Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

PaizoCon 2014!

Evoking Day

Tuesday, November 13, 2012

Wow, it has been a while since we had a holiday blog. Well, back by popular demand, we are offering you a new bit of info on a Golarion holiday, as we celebrate our own federal holiday here in the United States—Veteran’s Day. As a veteran myself, I want to send out a heartfelt thank you to veterans of all five services. I know the sacrifice you have made for your country, and without your service and sacrifice, I couldn’t have the cool job I have today. Take a minute to pat yourself on the back and reflect on your decision to unselfishly volunteer years of your life to make this country great.

Developer Adam Daigle gets his first shot at a Golarion holiday write up. He wrote the below description for Evoking Day and you will find a special Pathfinder Society Chronicle sheet you can download and apply to a Pathfinder Society character. Evoking Day is mentioned on page 249 of Pathfinder Campaign Setting: The Inner Sea World Guide.

A holy day to followers of Nethys, Evoking Day is full of vibrant explosions, skillful wielding of spells, and much dancing. Evoking Day is observed on the 18th of Neth, and while this holiday is mostly celebrated in Garund, temples dedicated to Nethys host celebrations throughout the Inner Sea region. Traditional celebrations of Evoking Day have changed over the thousands of years since its first incarnation, but to this day every occurrence of Evoking Day still features a grand meal shared by celebrants during the afternoon and a wondrous exhibition of brilliant and explosive magic once the sun sets. These days, such colorful magical displays are augmented with fireworks of a dozen different colors and patterns.

In temples of Nethys dedicated to revering evocation magic, priests and prominent arcanists participate in spell duels where each contestant stands on a raised platform and takes turns trying to incapacitate her opponent. The magic wielded in theses duels favors the flashy over the dangerous, but clerics of Nethys are on hand to treat any injuries. These duels gather large crowds eager to lend their applause to their favorite contestant.

It is also during this festival when wizards who worship Nethys open their spellbooks to others who share their craft. Wizards normally guard their spellbooks with their lives and covet the eldritch information therein, but on Evoking Day these wizards meet with one another prior to the afternoon feast to share their spells just as they prepare to share a grand meal.

Though Evoking Day is primarily a day of grand magic, those with no spellcasting talent still flock to local temples of Nethys to partake in the shared feast and flashy evening displays of magic and fireworks. Between the meal and into the night, celebrants wear black-and-white robes and perform joyous dances meant to give thanks to the wonders Nethys brought to humankind. These dances are grand affairs involving dozens of dancers all spinning and clapping to the accompanying music as their black-and-white robes fan out around them with each spin. As night descends and the fireworks and magical displays begin, the dancing rises to a climax erupting in shouts and calls to Nethys with each thunderous boom.

Click here to download the Evoking Day 4712 Boon! — 82 KB (zip/PDF) This Boon is no longer available as of 12/17/12.

Mike Brock
Pathfinder Society Campaign Coordinator

More Paizo Blog.
Tags: Pathfinder Society
1 to 50 of 51 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
***** Venture-Lieutenant, Illinois—Carbondale aka Disturbed1

My players are going to be happy wtih this news. I've several asking when the next holiday boon would be coming out.

Grand Lodge ****

Stoked!

Qadira **** Venture-Lieutenant, Netherlands—Amsterdam aka Seraphimpunk

yay.

Cheliax ****

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Maps, Modules Subscriber

Super pleased.

Our non-gameday-events this month should get a boost from it, too!

Silver Crusade ****

I was wondering when one of these would wander around again. :)

Andoran *

My local group is going to be thrilled - also with our first public event at our FLGS to happen on the 25th, this will make an excellent gift to new players!

Thanks guys. Very awesome.

Grand Lodge ** RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

So for those of us who are too impatient to wait until getting home from work to look at this, what does the PFS boon grant?

Qadira ****

+5 on knowledge arcana/spell craft once.

scribe* one spell to a spell/formula book for free.

