So a scenario played out last night in the RotR game I'm GMing that originally ended with one dead player but was rewound due to a curious turn of events.
RotR Chapter 2 Spoilers:
So it's Chapter 2 and the PCs are desperately trying to follow Iesha as she makes a beeline for Aldern. Everything's going ok until they get pincered by the goblin ghasts and the 4 ghouls from the side passage. I allow certain standing orders as I'm aware that my players, playing only once a week, can forget things that their characters, who live the adventure never would. The character (a sohei/rogue) in question has the Sihedron medallion and has a standing order that he activates the False Life effect when he reaches 50% health, unless he tells me otherwise. The PCs have fought the ghouls from the farms and made high Know(religion) checks, so they were familiar with the ghoul tactic of CDG on a paralyzed target.
So the PC gets paralyzed by a ghast for 2 rounds. His turn comes and goes, and then a ghoul shifts in and starts a CDG, but is split in half by the Oracle's AoO. Another ghoul then shifts into range and completes the CDG (no combat reflexes on the Oracle) but only rolls 6 damage. Even so, the rogue fails the 16 Fort save, and that appears to be that.
However, directly after the combat, as I'm assuring the player that the character can be rezzed easily enough and that he can help me during the short time his character will be down, the player playing the sorcerer mentions the False Life effect. This is obviously one of those situations where the character would have thought to try this last ditch gambit, even though none of us, myself included, had.
After some rules digging and conversation, I can't find any reason to say that activating the False Life effect is anything but a purely mental action. Even if the roll was minimum, that would be 6 temp hp, which would have completely absorbed the damage in the first place. Since the rogue never actually took damage, I ruled that there was no system shock, and so no Fort save was needed. The rogue lives yet again (this is not the first time he's been on death's door.)
While I'm confident in my ruling and am not likely to change it, I'm curious as to what others would rule given their interpretation of the rules at play here. If the damage from a CDG fails to pierce a temp hp shield or even DR, do you think the creature should still have to make a Fort save or die, and why would you rule that way? If you do, what should that DC be and why?
GM here. To clarify AFM is not planning on bringing everything the party owns with them in this project. It is primarily a loot transport tool, for getting items from dungeon to sale, and making sure that if they have to retreat and rest they do not leave any particularly strong (read, magical) equipment for any remaining enemies to scavenge and use against them again.
I personally endorse the idea, as it evokes Pratchett's hilarious sapient pearwood Luggage. We're just trying to iron out how much it should cost, what the dimensions would be, suggestions to improve it, and if there is anything we've overlooked.
The Oracle in the party also has close ties to Pharasma, so undead are right out.
For instance, MP IV into a Grimlock.
RAW seems to support Scenario 2. Is there any evidence I'm overlooking to favor Scenarios 1 or 3?
Malachi Silverclaw wrote:
So, just to be sure, you're agreeing with Detect Magic?
Considering Spell Combat already is inconsistent in that it allows a Magus to do something no other class in the game can (essentially make a full attack while casting a standard action spell), I think the loss of a single attack from Haste is small peanuts, personally.
Detect Magic wrote:
To back up Detect Magic, there's also historical context for a 2 handed grip on a lance before the vamplate was developed.
James, I've got a question that I would greatly appreciate your input on.
My group is running RotR, and last game defeated Nualia. They have a habit of taking enemies alive for information, and so while waiting for her to regain consciousness, they discovered her journals and learned her story. A significant portion of them now sympathize with her past and are dead set on trying to redeem her. I'm at a complete loss as to how to deal with it. Is she too far gone to Lamashtu? What would you suggest?
And as always, thanks very much for your time.
Would I do better overall if I retrained into falchions or something? While I would hit for less overall damage on a crit, I would crit a fair deal more often.
The math has been done on this question several times, and iirc, a x4 weapon and an 18-20/x2 weapon have the same DPR (assuming similar weapon damage die, which scythe and falchion have). The greater threat range becomes more of a boon when you start having effects that you can apply on critical hits (the Critical Feat tree), but your damage output will always be so close (on average) as to be negligible.
I'm pretty sure Daemons were (initially at least) just a renaming of the Yugoloths of DnD, since that term wasn't OGL. But they could have picked a more appropriate term, you're right about that.
EDIT: Hilariously enough, a wiki search reveals that Daemons are a return to the original DnD name for the creatures, which were later rebranded Yugoloths. Learned something new today.
Even if it worked, Dirty Tricks are specifically called out as penalties that can be overcome by spending a move action. So it doesn't seem to be a terribly good use of time when Blinded will give you almost the same thing for less actions.
Edit: Unless you had GDT, as above poster mentioned. Which would then put it in the realm of probably too good. There's also nothing in the general terminology of Sickened that automatically makes the condition stack into Nauseated. So I'm pretty sure the ability would have to specifically state that they could stack to produce Nauseated.
