42nfl19's page

20 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I am fine with having goblins as a player race. But they always came with the stigma that they were outsiders to be wary of and it was great to roleplay with. I just don't understand the Cha boost. Before they were -2 Str, +4 Dex, and -2 Cha. That thematically made sense. The were small creatures so they were quick and agile but on the scrawny side. They were also ugly and socially..not really nice. So these stats made sense. I just don't understand how they have a +Dex, +Cha, and -Wis with a floating mod. Dex and Wis make sense. They are quick and not really the wisest creatures but cha? The floating mod makes sense based on different heritages/bloodlines. Kind of like Humans are so flexible or how there are so many different types of tieflings with varying ability mods. Has it been explained how this ugly mug of a race suddenly got more charismatic? While stat wise this is a buff, thematically it just does not make sense to me. It almost makes me want to play with the old stat block if I were to ever play a Goblin in PF2.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Looks like there still has been no mention of modifying the 10 barrier. i.e lowering the positive 10 side for more crit successes or increasing the negative 10 barrier to decrease the crit fails.

Mark, is crit fishing still a thing in PF2? It seems like if you want to crit hard and often you just increase your to attack numbers as high as you can. There has been no mention of confirming crits also. It just happens if you hit hard enough. In PF1 you could modify your crit range, damage, confirmation ,etc. Meaning you did not necessarily have to have a super high to hit bonus. So it felt cool that your damage burst out really high sometimes. Unless this information has not been revealed yet like a weapons blog to explain this mechanic.


It shows in the art that the rogue is twf with 2 different weapons. Has PF2 fixed the "problem" that to be "optimal" both twf weapons had to be the same? Certain feats/class features made you literally focus on a certain weapon so to get the full benefit you would need 2 of the same weapon.


So to get a confirmation from the Devs cause I think this thought has been implied but, Do class feats for the rogue equate to the old rogue talents in PF1? In the act of "unifying" or trying to standardize stuff, it can sound confusing also at times.


Since crits seem to revolve around 20's or getting 10 greater than AC, are crit builds even possible? It seems like being a big hitter and being a crit fisher is now the same. Just build/increase your to hit bonus. The cool thing about crit fishers is that you could crit and not really need as high of a to hit bonus. I could be wrong though. Will PF2 have an equivalent? A way to lower the 10+ barrier to crits? Like weapons that are more critable than others like before?


Before Power Attack use to be the go to feat for increasing damage for a strength build. In PF1 if you wanted to do something similar for a dex build,you could use something like Piranha Strike. Technically you could use Power Attack also for dex builds. It seems like the new Power Attack does not care if you use Str or Dex. How easy/hard will it be for someone to opt into a dex build this time around? There was mention of less prereqs when choosing feats. Or will it be the same where the optimal builds are Wizard/Int, Fighter/Str, Rogue/Dex, etc?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Thanks for all the hard work that you do. I did find one issue though. Not sure if this was intended but in the sources page for Potions & Poisons, I could not find any references to any of the drugs. I can't seem to find any references to any drugs by using the search bar also.

Examples can be found on the d20pfsrd from such sources as, Potions & Poisons, Alchemy Manual[Keif, Golden], Black Markets[Keif], and the Game Mastery Guide[Opium] and more.


Wouldn't RAI allow it to work? It seems like the itention is that an arrow can not travel to the shield if a wall is in the way. It seems that the total cover they are refering to has to block line of sight from attacker to shield. Since a tower shield is not being hindered by anything it would seem like it would atttact the arrow. The tower shield is the one attracting the arrow not the user. If it did not attract the arrow in total cover mode but it did in normal use, I would not conceptualy see the difference.

Also for the other question, that is referring to a user with a normal shield.


I have a few questions concerning the interactions of all these things. The first is this. What happens when you have a Tower Shield(in total cover mode) and the shield enhancement Arrow Catching?
I have drawn a simple picture to show the potential interactions.
Figure.

Black circle is the archer. Blue is the guy with the shield. The Red is the ally next to the shield guy. With the Enhancement, ranged attacks would target the shield guy as shown in Figure A. If there is an object which provides total cover which blocks the shield, the attack continues to the red target unhindered. But what about a Tower Shield? The shield is the one with the enhancement but also is the total cover. What should happen in figure C?

As another question, what happens if a shield bearer also has Deflect Arrows or Missile Shield? Can he deflect the arrow that he himself attracted?


