Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Wolf

BigNorseWolf's page

RPG Superstar 7 Season Dedicated Voter. FullStarFullStarFullStarFullStar Pathfinder Society GM. 24,332 posts (25,359 including aliases). 15 reviews. 4 lists. No wishlists. 27 Pathfinder Society characters. 3 aliases.


RSS

1 to 50 of 24,332 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | next > last >>
Shadow Lodge ****

ITS NOT A TUMA...oh. wait. Yes it is. Carry on

Shadow Lodge ****

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Akigawa Kobayashi wrote:

Off-topic musing:

Actually, I can think of one way to (legally) make a yellow tengu.

** spoiler omitted **

There's also mention that tengu dye their feathers so the mammals can tell them apart, so thats another possibility. Corvus dyes himself blue for the fancy andoran meetings

Shadow Lodge

_Ozy_ wrote:

Mindchemist Cognatogen?

And it would be two extra languages for the +4.

No, temporary int bonuses don't do that. Permanent ones do

Shadow Lodge

2 people marked this as a favorite.

Please. Nigerian princes look in my bank account and feel so bad they actually DO leave money.

Shadow Lodge ****

Its not just the players. DMs can throw curve balls too

Shadow Lodge ****

Also, if you're going to go with any condition to an animal companion being a condition you need to clear, you die when it does, because its almost impossible to get it back with the same number of tricks it had.

Shadow Lodge ****

Jared thaler wrote:
No, I believe they have to clear conditions. This is a condition. If you come to my table with an uncleared condition from a previous table, I will make you clear it.

They retroactively get an animal companion in between sessions.

Mayfly XXIV is sent to attack something in the back way out of his league.

Mayfly XXIV dies.

The powers kick on.

Shadow Lodge ****

Jared Thaler wrote:

Well, I am not a jerk. I would inform them that their GM was mistaken, and they need to take an AC, not just auto dead them.

I agree, auto deading someone would be excessive.

But thats not quite the case. You BELIEVE that they need to take another AC. Your position seems to be in the minority. You're trying to make a ruling for things that are largely not at your table: the table from before you and the table after and you really don't have the grounds to do that. Nothing they're doing is blatantly illegal. Auto deading people isn't just "Excessive" you simply can't do it. Trying to impose a contentious ruling on other tables is also outside of your purview.

You are trying to take that step for no purpose as far as i can determine. the hunter can just send Mayfly XXIV into combat and get the reward they're after.

Shadow Lodge ****

Short answer yes

Longer answer: At level 2 on all DM credit you're not so much "rebuilding" as just building : everyone's character is a complete ball of protoplasm till they're played

Shadow Lodge ****

Jared Thaler wrote:


I think this is the second or third time you and I have debated this topic. We failed to reach agreement last time also. We have both made our cases at this point. Lets leave it at that. While I defer on you to most things regarding ACs, this one is going to require a FAQ or PFS clarification to bring us to agreement. In all the times I have had this arguement with you and others on this board, no one has had a response to "Conditions must be cleared" other than "A dead AC that gives me 10X duration on summons and always on animal aspect isn't a mechanical condition." Which I will be generous and characterize as less than convincing.

I think you really need the burden of proof on this one. You're trying to declare a character dead at the end of someone elses last session (where you probably weren't dming) in order to keep someone from getting a mechanical advantage for the .005 seconds its going to take them to get a dead animal companion the old fashioned way. To what end? The combo will still go into effect.

Shadow Lodge ****

A creature carrying a viridium weapon must save every 24 hours or contract leprosy unless the weapon is kept inside an extradimensional space (such as an efficient quiver) or a scabbard lined with lead.

Nodwick it for 12 hours, carry it for 12 hours

Extradimensional scabbard

Hmmm.. does a pathfinder pouch have to be a square volume?

Shadow Lodge ****

Jared Thaler wrote:
BigNorseWolf wrote:

Just get a porter?

"Hey how come nodwick looks a lil green around the gills

Sadly, this won't work

At this point you have, as John Compton says " made a conscious choice to endanger the follower well beyond the scope of what the vanity would normally assume. "

If you're adventuring with pathfinders radiation poisoning is the LEAST of the things you signed up for...

Shadow Lodge ****

Nothing there remotely hints that you HAVE to replace it. At all. How is the replacement handled assumes that there IS a replacement. Not telling you that there must be one.

Mechanics wise all you skip is a round of "ATTACK THE DEATH DEMON MY CHINCHILLA MINION!" splat

Quote:
You are getting always on aspect + minute long summons. This is far more power than you get by switching to feral hunter, making the archetype more or less pointless.

The archtype does other things at higher levels. It just makes it bad for dipping. Lots of archetypes have that problem. (and martials in general now have almost no reason not to be minmaxed fruit smoothies)

Shadow Lodge ****

Jared Thaler wrote:

Yes, you get the bonus when your AC dies, and you get a new AC inbetween sessions. Want always on aspect on self? Take feral hunter.

That archtype does more than give you an automatically dead critter, its for summonses.

