|Paizo Pathfinder® Paizo Games|
|About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ|
Trish Megistos wrote:
The general assumption is that if there is no other information or doesn't require any sort of cost it's a standard action.
Not what I asked lol. Yes it says in the ability that it is a standard action. It also says you can have one up, I was asking if you can use this ability multiple times a day.
So I was looking over the spellscar oracle. http://www.d20pfsrd.com/classes/base-classes/oracle/mysteries/paizo-oracle- mysteries/spellscar/
And I had a question about the Animate Primal Force revelation. It says that the elemental lasts a number of rounds equal to your Cha modifier but how many times per day can you use this?? Once it goes away can you just summon another?
As far as what the effects do, I'd refer to Conditions on 273-277, and ability damage on 252.
Hmm maybe I am missing it, the wounding locations that you can have are 1-10 (general) no save, so I am guessing nothing happens11-13 (Eye sensory) Reflex save
14-15 (Leg mobility) Fort save
16-17 (Arm manipulation) Reflex save
18-19 (vital organ) Fort save
20 (Brain) Fort save
So what happens when you get the Brain result or the vital organ result? That is what I am trying to find for this.
So the armor storm fighting style at lv 1 you can treat your unarmed attacks when wearing heavy or powered armor as if you were wearing a battle glove of your level or lower.
When I go to the equipment guide I only see 4 battle gloves listed, lv 1, lv 10, lv 13 and lv 17. Does this mean you only get damage upgrades at those levels? Are you stuck doing 1d4 till you are lv 10?
So I just got my pdf access today and have been reading it over and I had a question.
In pathfinder you got extra attacks as your base attack bonus got higher. Did they take this out of Starfinder? I was not seeing anything about it, but then again I only have my pdf so far so searching can be troublesome.
Had someone shoot one of our members earlier while gathering then run off when he fired back lol. I was close by and came over and we chased him to Marchmont. He decided to just log out before he got to the bank and then made the mistake of coming back online 10 minutes later and we were still sitting there waiting for him. Good times were had and much coal was gained.
Doc || Allegiant Gemstone Co. wrote:
You know Doc that is a good idea. If you are part of the same company/settlement then yeah you get to have name tags if not then no tag. That would make pvp a lot better and not having to guess.
Only thing to add to it though is that I would want something if say you have an alliance with another settlement then the two settlement leaders should be able to flag it as such so that the names also show.
Ok if he charges he only gets 1 attack at full BAB. Charging allows you to only make one standard attack not a full round attack.
Now on the second round when you are able to make a full attack you would get all 5 from flurry of blows AND your bite attack.
There are feats out there that can change this, things like pounce and such but without those feats it is only 1 attack after a charge.
Actually you are quite wrong there. Invisiblity is a glamor, it changes YOU and does not effect someone elses mind.
Glamer: A glamer spell changes a subject's sensory qualities, making it look, feel, taste, smell, or sound like something else, or even seem to disappear.
With invisibility the subject is the person targeted by the spell, thus the one invisibile.
Wind Chime wrote:
I really wish I had noticed that race before starting play getting all those summoner spells early would of been an untold boon to my build (haste at 2, greater invisibility at 3, Greater Planar Binding at 6, Banishment at 5 etc). Mind you that can't really be balanced.
Summoner is arcane and druid is divine, you have to choose from a list that is the same type of casting as you. I.E. Divine to divine or arcane to arcane. So a Samsaran druid could not take spells from the summoner list.
Turin the Mad wrote:
Actually no, you must use the component in the same round that blood money is cast. That is why casting blood money is a swift action. If you do not use it the component goes away.
It is not always 40 there are modifiers to that DC depending on the situation.
In combat or speaking –20
The base DC is 20, to notice if they are within 30'. If you try to pinpoint it then it is still base 20 but you add +20 for invisibility then you add any modifiers.
Example Invisible creature is 20 feet from you and is moving at 1/2 speed and makes a stealth check of 15 the DC to notice them would be 20 (base) + 20(invisible) + 15 (Stealth) +2(distance) -5(movement) = DC52
Adamantine Dragon wrote:
Look at the chart in the invisibility section I linked in my above post.
In the case of they are TRYING to hide from you then it is DC 20 + your stealth check. It lays it all out for you there.