OK follow up. I found where I read up that you need a strength check to remove a grappling hook. My question is, does this apply to the other grappling hooks? Are these "rules" specifically mentioned for the Grapple Launcher for the Experimental Gunsmith(Gunslinger) only?

Grapple Launcher:
Grapple Launcher wrote:
Grapple Launcher: The experimental gunsmith's firearm includes a special set of rails that allows her to slide a grappling hook over the barrel and fire it as a full-round action. The grappling hook anchors into anything she successfully hits with an attack roll, and the DC of the Strength check required to pull the grappling hook loose is equal to her attack roll to lodge it in place. A Disable Device check can remove it with a +5 bonus on the check, and a creature struck by the hook can escape it with a combat maneuver check or Escape Artist check with a +5 bonus on the check. The firearm is powerful enough to fire a hook trailing up to 100 feet of rope, but throws off the balance of the experimental gunsmith's firearm, reducing its range increment by 50%.


So preface this by saying this issue came in a recent game where I tried to use a grapple bolt but was told I used it wrong. I thought I was in the right which lead me to read up on grappling hooks and different items which use them, imply certain actions. So here is a crude drawing which demonstrates different ways I think a grappling hook(and its variants) can be applied.

Diagram
A: Grappling Hook catches on a lip
B: Grappling Hook jams its self on the facing getting stuck
C: Grappling Hook can work on an edge
1)
Let's ask the first question, does a grappling hook/arrow/bolt need a specific orientation or placement for it to work? Some wordings says target object or structure with out stating what form it is?
Example: Steadfast Grapple
If yes, we can try and answer the next questions, if the rest is moot.

2)
Next lets go with a normal Grappling Hook. I assume when you throw it, it has to catch a lip i.e. position A. But can a grappling hook be thrown and used like in C?

3)
Now Grappling Arrow/Bolt. Do they function as A? or do they function as B? My thinking is that because you are firing an object it has the force or strength to lodge itself. OR that you are only firing to get effect A cause throwing it is harder. I side on B cause 2 other objects(while magical) reference that it hits the smooth surface or whatever. Cornerstone Crossbow. It mentions "to anchor on corners and walls of structures". Another item is the Caver's Bolt. It says "chooses a solid surface within weapon range".

4)
Now if Grappling Arrows/Bolt do B is true, another question comes up. I read somewhere that removing a grappling arrow/bolt is a strength check vs the attack which hit the wall.
i.e. Ranged attack roll with a crossbow is 1d20+8 and I get an 18. That beats an AC of 5 to hit the target object/structure. Now to remove said arrow/bolt I need a strength check vs DC 18. Can anyone source me on this? I read it somewhere or maybe I was imagining things.

Overall, any closure would be great.


I was able to find this for third party sources.

Power Word Spells: Lore of the First Language- Super Genius Presents.

If you have anymore, I can start updating this list.

For the Occult classes, when I have spare time, I am just going to make a comparison to other known spell lists and see which are similar or common. From there we can somewhat justify which word list we can use for them.


Azten wrote:
I think a number of cheap pdfs from Paizo expanding on the list would do well. I wasn't disappointed by the ones I bought from 3rd party publishers.

There are third party word lists? Care to share who or where?


For the occult classes, are any of their spell lists similar to other classes' spell lists?


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 2 people marked this as a favorite.

I have a question but I am not sure if this is the right board to ask.

For those who do not know, Words of Power is a magic rules variant which enables players to lego block build spells. As I was looking through the Word Listsfor certain classes, the word lists were not updated for newer classes.

Hybrid Classes[Bloodrager, Shaman]
Occult Classes [Medium, Mesmerist, Occultist, Psychic, Spiritualist]

I mean if it was as simple as the Arcanist(Hybrid class) which just pulls from the Wizard/Sorcerer spells list it would be simple.

For the Bloodrager you could say he pulls from the sorcerer word list and the Shaman maybe some weird combo of Witch and Oracle.

I would not even know where to start with the Occult classes.

This would be moot point if Paizo decided to stop supporting Words of Power for future classes with spell casting capabilities.


I have a question on Challenge Evil and maybe mind-affecting spells in general.

In my game I have a Paladin with this spell. Now that is all find and dandy but he has a Squire Paladin who will eventually gain spells also. What happens if they both cast Challenge Evil http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic/all-spells/c/challenge-evil on the same target? Will second application of the spell override the first application those changing "ownership"? Or will both paladins double team the enemy where he is always sickened unless he has an aoe/multi attack that can hit both paladins?

