Mounted Combat: When making a charge while mounted, which creature charges? The rider or the mount?
Both charge in unison, suffer the same penalty to AC, the gaining the same bonus to the attack rolls and following all other rules for the charge. The mounted combat rules are a little unclear on this. Replace the third paragraph under the "Combat while Mounted" section on page 202 with the following text. Note that a "mounted charge" is synonymous with a "charge while mounted."
A mounted charge is a charge made by you and your mount. During a mounted charge, you deal double damage with your first melee attack made with a lance or with any weapon if you have Spirited Charge (or a similar effect), or you deal triple damage with a lance and Spirited Charge.
This change will be reflected in future printings of the Pathfinder RPG Core Rulebook
Note that this means you cannot Vital Strike on a mounted charge. Your mount charging does not preclude you from doing something other than charging, though: You can have your mount charge and cast a spell, full attack with a bow, etc. But if you don't charge with your mount, you don't get the benefit of charging: No +2 to attack, no double damage from Spirited Charge.
I know there's a lot of confusion out there, I've shied away from playing Cavaliers since the previous ruling, and the whole can you Vital Strike or can't you has been a table variation thing. I wanted to get this out there for people who don't follow the rules forums much.