|Paizo Pathfinder® Paizo Games|
|About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ|
DM Beckett wrote:
Thanks, (for her). Its not her only character, but the her first for PFS, the one she is most invested in, and also been waiting to finish up with. She is the type of player that dislikes all the number crunching, so possibly rebuilding and/scrapping the character, depending on just how it all turns out, might be too much, if it hasn't been ruled on already. Im just coming out of the field for a month, so Im behind, still.
Don't they usually grandfather these things? I still have a classic summoner because she was 5th level when "Un-chained" came out. But then, I have also never used an archetype that has been changed, so they may treat them differently. I hope not though. It would be a rather d**k move not to.
I played it this past Monday.We had no advanced warning as to the nature of this scenario. We had a 1st level fighter-type, a 1st lvl Slayer, a 2nd lvl Hydro-kineticist(me), a 2nd lvl Summoner(w/Eidolon), a 2nd lvl Orabard(or was it a Bardicle), and a 4th lvl Blood Kineticist. So all the magic users were spontaneous. We noticed, and caught the cheating Ashen Leaf, and so knew about the cache. We got to the ruins fairly quickly, and found the weapons, armor, and food, so we didn't need to do any crafting. We handily defeated the Trail hounds, and took their stuff. With consistently high perception rolls(as well as plenty of Aid Another) we easily found the best routes through mountains, hills, and forest. We made fairly quick work of the caterpillars and zombies, and finished in 3.5 days, winning the race for the glory of the Pathfinders.We completed the scenario in just under 3 hours.
Mark Seifter wrote:
Aristophanes, is this in reference to the second scene in your play Lysistrata where the Koryphaios of Women dumps water on the Koryphaios of Men?
Nay, 'tis these damnable frogs! They keep jumping onto my scrolls, with their infernal chatter!"Brekekekex koax koax"! Do I have to wait for them to jump off to avoid getting my manuscripts wet?
We just got there in our game:
Thrune Trusted Agent Feat-Tactical feat: As long as another Trusted Agent is within 30', you get a +1 profane bonus on reflex and will saves. 1/day you can use the aid another action(aiding another Trusted Agent), and give a +4 instead of +2.
I'm pretty sure I got that right. Others can correct me if I'm wrong on anything, or if I left something out.
To be more specific, download the new Pathfinder Society Roleplaying Guild Guide. Page 24, item 2: Race and Age
Select your character’s race. The choices offered in the Core
I do hope, however, that they update the Additional Resources page to reflect this.
Most of my intelligence based characters, including a Witch, an Alchemist, and an Investigator, tend to hold most VCs in some level of contempt because they suspect them of withholding important information about missions that could help the PCs, simply because they didn't ask the right questions. A good leader gives his/her charges all the tools they can to ensure the successful completion of a mission. If, at the end of a briefing, the party hasn't asked all the pertinent questions, the VC should volunteer any and all info that will help it succeed. Several times, one of my characters have asked, "Is there anything else we haven't asked about that you think we should know?" and the VC will be dismissive and give the lame "you are Pathfinders" excuse. This does not promote confidence in leadership.
Linda Zayas-Palmer wrote:
By the way, Linda, since Yellowheart wood items appear on the chronicle sheet, and, if they do indeed work like silver weapons vs. lycanthropes, and since this scenario is the only place I can find that states this, shouldn't its properties be noted on the chronicle sheet?
Just finished playing this one today. It was fun. Not overly difficult. We played up with 5 players, including my Investigator 3, a Divination Wizard 4, a Blood Rager 4(pre-gen), a Mesmirist 4(pre-gen), and what I think was an Arcanist 3. The biggest problem for us was the disease, as two characters(Diviner & Arcanist) succumbed. In the final battles, the "heads" were dispatched quickly with Burning Hands, and although our Arcanist ended up 'making out' with one of the "flying, screaming, evil craniums", the Blood rager sqashed them, and the BBEG was taken out by numerous volleys of Magic Missle from the Arcanist.
