|1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.|
This has been something that's been confusing for me for awhile, basically if you want to interact with an NPC and use a spell on them, how does that work if they save? Assuming that the spell isn't something offensive like Firebolt or which does damage.
1. If you cast something like Charm Person on somebody and they save, assuming they didn't see the spellcaster, do they think they're under attack? Do they even know a spell was cast on them? What if the spell is cast on them a second time? What if the ability is spell-like or supernatural, such as Bard's Fascinate or Witch's Slumber Hex?
2. If they do see the spellcaster but they do not properly identify the spell using spellcraft do they know you cast a spell on them? If they don't know what spell is on them but they do know the spellcaster cast at them do they know/interpret it as an attack? Can the spellcaster use Bluff to convince them a spell was not cast/directed at someone else?
3. What if they fail a save against something which is neither harmful, nor does it remove their mental faculties, but imparts some obvious disability, such as Slow, do they interpret it as an attack as well if there is no obvious spell caster?
4. At what point in any of the above would initiative be called and combat assumed to be started?