I have a group of players in about the same place and I can say Thistletop is probably one of the most dangerous dungeons I've ever GMed. My group did very well, until the Yeth Hounds. One member each failed to their Bay attack, with the oracle/fighter getting 6 rounds of panicked and the witch 4. It was only through a clever use of herding those two players into the Tentamort's hunting grounds and defending in the two bottle necks against a CR 10 encounter (the bays alerted, Lyrie, Nualia & her 3rd yeth hound, Orik [who I took pity on the party on as he decided this was a prime distraction to slip away and make his way to Korsova on], and Bruzthalmus.
They did manage an epic escape with only the Oracle going negative (and thanks to his Die Hard from Unbreakable, not going unconscious) as they leapt in the ocean, managing to hide long enough that the yeth hounds were called off. They then limped back to Sandpoint and rested, and are now level 4, which is good because they'll need it against the now-on-alert remainder of the forces.
TL; DR, Thistletop is a player deathtrap.
The problem is that RAW *is* your only reason to deny their resistance to environmental damage. As Wraithstrike pointed out, it even calls out *fire* as being *an extreme in temperature that deals lethal damage.* There is no rationalization you can give to deny energy resistance works against nonlethal environmental damage other than "it's RAW."
Tieflings are Outsider(native), not Humanoid(x), which is why Enlarge Person does not work.
As for this nonsense about losing body fluids, it's just that, nonsense. Heat is heat. Damage done to you is through an increase (or decrease in the case of cold) in temperature, weather it's nonlethal (because it doesn't directly kill body tissue yet) or otherwise. Resistance is more than just "my skin doesn't burn." Your entire biology is geared to be able to withstand a certain degree of temperature (as represented by the number resisted). I'm fine with people using RAW, just don't try to pretend it makes sense. Because it doesn't.
It starts making even less sense if you bring Elementals into the mix. An entity whose natural plane of existence is a never ending inferno with only a few outposts of "normal" temperatures (such as the City of Brass) is still susceptible to heat stroke? Please.
Diego Rossi wrote:
An interesting tangent to that quote is the fact that back when I first started getting into weight lifting a few weeks ago, I was able to correlate deadlift weight into a rough estimate of in game Str score based on the carrying capacity table. A deadlift pretty much fits the definition of "Lift Off Ground" (can pick it off the ground but not over the head, only stumble around 5 feet per six seconds while holding it)and a 200 lb deadlift will put you at a whopping 10 Str. I know a lot more people that can standing broad jump 5 feet than deadlift 200 lbs.
I think what made Pugwampis *so* unfun for my players, and slightly for me, is that given their power level, they primarily only serve to lengthen a combat that is pretty much already decided. I mean, they still can't hit the broad side of a barn, and so barring any crazy home rules like your fumble example, they just lengthen combat, but not necessarily make it more lethal. It turns "oh man this is serious" into "this is a pain the ass." And no one likes those combats.
Can a Thessalonian Specialist benefit from "Opposition Research" Discovery??
Short Answer: No.
Thassilonian Specialist wrote:
...A Thassilonian Specialist can never prepare a spell that is in one of his prohibited schools—he treats these spells as if they were not on the wizard spell list.
Opposition Research wrote:
Select one Wizard opposition school; preparing spells of this school now only requires one spell slot of the appropriate level instead of two, and you no longer have the –4 Spellcraft penalty for crafting items from that school.
It's not harder for you to prepare opposition school spells as a TS, the spells are actually no longer even on your list. It's impossible to learn them. Therefore OS does nothing.
There's a reason Blood Money is only found in one spellbook in the entirety of RotR. In the right hands it's possibly the most broken spell in the game.
There's a reason every Thug build I've ever seen focuses on Enforcer and not Cornugon Smash. Enforcer is unique in that if you succeed at the Intimidate check, you make the target shaken for a number of rounds equal to the damage dealt. That makes it incredibly easy to meet the 4 round mininmum to instead make the target frightened. In order to do the same thing with Cornugon Smash, you'd have to beat the Intimidate DC by 15+ (1 round for beating the DC +1 round per 5 you exceed). It's not impossible, but it's just so much easier to do with Enforcer.
EDIT: I just remembered the Thug's 1 round increase to shaken. That makes it only the DC+10 to get to the magic 4 rounds, which is more manageable, but still, Enforcer makes it a foregone conclusion.
Seeing as how this is in the Rules Questions forum, you need more than just "I disagree because I don't like it" to back up your assertions. People want evidence not opinions.
I, Wraithstrike, and several others have both shown how DM detecting Invis is both RAW, RAI, and not an optimal way to counter the spell.
Seriously, it's a concentration duration cone that takes 3 rounds to actually find something. It's not a game breaker.
I agree with your GM as well. I'd never let Detect Magic detect an illusion. An invisible person is invisible because they have a mind effecting enchantment that makes you not notice them.
No matter your stance on DM and Invis, this is patently wrong. If it were true, Invisibility would be Enchantment (mind-affecting), not Illusion (glamer).
Being able to pinpoint a creature that's invisible after 3 rounds of concentration (not negating the 50% miss chance, still can't hit them with a targeted spell) isn't terribly broken. And if the creature gets outside of the cone? Those 3 rounds start over.
DM is not a great counter to Invis. Let's stop pretending like it is.