My question for now concerns what is on the chronicle sheet.
Edit: Sorry, found the info about Greenwood, but nothing on Yellowheart wood.
I've witnessed, more than once, the opposite scenario where a player is the victim of a freak SOD, fails his save, and another player offers his re-roll, fails, and then another player offers HIS re-roll, but, of course is told that only one per character per game. The Northern Maryland PFS community is a rather selfless bunch. ;-)
Where is this rule? What book and page please. I'm intrigued!
What? You're knocking my hobbies now? ;-)
I know that here in the Baltimore area, there are many players currently involved in the "Classic Campaign" that are excited for the oppertunity to play in the "Core" mode. So far as I can tell, none of them will stop playing in classic games. Of course, we here in the Charm City area are fortunate. I myself live within an hours drive of at least six venues that have regular games. The only thing that Core will do for me is to give me more oppertunity to play more PFS. I win! ;-)
I'm curious now. What exactly is enlarged on a Loving Monolith? ;-)
So um are waynag, kitsune, and nagaji legal races? I see that isn't the case. Same with grandfathering aasimar/tiefling.
Well, in the ARG section of the AR, they are no longer listed as being restricted to needing a boon, while the Aasimar and Tiefling are. One could interprate that to mean that they are PFS legal.
I've found that starting with the prime stat at 17, after racial adjusments work pretty well. It means that that +1 stat bump at 4th level is significant, ans since most characters only go to 12th, you'll still end up with a base of 20. That way, I can spend 7 on my primary, can still get 14's in con and somwthing else, and usually, if not an int. based class, still get a 12 in int for those precious bonus skill points I love so much.
Durngrun Stonebreaker wrote:
You had paper and pecils? Awww, ye young whippersnappers had it easy! We only had slabs of slate and a sharp rock! And we only generated one set of stats, and ya played with what ye got! And we LIKED it!
I only have one character that is directly based on a fictional person:
My Aasimar Dual-Cursed(Lame & Tongues)Oracle/Bard Claudius, is based directly off of the eponymous character from the 1976 BBC mini-series "I, Clavdivs", as created by the incomparable Derek Jacoby! I even use the stammer when he speaks. ;-)
Does an Alchemist's bomb with the Tanglefoot Discovery still do damage. I ask because it explicitly states in the rules that Discoveries marked with an "*" do not stack on bombs, and the Tanglefoot Discovery is marked as such, as are frost, acid, smoke, and stink bombs. I guess the question really is, is the bomb itself a discovery?
How about "I'm lightly wounded", or "moderately wounded", or "seriously wounded", or "critically wounded" or "do you see this organ in my hand? That's my kidney! What do you think?"
Get Sleeves of Many Garments. At 200gp they're cheap, and you can walk around appearing to be in any outfit you want.
Actually, my Druid bought a CLW at 1.2, and had used only 5 charges by level 4 because in 5 of the next 8 scenarios we had a Kyra or another channeling healer. ;-) It took him to 9th level before being used up.
I assume that "know the result" means, the ultimate consequences. For instance, if an enemy cleric casts a spell, and the fighter rolls a low save, as long as the reroll happens before the specific result is known, i.e., paralysis, running away in fear, getting hit by a column of uhholy fire, then knowing whether or not the save itself is successfull still doesn't count as knowing the result. I would say the same for an attack. Yes, a 20 is an auto-hit and possible crit, but it's the damage that's the "result".
I've enjoyed quite a few of the season 0 scenarios. I think an important reason they seem easy these days is that they were created before the APG, ARG, UM, UC, FBI, CIA, BBC, *whoah* "suddenly I crave some alphabet soup"! ...where was I...Oh, yeah. Combat-wise, there are a lot of encounters that a Witch, an Oracle, a Magus, or a Gunslinger, or an Aasimar or Tiefling can trivialise, simply because the creator of the scenario never envisioned characters with those abilities.
Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, Starfinder, the Starfinder logo, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc. The Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Legends, Pathfinder Online, Starfinder Adventure Path, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.