cool and important.

John

ps are we going to get t-shirts?

Scarab Sages

How's everyone!

I vote for Hillside!

1) Plenty of free parking,
2) Plenty of room to spread out, large tables and plenty of chairs,
3) Lots of Gaming supplies, if you need something he has it!
4) Chinese restaurant next door,
5) And the most important, we will be supporting a gaming store. Nate is a really cool guy. He has supported me when I ran my game.

John

Scarab Sages

I will be there this Saturday

Are we playing a coffee WOrld?

Are we playing at 6:00pm?

Devotedknight the Gaming Lord of "Terra Nova"

Scarab Sages

Hey All! What's up!

Where is the meeting going to be? the same place as before, at the coffee shop!

Is it the same time?

DevotedKnight the Gaming Lord of "Terra Nova"

Scarab Sages

Edric Nansen wrote:

Okay folks, we have an event... PFS Asheville - "Bonus" Meeting.

I'll be running Citadel of Flame.

As of now we have confirmed players:

Aravandor
Eaghen (bringing a battlemat)
Luthril
Questioncontent

with Jake as "possibly".

Looking forward to seeing everyone on Saturday.

-Nansen

P.S. Kyle, that information was extremely helpful, thanks.

Hey All! What's up!

Where is the meeting going to be? the same place as before, at the coffee shop!

Is it the same time?

DevotedKnight the Gaming Lord of "Terra Nova"

Scarab Sages

EvilMinion wrote:
DevotedKnight wrote:
Can a wizard cast a cantrip at 0-level. This is important to determined to cost of an magic item.

Um... wouldn't that effectively make it free?

That's why cantrips are treated as 1/2 level for computing costs when constructing, so there is actually a cost.

A 0-level spell is treated as 1/2 a 1st level spell, If I cast a 0-level spell at 0-level, I’m assuming that the caster level would be 1/2 a 1st level. But the lowest level you can cast a spell at is 1st level. This is determined by looking at wand creation. A 0-level wand is casts at 1st level, and then any item creation must be cast at 1st level.

Thank You for helping

Scarab Sages

Can a wizard cast a cantrip at 0-level. This is important to determined to cost of an magic item.

Scarab Sages

These Scroll are called "Scrolls of Protection" and they come from D&D 1st edtion and Advanced D&D.

ShadowcatX wrote:

By the rules, it can't be done.

IMO, if you're wanting to make what amounts to a potion and just reskin it as a scroll, I'd make you actually make it as a potion (increased cost and feat tax included) and they can be your own special type of scrolls.

Scarab Sages

Hi There! And how are you?

I would like to create a special Magic Scroll using the create magic Item table. The magic spell inscribed on the Scroll would be the, “Protection from Evil”, which is a first level wizard. What makes this Magic Scroll special is that any character, regardless of class, can read the power word to activate the magic with in. I wish to achieve the same effect with a scroll as with a potion, except is scroll form.

I have the Scribe Scroll Feat, and know the “Protection from Evil” spell.

I wish to accomplished this by using the Single Use, Use Activated, instead to the Single Use, Spell Completion normally used for scrolls.

What is every ones opinion?

John


©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.