|Andrew Christian Dedicated Voter 2013|
As John Francis said, there is no precedence for being able to threaten but not attack a square.
The very definition of threaten is that you threaten all squares into which you can attack. So by RAW, you can attack into every square you threaten. Its the inverse of the rule that must be true for the rule to be true.
What you, Silbeg, are proposing is that the FAQ is making two instead of one change to the rules, despite it only explicitly making one change.
Isn't it simpler to assume the rules work exactly as they always have except for the one explicit change?