Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Clover

3rdclass's page

Pathfinder Society Member. 14 posts. 1 review. No lists. 1 wishlist. 4 Pathfinder Society characters.



Liberty's Edge

Was it intended that Merciful Healers were not intended to use the harm feature of the variant channeling, since they are only allowed to channel positive energy, and cannot use said energy to harm undead? Or should they be able to channel positive energy to harm, even if they are of good alignment, and only get the harm benefit from the variant.

Example:
Cleric of Milani: Healing Domain to satisfy Merciful Healer requirement; Additional domain includes Protection, for variant Channeling (Heal:+2AC/Harm:-2AC)

Can this cleric use the Harm variant at all?

Some would say that a good-aligned cleric can only use negative energy to harm (and cannot, due the Merciful Healer requirement).

Some would said that a good-aligned cleric can only use positive energy to harm undead creatures. So does reducing the AC of the undead creature qualify as "harming"? (if yes, again, not allowed under the merciful healer requirements)

Some would say that due to the variant channeling, the cleric's deity allows the cleric to channel it power with more flexibility and so should be able to "harm" with positive energy even against living creatures (but only with the variant ability, not the normal half *d6 positive energy damage).

So WSY (what say you)?

Liberty's Edge

Why or why not? And please provide references?

Liberty's Edge

Reading through the new Guide to PFS play, on page 22, it talks about getting a chronicle sheet for reading Pathfinder Tales Novels. I just finished Prince of Wolves and didn't see anything in there. Has anyone found any of these yet?

Liberty's Edge

2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

I hope this is the right place to post this, I couldn't find any other threads that discussed it.

As an aside, LOVE the APG, kudos to the Pathfinder folks who wrote it.

The feat reads:
Racial Heritage
The blood of a non-human ancestor flows in your veins.
Prerequisite: Human.
Benefit: Choose another humanoid race. You count as
both human and that race for any effects related to race.
For example, if you choose dwarf, you are considered both
a human and a dwarf for the purpose of taking traits, feats,
how spells and magic items affect you, and so on.

The way I read this is that I create my human character, get all my human traits (including the +2 for "varied nature"), then pick my feats and if I pick something like Half-Elf or Half Orc, I get another +2 "varied nature" (total +4)...

I am not sure this feat was meant to be this powerful (in the case of HE): +2 ability score; Low-light Vision; Bonus Feat (basicially free); immune to sleep; +2 perception; and either an additional +1hp or +1 skill point. Seems out of balance compared to the other feats.

With a starting ability score of 18 (through point purchase), I was able to make a character with a level 1 Charisma ability score of 22, which seems high. Just looking for thoughts on this, if I have misread this. Any feedback would be great. My GM will likely have some things to say as well, but I wanted to get a variety of answers.

Maybe we should add,"Through your your years of adventuring, you discover that you are not a standard sample of your race. You discover that your heritage closely resembles some non-humans you have met. You cannot take this feat at character creation."

Thoughts?


©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.