*you still have to pay for the scroll or whatever, but the inks and junk are waved for one spell.

**

Nice, wizards will love this :)

Grand Lodge **

This is great! I've been wanting another holiday to come around since my Magus got married on Archerfeast!

Silver Crusade **

Excellent, just in time for my chapter of PFS this Friday :D

***

Thanks for boon! Fun stuff. I haz a happy. :-)

Qadira ****

I printed off 10 of them to hand out at my PFS event tomorrow night. I think its really cool :D

Lantern Lodge **** Venture-Lieutenant, Washington—Spokane

Thanks, this will be great for our game this week.

*

Why on earth would you buy a scroll just to scribe a spell into your spell book? Wouldn't you want to use the rules for buying spells from NPCs on page 219 of the CRB?

Silver Crusade ****

Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

Sweet! Our game day on Dec 1st, just got a whole bunch cooler. Thanks!

Shadow Lodge ****

I need a clarification on these

Can you only apply it to 1 Character period ?

or can you apply to multiple characters that are played within the time frame ?

or is there another way that I am missing I am missing

Grand Lodge **

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules Subscriber
Wraith235 wrote:

I need a clarification on these

Can you only apply it to 1 Character period ?

or can you apply to multiple characters that are played within the time frame ?

or is there another way that I am missing I am missing

One character only.

(Unless this differs from previous seasonal boons, which I doubt very much.)

Paizo Employee ***** Pathfinder Society Campaign Coordinator

Paz wrote:


One character only.

(Unless this differs from previous seasonal boons, which I doubt very much.)

Thanks Paz. You beat me to the punch. One character only.

Grand Lodge **

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules Subscriber
Wraithcannon wrote:
Why on earth would you buy a scroll just to scribe a spell into your spell book? Wouldn't you want to use the rules for buying spells from NPCs on page 219 of the CRB?

You can't buy spells from NPCs that way in organised play; it's scroll purchases only. See the FAQ on the topic:

Quote:
If you don't find a scroll of a given spell during the course of an adventure, you have to buy the scroll to learn it. An NPC isn't just going to give you access to his spells for free, and purchasing a scroll of that spell represents the cost of gaining access to his spellbook.


Very cool! I love the Golarion holiday write-ups.

Grabbed the boon in case I want to reference it later for something. (I'm not an active participant in the Society.)

Shadow Lodge ***** Venture-Captain, Michigan—Alma

I just wanted to make sure... Once per player, doesn't matter if you gm and play in the time, right?

Paizo Employee ***** Pathfinder Society Campaign Coordinator

Eric Clingenpeel wrote:
I just wanted to make sure... Once per player, doesn't matter if you gm and play in the time, right?

Correct. One per player.

Shadow Lodge ****

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
Michael Brock wrote:
Eric Clingenpeel wrote:
I just wanted to make sure... Once per player, doesn't matter if you gm and play in the time, right?
Correct. One per player.

In that case, does a GM have to apply it to the same character they give their GM credit to for that game? Thanks!

Paizo Employee ***** Pathfinder Society Campaign Coordinator

Mike Bramnik wrote:
Michael Brock wrote:
Eric Clingenpeel wrote:
I just wanted to make sure... Once per player, doesn't matter if you gm and play in the time, right?
Correct. One per player.
In that case, does a GM have to apply it to the same character they give their GM credit to for that game? Thanks!

No

Andoran ***

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Card Game, Companion, Modules Subscriber
Michael Brock wrote:
Eric Clingenpeel wrote:
I just wanted to make sure... Once per player, doesn't matter if you gm and play in the time, right?
Correct. One per player.

Ummm. Is that a recent change? I could have sworn that previously it as answered that you could get one for playing and one for GMing during the time period...

And if this has been true in the past, I am going to have to remove some boon chronicles, because I was operating under the impression that it was like any non-Tier 1 chronicle...

Andoran * Venture-Lieutenant, Oregon—Eugene aka marv

My arcane casting players will love this on Saturday!

