|Paizo Pathfinder® Paizo Games|
|About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ|
*backfoot headscratch* I don't think the +1 applies at all. So no double dipping, you're not allowed in the pool.
They'll be out in the middle of the day if there's food, when they're cubs, or when the family is working over time to care for the kits, or if they're sick to the point that they stop caring about people (like a lot of manged foxes)
If we get a dark rainy day where all the humans are inside a lot of nocturnal critters will put in a few extra hours.
A few rules around critters are in flux right now so this is going to be a lot more maybe than anything else.
If you were to make a classic raptor rider type character, how would you go about that? Which dinosaur would you flavor to equate that? I noticed the allosaurus is illegal and that would have been my go to. Are there any other good options to proxy in? Which class do you think would best emulate it? Is Druid really the only option for that?
beast rider cavalier, mad dog barbarian.
2. Do you need special gear to ride an Amargasaurus? Logically, how would that work, with the spines running down its back? Would you require a side mounted carriage? Would this make you vulnerable to attacks from medium sized opponents? What about a Stegosaurus?
saddles looks like something they're trying to change the rules on in the new season, but...
Edit: double checked additional resources Pathfinder Roleplaying Game: Bestiary 6 **
Animal Companions: The amargasaurus, deinotherium, devil monkey, dunkleosteus, elasmotherium, giant raven, gigantosaurus, kentrosaurus, quetzalcoatlus, and titanoboa are all legal for play.
Amargasaurus is legal.
The saddle is a legal slot
Saurian (armor, belt [saddle], chest, eyes, head, headband, neck): Alligator, crocodile, amargasaurus, ankylosaurus, brachiosaurus, dimetrodon, kaprosuchus, kentrosaurus, stegosaurus, giant chameleon, giant gecko, megalania, monitor lizard
So it can wear a saddle (probably an exotic one)
3. Do we know what the official reason is for why some dinosaurs are not allowed? I assume some like Diplodocus and Allosaurus were OP somehow but other options seem odd. Notably, the modest Iguanodon and Parasaurolophus are out.
No. You can only speculate (but not all speculation is off..)
The diplodocus prefers to attack with its tail. The dinosaur can snap its incredibly long tail with surprising speed like an enormous whip—this is a primary attack that deals bludgeoning and slashing damage. A diplodocus can make two separate attacks with its tail lash as a full-attack action.<--- only reason i can think of for the diplo. (i think the design team counts on hold still and full attack scenarios a lot more than I see them happening)
The Amargasaurus looks too good at fourth level.
The allosaurus is the best one bit dino by a large margin.
... I am at a complete loss as to the Parasauralophus not being legal. Too many yup yup yup jokes?
4. On a more general Pathfinder and not just PFS question. Is there a reason why Sauropods don't get to use their claws in combat? I find it strange that Brachiosaurus' mammal equivalent, Baluchitherium, gets to stomp its enemies, but Brachiosaurus, who actually has a wicked claw on each front foot, doesn't get to do the same.
is this a new thing? First i'm hearing about it.
5. Not just pertaining to dinosaurs I suppose, but are huge mounts worth armoring? Or should you focus instead on a high ride to get around their AC issues with Mounted Combat? Or some other tactic, perhaps, to keep them alive?
Most companions don't get bigger than large without the mammoth rider prestige class. Generally light armor is worth it , but the diminishing retuns per feat in getting light armor (gaining+ ac for 3k) medium armor , and heavy armor make it less than ideal.
Lau Bannenberg wrote:
Venture-Lieutenant, Netherlands—Leiden These rules only provide
No. They provide for it. Thats not all they provide for.
Deliver Touch Spells (Su): If the master is 3rd level or higher, a familiar can deliver touch spells for him. If the master and the familiar are in contact at the time the master casts a touch spell, he can designate his familiar as the “toucher.” The familiar can then deliver the touch spell just as the master would. As usual, if the master casts another spell before the touch is delivered, the touch spell dissipates.
I don't see how its more limited than weapon finesse. Just make the touch with the claw.
Lau Bannenberg wrote:
Yeah. A lot of tiny critters get Weapon Finesse, but all familiar can use Dex to hit with natural attacks.
Mike brock had ruled that if your familiar traded out weapon finesse that they had that the familiar could no longer do that (which was really weird, glad to see that thats been overturned)
What's unclear to me is if when you deliver a touch spell with a natural attack (so using "familiar finesse") it's an attack against touch or regular AC. It looks like it would be regular AC but also inflict natural attack damage.
