Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Mogmurch

Balkar's page

Pathfinder Society Member. 23 posts. No reviews. 1 list. 1 wishlist. 4 Pathfinder Society characters.


RSS

Liberty's Edge

I'm glad this idea isn't with the base though. I actually try to avoid reading the flavor text of most of the cards, because one day in the future I want to actually play the RotR and S&S APs and I want as few story spoilers as possible.
I know Mike's team has put a lot of work into this part and I apoligize to them, but I do it for what I feel is good reason. Although, having a seperate document like you guys are talking about sounds good.

Liberty's Edge

In my home game we just write down how many of each category were pulled out (i.e. Basic Weapons, Elite Weapons, Basic Spells, Elite Spells, etc.)
After the session (about 2-3 games), we put all the cards back in the box for ease of storage/not knowing which campaign we'll play next time. Then pull out a random set of those cards that we've pulled out for that campaign the next time we play.

Liberty's Edge

Mike Selinker wrote:


Whose combat checks does a Dagger affect?
Just yours.
Resolution: On Dagger, change "When playing another weapon, you may discard this card to add 1d4 to the combat check." to "When playing another weapon, you may discard this card to add 1d4 to your combat check."
(This change also affects many Daggers and Dagger-like cards in other sets.)

I hate to ask this and I'm sure you're dreading it, but can a review please be done of all cards for the "your check vs any check" issue? Mike, I know you said you should follow the rule of 'Nobody else can take your turn for you', but precidence has been set in the official FAQ of the dev team correcting some of those wordings.

Obviously, it doesn't matter much in home games. We can just rule that we'll do it right in the future once we realize that rule should apply, but now that we have an OP for PFACG. I'm kinda dreading that person that says 'it's not on the card or in the FAQ'. Also, it does make us feel better that we don't have to try to interpret what was intended versus the wording that was printed on the card.

Again, I feel very sorry about this request. I didn't want to be that guy, but...

Liberty's Edge

I've interpreted this ability as "When you play a spell that does not have the Attack trait, you gain the skills Arcane and Divine equal to your Craft skill for the purposes of casting of that spell."

I started to write "until the spell is recharged", but then remembered that some spells are displayed.

I think the problem lies in the whole mechanic of displaying a spell as it takes the spell out of the nice tight turn order.

Liberty's Edge

Thank you very much. Borodino was correct. I was asking about the reward for defeating Goblin Keelhauling, which I didn't have in front of me so I couldn't give the exact wording.

Liberty's Edge

Is the reward for defeating related to "current" hand size, or the character's hand size when he/she resets each turn (I've been calling it "maximum" hand size, but that could get distorted too).

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
csouth154 wrote:
Hawkmoon269 wrote:
PizzaBuddah wrote:
Thank you for the answer. It's a bummer that she (and Harsk) can't just throw rocks at foes (amusing as that picture is).
You're welcome. Also, keep in mind Merisiel can still user her recharge/discard power if she is alone at her location, even if she isn't using a weapon.
Yeah. I like to think of that as some sort of ninja spear-hand kidney strike. Or maybe a chop to the base of the skull.

Or a boot to the head?

Liberty's Edge

I'm guessing, no arcane skill, but 2 spell cards in her deck.

Liberty's Edge

Of course since you're not playing OP, you can do what you want. There is no PFACG police watching over your shoulder. ;)

Liberty's Edge

Also good luck with the

PRD wrote:
A complex process requiring at least 24 hours, 100 gp per hit point, and a fully equipped magical laboratory can repair damage to a simulacrum.

Assuming the GM actually allows the OPs situation.

Liberty's Edge

PRD wrote:
Simulacrum creates an illusory duplicate of any creature. The duplicate creature is partially real and formed from ice or snow.

I think a Simulacrum is part illusion and part golem-ish. So the real question is, can Magic Jar affect non-living things like golems or corpses? I think not since when the possessed host is slain (and becomes a corpse) you are expulsed from the possessed body.

So I think you can't Magic Jar a Simulacrum.

Liberty's Edge

Cartman - so you're saying we're moving from the Dungeon's and Dragons base to the Capitalism and Corporations base?

Liberty's Edge

But also if you play RPG PFS you also have to start a new character. If you've gamed for years, you probably have a couple characters that you've played for a heck of a lot more than 40 hours. Then you join PFS and you have to create a level 1 character. It doesn't seem unreasonable to me to have to start from scratch when you starting fresh in a special campaign.

Also, if I've followed everything right (and I might be wrong) the RotR characters will be legal for PFSACG in case you REALLY like one of those characters. You just have to start it from level 1.

Liberty's Edge

I generally look at hand size as a liability than a bonus. Maybe hand size of x = 6-x points?

Liberty's Edge

Yes, magic items were absolutly needed for higher encounters, but the hybrids still unfortunatly fell noticibly behind. I never bought Monsters of Luclin, only the Norrath one.

Liberty's Edge

Swords and Sorcery did an exceptional job bringing the video game to PnP.

Xenh - A lot of what you point out was indicitive of the original EQ video game (back when there was only 0-2 expansions). The genre went down hill with WoW dumbing the genre and status quo down. EQ eventually followed with its expansions.

Other genius things found in EQ was the mixture of mobs so that you couldn't say that a zone was STRICTLY for lvls 1-3. There were some lvl 5-7s roming the area that would take you out if you wern't careful. Also there was the intermingling of the factions. If you ducked into the wrong house in a town you were suddenly in the necromancer's guild and they all just decimated you for being a paladin.

Drejk - the spell lists mimiced the EQ video game almost exactly. The video game was based on mostly fighting and very little non-combat activities.

The biggest issues we had with it when we played was at higher levels. DR was through the roof to compensate for the high damage output which crippled most mid-low damage classes. Also the bestary gave great templates to make high level monsters, but gave no pregenerated ones - the DM had to create almost every monster in his campaign from scratch with the templates.

Liberty's Edge

2nd ed Zaratan bomb:
- Fly over enemy
- Pull out a bag of mosquitoes
- Cast Polymorph Other on a mosquito, turning it into a zaratan.
- Fly away with a job well done.

Liberty's Edge

Yay Brian!

Liberty's Edge

Hogarth wrote:

Wiggz wrote:

It can move into a space occupied by a creature whereupon it deals damage and stops moving. If the creature remains in that square it deals its damage again the following round on your turn and can not move (or it can move out of the square without dealing damage depending on the caster's choice?).
I would rule that the flaming sphere always does damage at the end of the caster's turn, so if the caster moved it out of the square the creature would take no damage. Again, not clear.

I don't agree with this. Would the same apply to a Wall of Fire? Can I walk through it without being hurt because it doesn't do damage until the caster's turn? I don't think so.

I do agree with the rest of Hogarth's comments.

Liberty's Edge

Thinking about it in terms of real life and my karate experience - I can wield a "monk" weapon and hit with full STR with my empty off-hand. I don't know how it would work with a non-monk weapon though.

Liberty's Edge

Cure Light Moons

Liberty's Edge

I know this isn't going to happen (or be popular) but I think Paladin (and maybe Samurai - I don't know enough about that class though) should be a prestige class of Cavalier.

Liberty's Edge

Summoner - Eidelon only gets one primary attack (or one set in the case of a pair of claws). Any other attacks become secondaries. I think that could nerf Summoners down to almost reasonable without being too harsh. Anyone agree or disagree?


©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.