*

See the FAQ on the topic:

Quote:
If you don't find a scroll of a given spell during the course of an adventure, you have to buy the scroll to learn it. An NPC isn't just going to give you access to his spells for free, and purchasing a scroll of that spell represents the cost of gaining access to his spellbook.

Nah, I'll stick with the one change listed.

Quote:
Pages 219–220 in the Pathfinder RPG Core Rulebook discuss how to handle a wizard’s spellbook, but Pathfinder Society makes one adjustment to these rules: a wizard does not have to purchase a scroll found during the course of a scenario in order to copy that scroll into her spellbook. The wizard only needs to spend the time, succeed on the appropriate checks, and spend the amount of gold listed on the table on page 219 of the Pathfinder RPG Core Rulebook. Keep in mind that the process of copying a spell from a magic scroll into a wizard’s spellbook removes the spell from the copied scroll, turning it into a blank piece of normal parchment. The normal rules for finding items during the course of a scenario are that they can be used during the scenario but must be purchased after the scenario in order to be kept. This clarification for wizards and their spellbooks is the singular exception to the gear rules.

So, if you find a scroll during the adventure, you can scribe it for the cost of the ink. Anything past that is more than one change, isn't it?

Grand Lodge **

Pathfinder Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules Subscriber

Well, you can choose to ignore that part of the FAQ if you want, I was only trying to help! I think the language is pretty unambiguous.

There have been some long threads on the topic if you want further clarity.

(One quick search later...)

Ah, here we go:

Dragnmoon wrote:
Including on those pages are rules for buying Spells from NPC wizards, can we are cannot we learn spells that way? or do we have to buy "Magic Items" (Scrolls) to learn spells outside of the scenario?
Mark Moreland wrote:
If you don't find a scroll of a given spell during the course of an adventure, you have to buy the scroll to learn it.

It looks like that clarification has just been pasted straight into the FAQ, in fact.

Grand Lodge *

Michael Brock wrote:
Eric Clingenpeel wrote:
I just wanted to make sure... Once per player, doesn't matter if you gm and play in the time, right?
Correct. One per player.

Thanks Boss! Appreciate the boon!

I'll apply these to my PbP PFS games at the moment and take a single one for myself as GM for one of my characters and not take one for the game I am playing in.

Shadow Lodge *

Benrislove wrote:

+5 on knowledge arcana/spell craft once.

scribe* one spell to a spell/formula book for free.

*you still have to pay for the scroll or whatever, but the inks and junk are waved for one spell.

For a Memorial Day Boon? . . . Is there more stuff for Non-Wizards (or Alchy's), too, or is that it? I'm not complaining, just, meh.

But, it's free. And I'll give it a look when I can and see for myself. :)

Shadow Lodge *

Helaman wrote:
Michael Brock wrote:
Eric Clingenpeel wrote:
I just wanted to make sure... Once per player, doesn't matter if you gm and play in the time, right?
Correct. One per player.

Thanks Boss! Appreciate the boon!

I'll apply these to my PbP PFS games at the moment and take a single one for myself as GM for one of my characters and not take one for the game I am playing in.

Wow, I wasn't aware of that either. Looks like it's time to redo some stuff. Does this apply to the Boons from the PF Novels, too?

Questions:
And I'm not sure how this is suppossed to work. Is the Boon granted to the player, (and thus they can apply it to any of thir characters), or to the Player and the character that actually recieves credit at the same time as the Boon? I have 4 PbP games going, and I think only 2 poeple total will benefit from this Boon with their existing characters. So the reason I am asking is that if all those other characters that recieve it can only apply it to that character, I'd rather not give them the Boon for that character, and let them get it for another character that could use it.

Shadow Lodge ***** Venture-Captain, Michigan—Alma

No, he's said numerous times that PF Novels are one per character, not player.

Shadow Lodge *

Eric Clingenpeel wrote:
No, he's said numerous times that PF Novels are one per character, not player.

