Black_Lantern wrote:level 5 cleric ... a high-CR, 18 HD creature under his controls such as the Ice Linnorm?
Why did you give him a corpse?
If he killed the CR 18 in his party, then let him. If you dropped a corpse on him, it is the GM's fault.
That's why it's a hypothetical question. I'm wondering how I should handle a character going around grave digging for strong skeleton corpses.
At first, I was asking if there was any rules that I didn't know about, but now I want to know what would be fair for me to give a necromancer while not being too overpowered. Telling me that there are roleplaying repercussions doesn't help me balance his options and it assumes that every campaign setting will look at necromancers in the same light. I really want this necromancer character to work for him, but I'm not quite sure what I should initially allow him to raise in terms of HD.