I believe the familiar has the option of attacking using a touch spell against touch ac or attacking with a natural attack and triggering the touch spell as part of the hit, same way any other creature does. A touch spell is definitely a touch attack and can use dex (its part of being a familiar, and via this ruling is restored to all PFS familiars), attacking normally would probably use strength unless the creature had another ability, go against regular ac, and be a really bad idea.
Marc Radle wrote:
"Going back to winterfel and being Arya's puppy again" isn't who she is now.
Which probably means Arya's going to turn south and head for Kings Landing.
Bronx zoo, at the Gorllia exhibit. little 4-6 year old girl points up at me and out of nowhere says "guy in glasses could be gorrlia"
She must say things like that a lot. The parents didn't even look at each other. They both snagged her by the wrists and walked off.
Working at the wolf center, one of the girls on the tour sees me, says "You look like Hagrid!" The parents try to shush her. I tell them it's fine, he's my favorite character. And I kind of have his job...
David M Mallon wrote:
Its not the years its the mileage
pH unbalanced wrote:
If someone is running a pregen, I will calculate APL twice. The first time is without the pregen, and is used to figure out what level pregen to run. (This keeps someone from running a 4th level pregen in a 1-5 with a bunch of level 2 & 3 characters, and inadvertently pushing the APL to high tier.) The second time is including the pregen, and this is the official calculation used to determine the tier of play.
Can those ever be different or do we have schrodingers pregen?
Can i retrain my "muscle of the society" trait and sell back my pack mule at full cost?
A party of 3 (Tom, Marry, Sue)+ a pregen being run by the DM* is a party of 4 and uses the four player adjustment.
A party of 3 (Tom, Marry, Sue) + a pregen being run by Bob is a party of 4 and uses the four player adjustment.
A party of 4 (Tom, Marry, Sue, Billy)+ a pregen being run by Bob is a party of 5. That pregen is no different than any other character
*ostensibly. The dm can hand control over to someone because he's got enough going on as it is, but someone still has their own character in the game isn't tied to the pregen.
Michael Haneline wrote:
There's two totally different things going on here. Lets not combine them.
One is that they look like they're trying to change how slots work on animal companions for the new season. As with any time they change the rules they will change the rule, they will clarify the change, then clarify the clarification , and then clarify the clarification to the... you get the idea. This will bork a few things in the process.
So, right now, I don't think anyone has any idea how familiars are going to work with armor in a month. Its not deliberate its just what happens when there's a big rules change.
Hating AC's must be a local/regional thing. I don't think I've ever seen that
Which might be possible, but the point of magical item slots on critters was always that they lacked the anatomy for the thing to go on and thats why they couldn't wear them. Snakes can't just not inherently connect with the orthographical oneness of magical armor you just can't get armor on a snake.
Gary Bush wrote:
Barding is not an off-the-rack item.
Nothing is really an off the rack item. Its a pre industrial society.And not every armor is custom fitted plate mail. Toss on a sweater toss on some chainmail and you're good to go. If you have too much at the feast they can let it out for you pretty easily.
LOL, no the straps and buckles alone do not double the base cost. My point is that there is likely a lot to consider when making barding for larger+ creatures.
I did not object to more mithral costing more. I objected to the non humanoid portion costing you twice as much special material, on TOP of the extra cost for more mithral and on top of the non humanoid body shape fee you already pay in the base price.
We play in a fantasy setting that does not directly equal our real world.
Arbitrary and ridiculous rules that are spelled out are one thing. (and this is what i think is ticking me off the most about this ruling) but ridiculous and arbitrary solutions to rules gray areas that exist for years undermine sense itself, which you need to fill in tons of gaps and gray areas. Every single rules question i see now i need to bite down the urge to say "well gods know how they want to actually resolve it ..."
Michael Haneline wrote:
Which brings me back to my original question. If you have a familiar capable of wearing armor but who hasn't taken the item slot feat, is it illegal in PFS to cast magic vestment on their mundane armor?
Lets give that answer time to percolate a little bit before building off of it.
Linda Zayas-Palmer wrote:
If you have a saddle or armor slot, you can definitely wear mundane saddles or armor without taking Extra Item Slot.
So you can put your weasel familiar in a suit of adorable tiny plate armor, you just can't enchant it unless they swap out their feat?
Thomas Hutchins wrote:
... they are either making this incredibly weird or explaining it very poorly.
Full suit of plate armor on a weasel: no problem
Enchant it... ERKS! It won't go on....
Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.