|Paizo Pathfinder® Paizo Games|
|About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ|
As to one of the secondary effects of the weapon...
"The effect also destroys non-artifact magic items with evil auras within 100 feet, though such an item protected by one of the leather suits receives a saving throw to resist destruction."
Has anyone come across a player that has had an item with an evil aura where this has come into question? I'm specifically concerned about players that might have
one of these items:
ocher rhomboid ioun stone from scenario 4-12 (not sure how they could be using that "inside" of the suit).
sihedron brand from 4-08 (not sure if this actually counts as an item or not)
<Magistry> Athansor wrote:
I think it only updates stars when a session is reported. I went to report a session and deleted the session without saving it and the stars updated. You might try that.
Accursed Halls seems to be counting for me now.
We Be Goblins and We Be Goblins Too seem to still not be being counted though (which accounts for the 10 missing credits for me).
My party was very unenthused to be babysitters, but I had a fighter whose backstory was specifically a former guard of House Lebeda and managed to convince him to come home 'parading the bandits to justice for the people to see'. The rest of the party gritted their teeth and made snarky remarks along the way.
Second group I ran this for did something very similar. Let him take all the credit for defeating the werewolf and discovering the bandit leader's identity.
Both groups I have run this for have discussed just leaving him in the trunk before even talking to him. One group considered putting him back in the trunk after letting him out.
Both groups wound up making him friendly in the end though. I rather enjoy seeing groups struggle with how to deal with this one.
When I run games, I try to make sure that at least I can read what is on the tracker and verify at the table if I cannot. I re-write any illegible handwriting.
I have seen some convention organizers enter trackers right there on the spot between sessions. That way you can detect any anomalies and get them fixed. Seems logical to me. On the other hand, why do anything today that you can always put off until tomorrow?
That is good information! Thanks Sior! I signed up to run the Season 3 special thinking I would get one out of the way but apparently not. That makes getting 10 specials all the more difficult. Not sure its worth the effort, actually.
Elvis Aron Manypockets wrote:
The level 1 repeatables saying that has been an issue for a long time. That is not a new "bug".
So, I throw a "pretty" cloak over my torturous actions and call it interrogation? Seems just as morally ambiguous.
How about the use of the "confess" spell? Seems like window dressing on an "enhanced" interrogation technique to me that they intentionally gave to a paladin archetype (Oath of Vengeance).
In terms of trample, it does not require the use of a charge (see overrun). You can trample them anyways. Choosing not to I guess is an option.
The group I ran this for had all seasoned players. Full table and 2 of them chose to play pre-gens (warpriest and swashbuckler). In fact the person playing the swashbuckler fell in love with dodging panache and claimed that they must make a swashbuckler now.
so many unspoilered spoilers in here, I dont know why I'm bothering but here goes:
Pyramid was dispatched via the use of a tanglefoot bag along with a failed reflex save. The small mounted cavalier with adamantine lance then charged and effectively "gutted" it.
The mimic took them by surprise. They were kind of irritated with the "auto grapple from the adhesive ability". Too bad, so sad. I knocked one player unconscious and grabbed and proceed to describe how it was licking its lips in anticipation of a meal (too bad it doesnt have swallow whole). I completely forgot about the fact that their weapons stuck to the mimic without a reflex save so I did make that fight easier than it should have been, oops.
They stealthed up to the chariot room and saw the skeleton archers but avoided being seen. They then proceeded to spend 20 minutes talking about strategy. This was a fascinating process to witness (although in hind sight I should not have let it go on for so long due to time constraints). They settled on "hide from undead", which the warpriest had prepared (no rules I know of say that a pre-gen cannot prepare new spells at the beginning of the next day). I thought it was genius personally.
The tough fight of course was the Pharaoh. He critted a monk in the first round taking him to within 3 points of death. The monk made his save verses mummy rot. I got two other hits off and both made their save (which made me happy because I didnt want to perma kill someones character with that nonsense).
What do you mean by "rotating pre-gen character sheets"?
Thank you. I'm going to FAQ that post.
Andrew Christian wrote:
I did reread it and thanks for the clarification. Still, I see no justification for claiming that an NPC casting of bless water persists past the end of the scenario as the rule is written.
The rule makes NO distinction between a spell cast by an NPC and a PC when determining whether or not it carries over past the scenario (so then your purchased holy waters expire at the end of the scenario too).
Plus bless water has an instantaneous duration which I would think does not apply to the rule.
Well hell, every magic item is created using some form of spell... so if that is true, then by the letter of the law your magic items should expire the scenario after they are purchased. :) I dont see how holy water created via a spell differs from say a belt of giant strength.
A really high take 10 is not overkill IMO. To get someone to reveal an important secret or provide dangerous aid is +10 to the DC. If the GM is applying all the modifiers appropriately, the DC can get pretty high.
I think I wound up with +35 diplomacy on my (now retired) sorcerer but that probably was overkill. I didnt really have any other feats I needed at level 11 though so I took skill focus.
I'm aware. I wont get to experience the final fight now (at least until I run it).
After having read it now, my interpretation of the tactics is to first get a dominate off then use confusion and other tactics to avoid melee combat. To me that does not mean cast confusion as a readied action as soon as the door opens (like my GM did).
PDF corrected? LOL. Funny guy.
Just played this with a barbarian, rogue, witch, inquisitor, fighter, and samurai. APL of 6.
The golem fight was tougher than expected due to disarm but we prevailed. The final fight with a greater invisibility level 11 bard with confusion and dominate person? Just too much. In round 1 I had rolled high enough perception to locate her and then the inquisitor played some kind of trick involving flour to make her visible. It didnt matter. By that point everyone in the party was confused and locked on another member of the party. We took each other out due to confusion lock. It was a slaughter. She took over 30 damage at the end, but it was too little, too late.
We had to pay for rescue party and raise dead. Two characters took permanent death. It was an all around ugly experience. It had noting to do with the judge. He ran the scenario masterfully. It was just a dumb encounter IMO.
Bob Jonquet wrote:
Ive seen nosig do something very similar, but with fender washers. Takes some effort to do all that printing, cutting, and gluing though.
Do the pawns boxes come with tokens (ones that lay flat)? I dont like the pawns themselves (which you stick on plastic bases). That is why I have been reluctant to buy them (well that plus the cost!).
Mini poker chips are awesome. Thanks for gifting that set to me nosig. I use letters on mine though rather than numbers.
I cant wait until we have mini hologram generators where I can just create the NPC on the fly when its needed rather than carrying around a tackle box full of miniatures. Of course by then will we still be playing this silly game?
According to the rules:
"A burst spell affects whatever it catches in its area, including creatures that you can't see. It can't affect creatures with total cover from its point of origin (in other words, its effects don't extend around corners). The default shape for a burst effect is a sphere, but some burst spells are specifically described as cone-shaped. A burst's area defines how far from the point of origin the spell's effect extends."
My question is, is a burst effect blocked by an illusory wall that the caster has not disbelieved?
Well, it sounds like YogoZuno plays in my area! Full disclosure, I play in the same area as nosig and quite frequently I play at his apartment. The main difference is that it's not a store policy that everyone who shows up gets to play, it is kind of ingrained into the philosophy of almost everyone who plays here. We will dynamically reconfigure what is being run if it means we can seat more (and hopefully all) who show up. If folks signed up in advance though and show up, we try to honor those games.
A few of us GMs do use warhorn but signups are very spotty at best. We will keep trying though.
As for 7 person tables, I leave it up to the players. As a GM, it is all the same to me. But as a player, it means you typically get to contribute less on average.
It would be nice if Mr. Brock could post that himself.