Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ

DM Immortal's page

2,399 posts. Alias of imimrtl.


1 to 50 of 2,399 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | next > last >>

You will be able to fire this coming round.

Next round!

The creeper spends this round gathering more vines to itself.

You all are up!

I'm not intending to do a ton on the social rp board. That is really mostly for you all to rp things that are not central to the story. Also having a good character mechanically is not mutually exclusive to having a good character backstory.That said I have no intention of continually saving you all. If I do this character it will be to help out and support the group not to take over the group and I think I'm permissive enough as a dm that that shouldn't be an issue at all. That said well see what happens. First you need to kill this f!%~ing monstrosity.

Sorry man I really don't like that this keeps happening to you. That said you are the only real true front line fighter. Maybe that's what I'll make. Some sort of meat shield for you for my dmpc.

ok so just use a reroll and not as hero point for the concentration check. You can have mirror image up when you fall. You are still going to suffer an aoo for leaving a threatened space but it will only be one for moving not the spell.

1 as always hits the person all other numbers hits an image: 1d6 ⇒ 1 g+#++~mit! That's a hit. This die roller f~%!ing hates you lately. So unless I've made a mistake somewhere that's 20 damage but I will say that occurs after the feather fall so you don't splatter on the deck.

I've always found elves a bit bony for my tastes. ;-)

sure that sounds reasonable. You need to roll concentration to cast defensively for your spells though as you will still be in range when they're cast.

The order will be cut vine begin to fall cast feather fall cast mirror image. You can't cast mirror image before you slow your fall. According to Jason buhlman falling provokes aoos. Sorry man

aoo on Variel: 1d20 + 16 ⇒ (15) + 16 = 312d6 + 12 ⇒ (2, 6) + 12 = 20

Horatio, you are reloading this round. You can fire again next round.

Sounds good Rain. Also, Seijiro when incorporeal you don't need to use acrobatics, you can float down to the ground fine without it.

FYI Variel, that is going to provoke an AoO as you are leaving a threatened space. The beak part of the creature has a 15' reach and as you fall you would be leaving a threatened space where he could attack you. Also with Feather Fall you fall at 60ft per round, you are 80 feet up so you will still be 20 feet up at the end of the round. Will that affect your actions?

Dhaavan all attacks missed from elementals.

Adular hits with a blast of searing light doing damage to the creature. The spiritual blade struck the vine but weakly, not doing enough damage to sever it.

He is 80 feet up and currently being snacked on.

There are tons of vines all over the place you could try and grab onto but no ledges or anything.

Var, the -2 exception is for combat maneuver checks to grapple or escape from a grapple, you can't attack to grapple or escape a grapple as far as I am aware so I think it just applies to CMB. That said, that is a miss.

Round 3

The plant monster draws Variel up to it's snapping beak and bites down viciously onto his torso. Beak attack and damage on Variel: 1d20 + 16 ⇒ (14) + 16 = 302d6 + 12 ⇒ (3, 5) + 12 = 20 grapple on Variel and fluid drain: 1d20 + 23 ⇒ (11) + 23 = 341d8 ⇒ 7

The other vine reaches down and tries to snag Seijiro. CMB vs Seijiro CMD, damage: 1d20 + 23 ⇒ (13) + 23 = 361d8 ⇒ 5 1 strength damage

Variel = grappled, 27 damage and 1 more strength damage
Seijiro = grappled, 5 damage and 1 more strength damage

You all are up!

Also don't forget the -2 to attack for grappled condition

Variel did you factor in the two strength damage into your attack?

Ok sounds good :-)

The vine holding rain shatters and she begins to fall to the deck of the ship. The 16 will remove 10 feet of damage but the other 20 is still going to do damage. All the other acrobatics checks have been over dc 20 so I was giving you all a break on that but 16 is too low to negate all the damage. That is unless someone feather falls you ;-)

2d6 ⇒ (4, 1) = 5 and you land prone. If you want to you can either use a move action to crawl at half speed or get up as you move, either way you won't be able to make it all the way to cover by the next round unless you are feather falled. If you are then you can go in the same room with Horatio.

were you attacking the vine or the main creature?

Those are awesome Adular!

A medium animated object has an AC of 14 which seems reasonable. We'll go with that.

I just realized that no where does it say what the fricken ac of the vines are. They are functioning like animated objects but I can't find what the AC should be. Anyone know?

Eek! A 12 probably is not gonna make it.

Variel begins to try and swing but can't get any momentum.