By active I take it to mean it is not taking extra actions to hide its presence such as using stealth etc.
You are right about the 30' but then most rooms are not much bigger than 30'.
Adamantine Dragon wrote:
First off I said it was DC 20 to notice they were in the room with you. You can see it in the PRD PRD Scroll down to invisibility section
But if you do not feel like scrolling down here is the quote.
A creature can generally notice the presence of an active invisible creature within 30 feet with a DC 20 Perception check. The observer gains a hunch that “something's there” but can't see it or target it accurately with an attack. It's practically impossible (+20 DC) to pinpoint an invisible creature's location with a Perception check. Even once a character has pinpointed the square that contains an invisible creature, the creature still benefits from total concealment (50% miss chance). There are a number of modifiers that can be applied to this DC if the invisible creature is moving or engaged in a noisy activity.
Detect Magic allows them to pinpoint the square the invisible creature is in after 3 rounds, but it does not negate the 50% miss chance.
In fact by the rules if the invisible creature is in combat with you they are at a -20 to the DC to pinpoint the square they are in so you only need a DC 20 perception check then also.
Adamantine Dragon wrote:
Trust me I had the same argument. I ranted and raved about it myself. But fact is by RAW detect magic can tell you what 5' square an invisible person/item is at after 3 rounds of concentration.
Now that said, it DOES NOT negate the 50% miss chance for attacking an invisible creature. And if that invisible creature moves out of your cone you have to start the 3 rounds over again to find him.
Remember a DC 20 perception check will let you know there is someone invisible in the room with you, flower can be used to show what square that person is in for 1 round. There are lots of ways to detect someone who is invisible this is just one of them and an imperfect one at that. All you know is the general area that the person is.
I would agree with you but the problem is invisibility does not stop divination spells. It says so in the rules. it is in the glossary section under invisibility.
Here is the PRD page scroll about 3/4s of the way down to invisibility and it is the 2nd to last sentence in the section.
Remember that detect magic takes 3 rounds and is a cone, if the invisible person moves out of the cone the 3 rounds to detect them start over.
Why not just make him invest the feats to get it?
There are drow feats that allow them to get the 11+ SR
Seems fair to me.
But remember SR can be a hinderance for him. It blocks friendly spells also. Meaning if the healer in the group wants to even heal him he needs to spend an action to lower his SR or the healer needs to try and overcome it and chance wasting the spell.
Con is third
Most of your spells are touch spells, you do not need to have a huge bonus in dex to still hit. You honestly should not be using a bow or crossbow. Use acid splash or ray of frost.
Lets look at the statistics here
Lets say your oponent is a human wearing say chainmail armor and has a good dex of 14.
so we have 10+5+2=17ac
Lets say you put 16 into dex givng you a +3 to hit when you fire that bow/xbow. You still need to roll a 14+ to hit. Giving you roughly a 35% to hit.
Now lets say you instead only put 12 in dex but instead use ray of frost/acid splash. Against the same figther you now attack his Touch AC which is only 12. With the above example you only need to roll an 11+ to hit which gives you a 50% chance to hit. yes it is a bit less damage but you hit more often and you do not have to worry about things like ammo and such.
I much rather have the higher hit points and more consistant damage than go for the chance of a bigger hit (Remember that bow or xbow can still end up only doing 1-3 damage). The hit points will keep me alive, the more consistant damage when I am not doing other things like grease or color spray will contribute more in the long run.
How do you get 19?
Fleet-footed is +2 racial bonus, reactionary is +2 trait bonus, Improved initiative is +4 feat bonus and Compsognathus is +4 familiar bonus. Add that to the +3 dex bonus and you only have +15. Still awesome at 1st level and you will almost always go first.
Torger Miltenberger wrote:
This also gives the drawback of a bonded object too right? If he did not have the bonded item equiped he would have to make the spellcraft check to even cast the spell?
I thought you could apply metamagic feats to magic items when you make them. Thus cant you make a wand of empowered burning hands by paying the cost to create as if it were the higher level spell? Or an item that casts a quickened spell etc?
I do not understand why people think it is ok for a Paladin to lie.