This question was for Challenge Evil but what about other mind-affecting spells in general? For example: Dominate Person? http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic/all-spells/d/dominate-person Do both dominators share the creature or does the second one override the first one? Can the second one even be applied?


With a level dip Wizard(Spellslinger) you can channel your magus spell through your arcane gun first. Arcane gun says you can channel ANY spell through it unlike a Magus' spellstrike which specifically calls for a spell in the Magus spell list. So sack a wizard spell to enchant your gun +1 as a swift one turn, then swift another turn to +1 again with arcane pool. Then when your gun all beefed up, channel your Snowball spell(the ranged equivalent to shocking grasp) through your gun with a +2 to attack or +2 to save (but do mudball if you want a better reflex save maybe), then shoot your enemy in the head with a ranged spell strike. So its like throwing a snowball at kid's head with a rock in it...but the rock is a bullet. And we haven't touched ranged spellcombat yet so get ready to chuck another ro- I mean bullet at him. Now if you use ranged spell strike you don't attack vs their touch ac...wait a minute you do if you are in the first range increment with a firearm WHICH YOU HAVE.

Now if I am wrong in any of this rambling, please correct me.

(This "build"/theory craft is based on a Wizard1(Spell Slinger),Magus4(Eldritch Archer) so the numbers are sure to change)

Edit: Snowball has a saving throw effect for staggered. So if you want to raise the DC to that you can, but I think it's better to get the +2 to attack.


I am sure this was mentioned but I don't have the time to go through all the posts but what what happens to the spell Cleanse and Persistence Inquisition? Cleanse is a standard action which enables you to remove the Nauseated effect. But per the rules you can't even use the spell. Kind of like a catch 22 of sorts. Does this mean nauseated should be removed from the spell? I mean you can't even use the spell on other people effected with nausea cause it's range personal. Persistence Inquisition gets Inner Strength which enables you to remove nausea with a swift action. But then again you can't use it cause only move action. If Inner Strength were allowed then you could somehow allow Lay on Hand where a paladin with with the Mercy for Nausea could self remove as a swift action. Lay on Hands does not need a concentration check to use in combat so technically it would not break the nausea clause where you can't do actions that you need concentration on cause you never needed concentration checks for it in the first place?

Please correct me if I am wrong in any of this rambling.

Overall, if the Nauseated effect is stand-firm in it's wording, does that mean there needs to be a FAQ or changes to all abilities that clear the nauseated effect from the self? I mean all abilities that target the user themselves. Lay on Hands with the Nauseated Mercy could still be used on players but cannot be cured on the self.


I'm a little confused. In this FAQ, it implies that it should be ok?
http://paizo.com/paizo/faq/v5748nruor1fn#v5748eaic9thg
You have Deeds as the main feature and the deeds inside are the sub features which are changed. Is deeds FAQed differently to say otherwise?


I need a clarification for the Siege Gunner archetype for the Gunslinger. The archetype changes the normal classes Deeds but they way it does makes it confusing or conflicting.

"A siege gunner swaps a pair of deeds of her choosing for the following."

Ok this implies that to use the new deeds from the archetype you can trade any deed for the new ones. Does that mean you can choose to not trade and keep your normal deeds? Besides that, when you look at the new deeds, it tells you that you can only trade for these specific deeds.

Targeted Blast (Ex): At 1st level, when using a firearm or siege engine that targets an area rather than a specific creature, the siege gunner can spend 1 grit point to focus the brunt of the blast on a single creature within the target area. The target creature takes 1 additional point of damage for each level the siege gunner possesses. This is precision damage and is not multiplied on a critical hit. At 5th level and for every 5 levels the siege gunner possesses beyond that, she can select an additional creature to target with this bonus damage. Targets must be selected before any attack rolls or saving throws are made. [[This ability replaces deadeye.]]

Scattershot (Ex): At 3rd level, if the siege gunner has at least 1 grit point, she can increase the effectiveness of scattering shots from hand-held firearms and blast shots from siege engines. The cone radius of scattering shots or blast shots increases by 5 feet for every three levels the siege gunner possesses (to a maximum of 30 feet at 18th level). [[This ability replaces gunslinger initiative.]]

Overall, the reason I am asking is for the sake of stacking different archetypes. I want to combine this with Pistolero but they both modify Deadeye, but with different interpretations of Siege Gunner, it does not so it is able to stack together.