Ok I'm confused. Are you going to try and swing over to rain or are you going to cut your vine? I'll allow you to try and swing to her if you want to. Give me an acrobatics check and I will let you try.

Sounds good Horatio. You can open the door with your move action and then five foot step into the room. That will put you under cover.

Variel, I'm not even sure how to adjudicate a move like that lol. Can you move while grappled?

The musket hits against touch ac. Your bow included it's natural armor which is pretty substantial but it's touch ac sucks.

NM ninja'd by the ninja lol

lol ok sounds good. Won't happen immediately but it's something I'll think on.

Still misses Seijiro, sorry

Plants are not immune to crits so that is 44 damage! Nice shot!!!

Also you cannot get all the way to the hatch, you can get close but not all the way, and Variel's door is not usually open so it's not open now. You can open it with a move action but that will take your move. Also unless I am mistaken, you don't have rapid reload so to reload your musket takes a full round action.

I'm toying with the idea of bringing in a DMPC one level below you all as kind of a support character and wanted to get everyone's opinion on it. This would be someone that I have designed so I'd have a good idea of their voice and be able to play them a little better so I could have better interactions with you all. What do you all think?

Adular = miss

Dhaavan = you can hold your move that's fine

Seijiro = No damage from fall and miss for attack

Adular conjured scimitar swings but doesn't manage to generate enough momentum to pierce the fibrous exterior of the creature. Miss

Variel is able to draw his sword with extreme difficulty after dropping his bow, however the removal of blood from his pores has left him slightly lightheaded and he fumbles his casting of his spell. Shocking grasp fizzles but the other actions are fine.

Jiro, you don't need to use those actions for next round. I think you have already gone this round anyway.

Round 3

Variel continues to be squeezed and have his precious bodily fluids extracted and is now 60 feet in the air, the beak of the creature snapping eagerly for this succulent treat. Everyone knows elves are fresh and organic ;-)

CMB vs CMD and Damage to Variel: 1d20 + 23 ⇒ (8) + 23 = 311d8 ⇒ 3 damage and 1 strength damage

The two vines that no longer have anyone in their grasp, reach back down and snatch at those still visible. Which I think is only Seijiro and Rain

CMB vs CMD Rain and Seijiro: 1d20 + 23 ⇒ (4) + 23 = 271d20 + 23 ⇒ (5) + 23 = 28
Damage if successful, Rain and Seijiro: 1d8 ⇒ 11d8 ⇒ 1 and 1 strength damage to each and you are now 30 feet in the air.

You all are up!

Heading to bed will post more in the am

Awesome use of the Hero Point! That is perfect!

Dhaavan maybe it...VANISHED!!! lol


Rain's muscles swell dramatically as she lets out a roar like a grizzly bear, bursting the vine like it was made of lace. Falling down she lands like a cat on the upper deck of the ship.

Also I am just going to retcon that you do have a spell component pouch as you would know you need that as a spellcaster.

Horatio, I need you to declare an action even if it is only to hold action as you are the only one who has not gone yet.

HERO POINTS! READ WHAT THEY CAN DO! You are not helpless and you can use spells with Somatic Components while grappled if you have a hand free. Look 8 posts above this one

All you need is a component pouch and it'll have all free components in it.

for rain question: 1d20 + 12 ⇒ (7) + 12 = 19

Happy to help :-)

unfortunately no that was just for dramatic effect to show it doesnt have many hp left. You can keep the roll if you get out this round. Otherwise you will have to re roll.

Neko blasts the vine and it frays quite a bit but doesn't snap, it seems the fire did not do as much damage as it should have. You still have an action you can take yourself Rain.

NM just saw the errata from Sean Reynolds. You can cast while grappled but not grapplING unless you have grab or something like that. So somatic spells are fine if you make the concentration check and have a hand free. So Horatio, if you want to cast a spell you need to drop your musket and cast a spell without a material component unless you have eschew materials or it has no component or it is already in your hand.

From the PFSRD: Casting Spells while Grappled/Grappling: The only spells which can be cast while grappling or pinned are those without somatic components and whose material components (if any) you have in hand. Even so, you must make a concentration check (DC 10 + the grappler's CMB + the level of the spell you're casting) or lose the spell.

not all spells have somatic components. Also you have hero points and rerolls

you have another option. I'm not going to tell you what it is but if you look at your sheet there is something you haven't considered.

busy day today? ;-)

Nice shot Seijiro! Definitely hit!

1 to 50 of 2,399 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | next > last >>

©2002–2015 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.