Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Halfling

Chaosthecold's page

Pathfinder Society Member. 65 posts (85 including aliases). No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 5 Pathfinder Society characters.



Andoran

Hi, I did a search of the messageboards about this item and an answer to my question did not turn up.

The item in question is the 'Cloak of the Dark Tapestry' from Pg. 55 of Gods and Magic

Cloak of the Dark Tapestry:
This dark hooded cloak is decorated with embroidered comets, moons, and stars along its edge. If you sleep while wearing the cloak, it protects you from hot or cold environments like an endure elements spell, and you may sleep in medium armor without becoming fatigued. You may use know direction once per day. If Desna is your patron, as a standard action you can cause additional stars and celestial bodies to appear on the cloak, matching the current configuration in the sky. You may use longstrider once per day. Once per day, you may throw a tiny, white-burning meteor that has the effect of a flare. Some priests of Desna claim to have cloaks of this type that also
allow them to dimension door once per day when under a starry night sky.

I hope with a pricetag of 2,500 bucks that this cloak unless specifically stated on a chronicle sheet DOES NOT come with the Dimension Door ability. There is nothing on it in the 'Additional Resources' except that it's allowed.

The question is, do all purchased cloaks have the dimension door ability?

Andoran

Played a mod this past weekend, was killed during it. Got home from the convention and reviewed the scenario... Monster that killed me hit me 5 times in one round one of which was a critical hit for a total of 147 points of damage. After reviewing the stat block I noticed that something was off, as 147 was the maximum damage the monster could have done rolling max on all attacks (including max rend and assuming power attack which did not happen.

Is it possible for anything to be done after the fact? I assume it was just a judge accidental mathematical error. I had no reason to suspect foul play during the scenario so why would I question it at the table?

Andoran

Are any of the additional resource animal companions available for Rangers(Non Archetyped)? Or are we still stuck with the short list?

I REALLLLY want my Halfling Ranger to ride a giant gecko....

Thanks

Andoran

Do animal companions get max HP for their first HD?

Thanks

Andoran

Putting this in the PFS thread specifically because any answer I get in the regular rules forum is just going to be 'its up to your GM' and that doesn't really fly in PFS.

Expanded Repertoire (Ex): At 2nd level and every four levels thereafter, a magician can add one spell to his spells known from the spell list of any arcane spellcasting class. The spell must be of a level he can cast. This ability replaces versatile performance.

Is there anything stopping you from taking Haste as a 2nd level spell off the summoner list? It doesn't seem to be against the RAW of the ability but I do admit it's a bit lame.

Andoran

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Expanded Repertoire (Ex): At 2nd level and every four levels thereafter, a magician can add one spell to his spells known from the spell list of any arcane spellcasting class. The spell must be of a level he can cast. This ability replaces versatile performance.

Is there anything stopping you from taking Haste as a 2nd level spell off the summoner list? It doesn't seem to be against the RAW of the ability but I do admit it's a bit lame.

Andoran

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Power Attack
Prerequisites: Str 13, base attack bonus +1.

Benefit: You can choose to take a –1 penalty on all melee attack rolls and combat maneuver checks to gain a +2 bonus on all melee damage rolls. This bonus to damage is increased by half (+50%) if you are making an attack with a two-handed weapon, a one handed weapon using two hands, or a primary natural weapon that adds 1-1/2 times your Strength modifier on damage rolls. This bonus to damage is halved (–50%) if you are making an attack with an off-hand weapon or secondary natural weapon. When your base attack bonus reaches +4, and every 4 points thereafter, the penalty increases by –1 and the bonus to damage increases by +2. You must choose to use this feat before making an attack roll, and its effects last until your next turn. The bonus damage does not apply to touch attacks or effects that do not deal hit point damage.

Lance
Benefit: A lance deals double damage when used from the back of a charging mount. While mounted, you can wield a lance with one hand.

Im curious as to if this as been FAQ'd because as it stands a direct reading of that is you are wielding a two handed weapon in one hand while mounted. (thus giving you -1 for +3 with PA).

Andoran

Question in regards to Power Attacking with TWF. I see two possible readings of how this feat works with two-weapon fighting...

Prerequisites: Str 13, base attack bonus +1.

Benefit: You can choose to take a –1 penalty on all melee attack rolls and combat maneuver checks to gain a +2 bonus on all melee damage rolls. This bonus to damage is increased by half (+50%) if you are making an attack with a two-handed weapon, a one handed weapon using two hands, or a primary natural weapon that adds 1-1/2 times your Strength modifier on damage rolls. This bonus to damage is halved (–50%) if you are making an attack with an off-hand weapon or secondary natural weapon. When your base attack bonus reaches +4, and every 4 points thereafter, the penalty increases by –1 and the bonus to damage increases by +2. You must choose to use this feat before making an attack roll, and its effects last until your next turn. The bonus damage does not apply to touch attacks or effects that do not deal hit point damage.

(This one is my interpretation on how this feat works.) You are declaring whether or not you PA at the start of your full attack. If you are making an attack with an off-hand then you only get the 50% bonus on all attacks made that round. (Since the feat doesnt clarify that the 50% only applies in the off-hand. It just states you only get 50% of the bonus if you are making an attack with the offhand).

This still gives the advantage to someone who is wielding a two-handed weapon or a one-hander in two hands, but that has always been the case with this feat.

Any input?

Andoran

There seems to be a bit of confusion between two gaming groups that operate in my area. I was hoping for this to be cleared up although the answer seems clear to me.

When you eat a scenario (judging it without playing it), you receive full credit to apply to a character as in the PFS campaign guide. It seems pretty clear on how that works.

We have some people who believe that you can play a scenario AND run a scenario and get credit it for it twice (Albeit on a different character.) Is this some new ruling? Or are they just they misinterpreting?

Andoran

Could someone point me in the correct direction. If the Sehidron rings make you immune to the effects of the Occlusion field does that mean it also allows you to teleport around xin-shalast? If so where do you find such info?

Andoran

This is the first of the Pathfinder adventure paths that my group has played. We are not new to DnD in any way. Some of us playing since 1st edition. We jumped into Rise of the Runelords using just the Core books (MM,PHB and DMG) as sources. Thinking that using the other sources would make the game too simple. We have almost completed the Adventure path and are quite happy. Frankly, most of us are tired of the poor design, and the made up creatures that are absurd.

A CR 12 creature... that casts spells as a 12th level cleric with +14 natural armor? 6 of them... Also they have a touch attack that has no save for Wisdom DRAIN? Show me another creature like that? The authors also just have a poor understanding of the 3.5 edition game. (In one mod stating someone could flurry and two weapon fight which is explicitly wrong.) And just taking MM creatures and changing their abilities to be more powerful. (The Lamias for example.)

Some of us are even getting worried about playing the second adventure path.

Please tell me that it gets better from here?


©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.