Forcing the level 10 fighter level 1 hunter to send their critter to its death every game serves no purpose but to annoy the player. yes, the hunter dip is exceedingly good, so are a LOT of the new class dips

Quote:
Yes, you get the bonus when your AC dies, and you get a new AC inbetween sessions. Want always on aspect on self? Take feral hunter.

If a druid releases her companion from service, she may gain a new one by performing a ceremony requiring 24 uninterrupted hours of prayer in the environment where the new companion typically lives. This ceremony can also replace an animal companion that has perished.

That makes it pretty clear that your character has to DO something to get the new animal, not something that just shows up or you can force the player to do in between sessions (when its not even your table)

Shadow Lodge ****

3 people marked this as a favorite.

Can a hunter just not take an animal and declare it dead or do they have to commit a Druids local 704 violation and get it killed to get the benefit?

Shadow Lodge

Most gamer groups have one person that knows how to do it, and tails are almost snake level easy

Shadow Lodge ****

2 people marked this as a favorite.

Just get a porter?

"Hey how come nodwick looks a lil green around the gills

Shadow Lodge

Jess Le Rue wrote:
My Kitsune Archer ALWAYS stays in her true form, because nothing else can show her majestic four tails (and counting) that she has. So I'll never have a mini that works.

Lil green stuff and a pin vice can add tails easy enough

Shadow Lodge

Starglim wrote:

Yes to INT 22. As you probably know, in PFS any of the bonus languages granted by high INT can be modern human languages as well as those listed in the race's abilities.

Developers have expressed an opinion (though I'm not saying I agree) that the headband of intellect should give an additional language per 2 points of bonus. As written and I believe in PFS, it does not.

baring some PFS specific ruling it does.

Shadow Lodge ****

I think you do see rules disagreements in pathfinder in homegames, and sometimes it does hurt the group either through arguing abut a character or a rule or a fight. Lessening that is always a good thing (if not quite so handy as for pfs)

Shadow Lodge ****

3 people marked this as a favorite.
Feral wrote:
I would actually prefer that the campaign leadership make a hard ruling on this and other gray areas. There's lots of content I end avoiding purely because I hate dealing with table variation. More hard rulings would provide protection from the occasional super conservative GM.

you're asking them to lock down every gray area. I don't think we've made a wall that big since the great wall of china.

Shadow Lodge

3 people marked this as a favorite.
Todd Reidenbach wrote:

"What a pleasure it is to meet you, Sheila Heidmarch."

No pathfinder has ever said that. Thats a doppleganger. Shoot them. :)

Shadow Lodge ****

6 people marked this as a favorite.

Or something you have no idea is a gray area until you sit at the table.

Shadow Lodge ****

Paul Jackson wrote:
BigNorseWolf wrote:


There are a LOT of rules in this game. I don't think any two DMs are going to agree on all of them.

I don't think a GM ever completely agrees with himself from day to day :-(.

I believe the same thing Monday that i believed on Wednesday regardless of what i learned on Tuesday!

Shadow Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

You have left the rules as written and need to adjudicate.

I'd do it as a hit, or possibly a crit for max damage that expels the druid from the mouth. The game is VERY against "your head explode" options.

Shadow Lodge ****

4 people marked this as a favorite.

I don't think there is any one answer to this. You may have different solutions depending on

1) HOW illegal is the character? You can let a 19 point character build slide for a session , the 40 point " i rolled all 18s" vampire monk not so much

2) How integral is it to someone's build? If someone's entire character relies on an ambiguity thats a lot different than say, a swashbuckler using a buckler who can just take it off and drop an AC point or three.

3) How powerful is the option. There's no point in arguing with a yellow tengu. If someone has rules lawyered their way to instadecapitation thats something you need to address.

4) How gray/technical is the ruling? For example, Elemental spell technically doesn't change the descriptor. Someone may have chosen their elemental focus based on that technicality, or they may have decided that a wall of cold is actually a [cold] spell.

Shadow Lodge

Darksword miniatures has some

I just broke out the sculpty

Shadow Lodge ****

or let your wolf become a professional shepherd.

... we DID do that. They're called sheep dogs.

Shadow Lodge ****

Finlanderboy wrote:

Words have the weight you give them.

Perhaps strongly held preconception would be better.

There are a LOT of rules in this game. I don't think any two DMs are going to agree on all of them.

Shadow Lodge ****

Jared Thaler wrote:

Anyway, back on topic.

I have not seen any arguement that would convince me so far that Animal Companions can worship gods.

I think it is pretty clear that other CFEs who are sapient can.

I believe that's the wrong standard of evidence.

You want to declare a good chunk of the characters build illegal and run into the timey whimey ball of what happens with it. I think that puts the burden of proof on you.

Unless of course the animal is a cat. Owners of dogs will have noticed that, if you provide them with food and water and shelter and affection, they will think you are god. Whereas owners of cats are compelled to realize that, if you provide them with food and water and shelter and affection, they draw the conclusion that they are gods- hitchens.

Shadow Lodge ****

Drahliana Moonrunner wrote:
UndeadMitch wrote:
Doing a Deific Obedience in Rahadoum won't get you killed. Almost certainly deportedif they catch you, but not killed.
That might depend on the obedience. Doing Lamashtu's might get you sentenced to a burning at the stake.