Through a select, worthy few shines the power of the divine. Called paladins, these noble souls dedicate their swords and lives to the battle against evil. Knights, crusaders, and law-bringers, paladins seek not just to spread divine justice but to embody the teachings of the virtuous deities they serve. In pursuit of their lofty goals, they adhere to ironclad laws of morality and discipline. As reward for their righteousness, these holy champions are blessed with boons to aid them in their quests: powers to banish evil, heal the innocent, and inspire the faithful. Although their convictions might lead them into conflict with the very souls they would save, paladins weather endless challenges of faith and dark temptations, risking their lives to do right and fighting to bring about a brighter future.
It says right there that they adhere to ironclad laws of marality and discipline. A lot of people missunderstand the Lawful part of the paladin alignment thinking that it means the Laws of the country or city etc. Chaotic characters will lie, do what they want when the need suits them. A Lawful character will not, they have a path that they follow and to them that is that. Think of them as being a bit OCD, they have their tics and they have to follow them.
PersonalY I went 4 levels of monk Master of Many Styles/Qinggong Monk and the rest as Magus Kensai.
Master of many styles gives me crane style and crane wing. (crane style makes fighting defensive give me only -2 to hit but +3 dodge bonus, crane wing allows me to totaly negate one melee hit on me per round)
At level 4 instead of safe fall I take bark skin, the extra AC is nice.
As a kensai I am using a scimitar and going for dirvish dance feat.
So all in all I get to use dex, int and wis as a bonus to my AC, I get +3 dodge bonus, and a defensive spell not normally on my list and I can negate 1 attack a round. All the while only needing dex for both my to hit and my damage.
The Human Diversion wrote:
You forgot Incorporeal Undead, they are immune also. Or maybe that is just Incorporeal in general.
Peter Kies wrote:
Actually it is an offical responce it says it right in the rules.
Core Rule Book wrote:
The rogue’s attack deals extra damage anytime her target would be denied a Dexterity bonus to AC (whether the target actually has a Dexterity bonus or not), or when the rogue flanks her target. This extra damage is 1d6 at 1st level, and increases by 1d6 every two rogue levels thereafter. Should the rogue score a critical hit with a sneak attack, this extra damage is not multiplied. Ranged attacks can count as sneak attacks only if the target is within 30 feet.
It is saying anytime situation A happens OR situation B happens. It works for both.
The one time I was playing a healer we had something almost exactly like that happen. With the exception that the rest of the part listened to me and let him try to take it on his own. We let him die, went back to town and hired 2 warrior npc's to help us out and proceeded with the adventure.
When he asked if we were going to get him rezed, I told him there was no coming back from stupid.
Funny thing, my group won't let me play a healer anymore, go figure.
Oh my god this thread got long. Can someone summarize this for me? What is the consensus here - can you detect evil on the innkeeper without him knowing, or not?
Depends on who you ask lol.
Some people think that casting any spell or spell like ability creates effects like glowing runes in the air and such as you cast the spell. This is mainly due to art work for the game. This art work could just as well be showing the spell going off after it has been cast. There is nothing in the rules though that states such effects take place UNLESS it says so specifically in the description of a spell. (think there are a couple that have wierd visual effects). As such these people belive that using a spell like ability is obvious.
The other camp which I will admit I am one of them is that spell like abilities are purly mental actions and there is no visual effect (unless the spell it is imitating has one such as light). Part of the reason being is that you can use a spell like ability even when paralyzed which allows for only mental actions. Because of this and the fact that a spell like ability has no verbal, somatic or material components then there is nothing to see.
Spellcraft only allows you to identify a spell that you can "clearly see being cast". As a spell like ability is purely mental in action you cannot see it being cast. You can however use Knowledge Arcana in conjunction with an ability to see magic such as detect magic to identify any ongoing effect that was from a spell like ability.
Other things to consider is that if a spell allows a saving throw then the target will know that a spell just targeted them. But once again that is after the spell has already been cast. Detect evil has no saving through so the person you are using it on doesnt know about it on that front also.
Have the briefing appear as a painful tattoo or brand every day on the chars skin(have it clear before a new report comes the next day also painful). Then every day he will be dreading the arrival of his much needed intelligence. You get everything you asked for it just is in a form you never would have agreed to if you thought it threw. Also creates a role-playing opportunity. How long can the char stand it? How can he remove this "curse"?
He did say no crew member could be tramatized by it so I do not think that this would work. BUT if he was ever no longer a crew member of the ship he would still be getting reports and this would become an option =)
Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.