Oh good. That would hav been interesting, in a very bad way. :) I've missed all the talk about this topic, and I have always assumed that these types of Boons where exceptions to the rules and assigned to the Character right along with the Chronicle Sheet. Seems much simpler that way, too.

Qadira *

Pathfinder Modules Subscriber

If a PBP spans the entire time of this Holiday but ends afterward can I still give this to my players, or does it need to end, and thus be recorded, in the time span of the Holiday?

Lantern Lodge **** Venture-Lieutenant, Washington—Spokane

My guess is that you can only receive one of these boons but I wanted to be sure on this one in the event I receive on at the game I play tomorrow. I play in a game on Thursdays at one location and GM one on Fridays at another location. Am I only allowed to accept one of these boons or am I allowed to give myself one and receive on from the GM at the Thursday game. Just getting clarification and thank you in advance.

Another note, one of the players at the same game on Thursday plays in my Friday game as well which is another reason for the clarification. Thanks again.

Grand Lodge ****

Michael Brock wrote:
Eric Clingenpeel wrote:
I just wanted to make sure... Once per player, doesn't matter if you gm and play in the time, right?
Correct. One per player.

Is this in the guide to organized play?

Taldor ***** Venture-Captain, Florida—Clearwater aka Magical_Beast

Wooooooot! Another holiday boon and just in time for our next game day!

Paizo Employee ***** Pathfinder Society Campaign Coordinator

sveden wrote:
Michael Brock wrote:
Eric Clingenpeel wrote:
I just wanted to make sure... Once per player, doesn't matter if you gm and play in the time, right?
Correct. One per player.
Is this in the guide to organized play?

It's in the FAQ.

Lantern Lodge **** Venture-Lieutenant, Washington—Spokane

Thank you. Between the FAQ and this post, my question has been answered.

Osirion **** Venture-Lieutenant, California—San Rafael

Nice.

Grand Lodge *

Very odd. Until right now, that Link showed nothing at all about the Boon questions, just animal companions and familiars, (and I checked from both computer and phone) and I was wondering what you all where going on about? I see it now, though.

*

Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

On the Evoking Day boon sheet there is no '--' in the Fame section. If the character earning the Boon gained 2 Prestige, do I add another 2 Prestige gained here?

Also there spot for Day Jobs does not have '--', does that mean the character that gained the Prestige gets a Day Job roll?

Qadira *

Pathfinder Modules Subscriber

I don’t know why those things are not crossed out, but no, you don’t get any of that extra stuff for free.

Paizo Employee ***** Pathfinder Society Campaign Coordinator

harmor wrote:

On the Evoking Day boon sheet there is no '--' in the Fame section. If the character earning the Boon gained 2 Prestige, do I add another 2 Prestige gained here?

Also there spot for Day Jobs does not have '--', does that mean the character that gained the Prestige gets a Day Job roll?

No day jobs, XP, GP, etc... for holiday boons or Pathfinder Tales boons or other special Chronicle sheets.

Grand Lodge

So, what *does* need to be filled out? I'm referencing both the Pathfinder Society FAQ (which just says that a player may assign it to any of his characters during those dates) and my GM's question regarding play-by-post games.

FWIW, I looked in the Guide v4.2 and couldn't find anything at all about holiday boons. Maybe they're explained better in their first appearance or two? I'll see what I can find in the blog, but it should be easier. (Maybe even a different form.)

Edit: That didn't help much. Jestercap was the first. Most have the link de-linkified and crossed out, but Conquest Day has it deleted entirely, and Archerfeast has the link still active. But I made a list of holiday boons anyway.

****

I simply fill out the gold, pp, day job, and xp as zero to ensure there's no confusion or questions.

*

Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

For the 4.3 guide, having a little paragraph about how to handle holiday boons would be nice.

1 to 50 of 51 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder Society® / General Discussion / Paizo Blog: Evoking Day All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.