|2 people marked this as a favorite.|
I get where you're coming from and obviously you can house-rule as you see fit, but confused is already an annoying condition.
Nothing about confusion suggests that a character stops being a valid collective member. If you "do nothing", that's no different from doing nothing voluntarily. Collective membership doesn't require ongoing effort, merely consciousness. If you "babble incoherently", that's what you do. Sure, some or all of that may be telepathic babble, but just as nothing says verbal babble interferes with your party's actions, there's nothing that says telepathic babble would interfere with a collective. If you hurt yourself, it spells out HOW, which doesn't include dropping out of a collective.
In short, these spells - like most things in Pathfinder - say what they do. The collective rules specify how someone gets removed from a collective. That's how.