|24 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 3 people marked this as a favorite.|
A few years ago, I asked the following question, and after some FAQ clickage, it was marked as answered in the FAQ. Except, I don't see it in the FAQ. The question was born from questions about the tentacle discovery of the alchemist, and there is this FAQ, but it doesn't answer the main question I had, and one that comes up often enough. So, I am reposting the question and asking that others click the FAQ button. The main question is posted below, with some edits to make it less reliant on temporal context.
How do natural attacks an unarmed attacks interact for purposes of number of attacks per round?
And yes, the rules say that if you're using a manufactured weapon or unarmed strikes, you CAN use them in conjunction with natural attacks, "so long as a different limb is used for each attack."
The intent of that was to allow you wield a 1H weapon and make a secondary claw attack with your other hand, or to let you wield a 1H weapon and make a secondary bite attack with your mouth, or to let you wield a 2H weapon and make a secondary bite attack with your mouth.
The intent was to prevent you from making a full attack sequence with your natural attacks and a bunch of unarmed strikes by specifically defining your undefined unarmed strikes as conveniently different limbs than your natural attacks. Which is exactly what you're trying to do.
There are more posts in there going over it, but that's the main one.
The questions I have boil down to:
Does using natural attacks use up potential unarmed strikes? Can you make full attack with natural attacks and then use unarmed strikes in the same round? If so, under what circumstances? (Is it fine if you use tail whips as your natural attacks, but not fine if you use claw attacks?)
I think this would be a fine candidate for a new FAQ entry, as it seems to rely on an understanding most of us don't have, similar to the THF / TWF issue that came up in the past.
So, most wonderful and level-headed of people, please hit the FAQ button here so that perhaps we can finally lay this one to rest.