Despite the absolute hate some people have over the fact that there are acts that are evil in and of themselves, as Heaggles pointed out the Blood Drinker feat says in black and white that feeding on unwilling intelligent evil creatures is an evil act. It also says that the target must be alive when the Dhampir feeds off of it. Which means no killing and drinking.
At the very least her behavior indicates a selfishness indicative of CN. By no means are her actions good, according to the rules.
Your friend is correct.
Historically, no one in existence has ever been a 20th level alchemist with a 38 Int. You're talking 3rd level Expert, tops, and maybe a 20.
Channeling follows the burst rules for AoE. So there needs to be an unbroken line of effect between the channeler and the person to be healed. An open door on its own would not block a channel, but positioning might.
In the above extremely crude diagram, a channel energy used by either 0 would hit the other.
In this second case, there is a broken line of effect, and so a Channel used by either 0 would not hit the other 0.
Damocles Guile wrote:
Then you're in for a treat my friend. Pathfinder did away with that silly nonsense of 1 SA per round. Every time a rogue attacks, if he meets the conditions of fulfilling a SA (target denied Dex or flanked) he gets to add SA damage to every hit he makes. Hunter's Surprise is designed for those cases when you really, really need a full attack SA but can't get into position for one.
For the record, you could grab the Enforcer feat instead of Cornugon Smash. It's got less requirements (except it ONLY works with Nonlethal Damage) and does the same thing, except you aren't required to use Power Attack.
You know, I could have swore I saw Enforcer in the build, but you're right it's not there.
Enforcer only works on nonlethal, it's true, however if you succeed at the Intimidate check, you make the opponent shaken for 1 round per point of damage you dealt them, instead of 1 round +1 per 5 you beat the DC by. It's insanely good if you're building an demoralize style character (which you, OP, appear to be).
If a creature somehow manages to pass the CDG save or die (trust me, it won't happen on anything but a nat 20), being knocked out by nonlethal is not the same as being put magically to sleep. Such a creature can only become conscious if its nonlethal damage is reduced under its current hp. So CDG away.
This scenario came up with one of my players prepping for Rise of the Runelords. I honestly have no RAW to back up my decision, as it's incredibly vague. I did decide that you can only deal lethal damage with a gauntlet. However, since UAS is not limited to just fists, the character in question (a monk) could deal nonlethal with other parts of his body.
In the end this ruling does make it harder to deal nonlethal to creatures with DR, but I couldn't see any reason to justify allowing a gauntlet, which is there to change a person's damage from nonlethal to lethal, could deal nonlethal without penalty.
YMMV, and someone may have more info that invalidates my stance.
JJ also mentioned that if it served the greater storytelling aspect, he sees no problem doing something similar to what you appear to have done (make it "appear" destroyed by an ambiguous means [falling off a tower, being crushed under a roof] only to come back later.)
Rise of the Runelords Spoiler:
Just remember that once Aldern is destroyed Iesha will be immediately destroyed as well.
I asked JJ about this a long time ago, and he said that while the wording of that ability is admittedly a bit vague, it was intended that you are still able to destroy a Revenant by reducing its hp to 0, just like any other undead. The ability was originally intended to just clarify that once a revenant's murderer is slain, the revenant immediately is immediately destroyed, no ifs ands or buts.
Pay close attention to the rules for Summon Monster. Creatures summoned cannot use SLAs that mimic spells with expensive material components. It doesn't matter that the SLA itself doesn't have a material component. The spell it mimics does, which prevents the creature from using it unless you use a Calling effect, like Planar Binding.
In Moonscar, there's a Greater Shadow Demon possessing a Gold Dragon, who doesn't die if the SD is forced from her body. I know some modules are notorious for having rules errors, though, so I dunno.
Ramza Wyvernjack wrote:
I'm 90% sure as well that Furious Focus is referring to the special duration fatigue that Barbarians get for ending a Rage, which is only a number of rounds equal 2x the number of rounds spent in rage. Which would be 2 rounds. Hardly a penalty for 311 damage.
Nudel's probably my favorite of your insane character builds, simply for Behemoth Hippo form.
Having a patron deity is irrelevant to an Oracle's power, that's why you're an Oracle and not a Cleric. They are imbued with power by their Mystery, which is relevant to a few gods, but they are not beholden to those gods to use their power: an oracle can have no god at all and still pick any Mystery they want. Your character's power is derived from Battle, which is closely tied to Gorum, but that does not make him your patron deity. The one you worship is your patron deity, and does not, in and of itself, confer any sort of power. Note the many fighter worshipers of Cayden Caileen.
In short, nothing about your character's concept is against RAW, or in my opinion, even RAI.
Summoned creatures can't use SLAs that mimic spells with an expensive material component in Pathfinder unless you provide that component, Ashiel. Was a bigger rude awakening to me than the inability to use their teleport.
Edit: Actually, in rereading the spell description while writing this response, I noticed that it simply flat out prevents the casting of any SLA that mimics a spell with an expensive material component. You can't even provide one for the monster, it appears. How droll.