Thats why that one managed to get called out as an exception, as there is no reformed church of the mother of monsters option available. Which is a shame, a lamashite monster affeciondo could make a great pathfinder.

Shadow Lodge ****

Lots of animals have passed the mirror test

Not entirely relevant for a game mechanic though

Shadow Lodge ****

2 people marked this as a favorite.
dragonhunterq wrote:

What is the lesser of 2 evils? making someone not play or forcing them to play a pre-gen (with all the negative impact that has), or accepting a modified character?

And if the latter is the lesser evil, why should the player not be ready with a prepared alternative anticipating table variance?

Or accepting a questionably legal character for the game- that HAS to be an option. The flexibility can't all come from the player.

Shadow Lodge ****

Will have to check the scenario to see if this would work, but I liked the idea so much it let it happen

To get the candle to Bakten's previous life's skull they swapped out their candle for the candle one of the elves was carrying and just let them take it in. They had planned to pick it up in the morning, but the fight breaking out provided a good chance to just walk in and take it.

Shadow Lodge ****

James McTeague wrote:


- ACs still have to qualify for feats, even if they have 3+ Int.
- In order to worship a deity, you must have the capacity for moral judgment.
- The Monkey See Monkey Do blog indicates that ACs still have animal intelligence despite having 3+ Int.
- A creature...

Its not a bad argument but its still a gray area. I wouldn't feel comfortable either forcing someone into a pregen (blasphemy!) , or having them ping pong the critters build back and forth between two options.

Is there anything mechanics wise that's overpowered/questionably powered from doing this?

Shadow Lodge ****

James McTeague wrote:

As someone who has a background of helping to teach religion classes to middle-school children, I find this whole thread rather absurd.

The AC feats section says that INT 3+ can take any feat that they physically qualify for. However, since Monkey See Monkey Do clarifies that the AC doesn't gain sentience (sapience, whatever) and still needs to be controlled by Handle Animal checks, they physically can't make the _choice_ to become a worshiper. Therefore, they don't physically qualify to take the feat.

The physically qualify for doesn't just reference having arms/legs, but also what the brain is actually capable of processing. You can't worship a deity if you can't choose to worship it.

Duality aside tats pretty much the definition of a mental action, not a physical one.

Shadow Lodge

DO IT! Chained rogue is horrible.

Shadow Lodge ****

We all know tigers are iorian anyway

Shadow Lodge ****

2 people marked this as a favorite.

The number of wolves worshiping chaldira makes one wonder at the persistence and tastiness of her evangelists.

Shadow Lodge

6 people marked this as a favorite.

They seem to have gone out of their way to keep it from working on monks.

Shadow Lodge ****

Fromper wrote:
Or you could go Profession: Jeweler and specialize in piercings.

There's pathfinders lining up to implant ioun stones...

"Wait, that goes WHERE?"

Shadow Lodge ****

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Seeker of secrets has an option to join the green faith. It gets you a +2 bonus to knowledge nature.

Shadow Lodge ****

4 people marked this as a favorite.

"Whats with the acupuncture?

"Reformed church of Zon kuthon.

Shadow Lodge ****

godsDMit wrote:
BigNorseWolf wrote:

) We already have a "reset" button that allows you to Replay everything. Just switch from Standard to Core (or vice versa).

And this was one of the big complaints against core, that it would stop paizo from working on a solution to the problem.

Core is a solution to the problem. If your group doesn't want to view it that way and it doesn't work out for you, that sucks, but that doesn't make Core any less of a viable solution to the problem.

If a solution doesn't work that does make it less viable by definition.

Shadow Lodge ****

Brian Lefebvre wrote:
Combining a parasol and a sword cane would not be legal under the current PFS campaign rules.

Its questionable but I can't see any harm in it.

Gluing them together is perfectly legit though.

Shadow Lodge ****

Stephen Ross wrote:

okay - to be honest I skipped most of the middle of this thread as it's a rehash of an old discussion...

Which is why your answer keeps missing the point.

Its not about an individual playing multiple times, its about getting something the group can all play without laying out a Sudoku chart.

Shadow Lodge ****

2 people marked this as a favorite.

) We already have a "reset" button that allows you to Replay everything. Just switch from Standard to Core (or vice versa).

And this was one of the big complaints against core, that it would stop paizo from working on a solution to the problem.

Shadow Lodge ****

MadScientistWorking wrote:


Really most traps I've seen tend to range in the kill player range of damage (I can think of one season 7 scenario).

Are you traveling with con dumped elves?

Shadow Lodge ****

claudekennilol wrote:
nosig wrote:
did he make you all play Pregens?
Of course not. I haven't read this whole conversation, is that a reference to something or a legitimate question?

Someone above said they would do that for messed up chronicle sheets.

'I believe it was also a joke as chronicle sheets come at the end of the adventure and it would be too late.

Shadow Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Fromper wrote:
Durkula and his undead minions would be the 2nd Team Evil these days.

team twilight of the gods?

1 to 50 of 24,332 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | next > last >>

©2002–2015 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.