Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

PaizoCon 2014!

Revenge of the Son of the FAQ Attack!

Tuesday, February 21, 2012

It’s back, and it wants revenge!

Inappropriately Sized Firearms (Ultimate Combat, page 136): Does this allow a Medium or smaller creature to use larger firearms of any size?

The text of the rule is, "The size of a firearm never affects how many hands you need to use to shoot it." The intent of that rule was to prevent a Medium character from using a Small rifle as a one-handed pistol; it wasn’t intended to let a Medium character use a Large, Huge, Gargantuan, or Colossal two-handed firearm as a two-handed weapon. Just like with non-firearms, a creature cannot wield a weapon that’s far too big or small for it. Specifically in the case of firearms, a Medium character can’t use a two-handed firearm sized for a Large or larger creature, and a Small character can’t use a two-handed firearm sized for a Medium or larger creature.

Pounce (Bestiary, page 302): If have this ability, can I make iterative attacks with weapons as part of my full attack?

Any attack sequence you can perform as a full attack is allowed as part of the charge-pounce-full attack. For example, a barbarian with the greater beast totem rage power gains pounce universal monster ability and could make iterative attacks with manufactured weapons as part of her charge-pounce-full attack.

Spell Combat (Ultimate Magic, page 10): Can a magus use this ability with cantrips?

Yes. It is not limited to spells of level 1 or higher.

Rage Mutagen (Ultimate Combat, page 25): Is the Strength bonus for this archetype ability in addition to the normal bonus for a Strength mutagen?

No, the +6 replaces the normal +4 Strength bonus of the alchemist’s Strength mutagen. This will be clarified in a future printing of Ultimate Combat.

Page 25—In the Ragechemist archetype, in the Rage Mutagen class feature, change the first sentence to read as follows:

"At 2nd level, whenever a ragechemist creates a mutagen that improves his Strength, that mutagen’s bonus to Strength increases by +2 and penalizes the alchemist’s Intelligence score."

Sean K Reynolds
Designer

More Paizo Blog.
Tags: Frequently Asked Questions Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
1 to 50 of 211 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | next > last >>
RPG Superstar 2014 Top 4, RPG Superstar 2013 Top 32

Hurray! More FAQ!

Taldor

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Modules, Tales Subscriber

RageLancePounce lives on!

AM will be happy.

Cheliax

FAQ and errata all in one, I love this blog.

Plea, at any time can we please address the wild rager?

Silver Crusade

I'm sad about Pounce. Really sad. Made more sense with natural attacks only, it's not like the barbarian would have any difficulty getting a lot of them.

Andoran

Yay for clarifications! Now maybe some arguments will die. Thank you very much.

Silver Crusade

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Card Game, Companion Subscriber

What's that sound? It's AM BARBARIAN popping a bottle of champagne!

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

5 people marked this as a favorite.

Three in a row? I really hope this is a sign of a new trend!

Taldor

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Modules, Tales Subscriber
Maxximilius wrote:
I'm sad about Pounce. Really sad. Made more sense with natural attacks only, it's not like the barbarian would have any difficulty getting a lot of them.

I think it's worth noting that the barbarian pounce is high level and is a bit of a trap if natural only because of the difficulty of overcoming DR with natural weapons.

It is also of note that locking out pounce would make it harder to apply to any other class/archetype/prestige class.

And, personally, I find the idea that someone who can pounce can not do so with the weapons they have spent 15 levels mastering to be a bit odd.


The barbarian horde rejoices....then pounces on the party of sulking wizards in the back corner.

Cheliax

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Modules Subscriber

Yeah, hopefully this will put an end to all the questions regarding spellcombat with Arcane Mark.

I'm loving the Faq attacks.


Thanks for these Sean, they really help clarify arguments at the table! :D


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion Subscriber

Thanks SKR!


yay, the firearm FAQ was well needed, the pounce however makes we wonder if you can use it with ranged weapons.
For example, I have a dagger and a revolver, I charge monster X, and 15 feet from him is monster Y, can I full attack monster x with my dagger while shooting at monster Y (let's disregard attacks of opportunity).

I ask because the way I read it, pounce overwrites a passage that has "melee" in it, but doesn't repeat melee full round attack.
Possible brokenness could come from the scout archetype (possibly with sap master and guns, charge the lvl 1 goblin and shoot the villain instead, while dodging all AoO without a problem).


SKR, your titular mastery of the FAQ Blog is unparalleled!

Andoran

Is there anything anywhere that says your claw attacks must be made with your hands opposed to your feet?

It occurs to me than an Eidolon specifically allows you to have the Claws evolution it's feet, so what's to stop a barbarian from Charging up with Pounce and get claw attacks from their feet and also getting their normal weapon attacks that they are holding in their hands?


Sean you might want to verify if you really meant any attack sequence instead of melee attacks which is the the core rules say.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

This FAQ thread is going to get long. Thanks for the reiteration of the pounce rules and may Pharasma have mercy on the souls that will be lost in this debate.


Thanks for the FAQ's. :)


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Although I can't help but think that the main question about Spell Combat was arcane mark, not if cantrips can be used.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

More FAQ is Good FAQ!


Dotting so I can keep checking back to see AM's reply.

Andoran

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Companion, Modules, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

At least all the magi will leave a trail of dead bodies with Arcane Mark leading right to them.

Designer, RPG Superstar Judge

wraithstrike wrote:
Sean you might want to verify if you really meant any attack sequence instead of melee attacks which is the the core rules say.

The charge rule limits you to melee attacks.

The pounce rule says you can make a full attack when you charge, but doesn't invalidate the rest of the restrictions of the charge rule (melee only).

Technically, the FAQ just clarifies that the pounce rule doesn't limit you to just natural attacks, and thus doesn't invalidate the rest of the charge rules (melee only), but when I add this to the actual FAQ I'll make sure it's clear that the FAQ answer isn't opening up this combo for non-melee attacks.


Lol @ the blog entry name :)


Maybe just use the Charge rules for the Pounce FAQ entry:

Pounce (Ex) A creature with this ability can perform the Pounce-Charge special attack.

Pounce-Charge
Pounce-Charging is a special full-round action that allows you to move up to twice your speed and make a full attack (including rake attacks if the creature also has the rake ability) during the action. Pounce-Charging, however, carries tight restrictions on how you can move.

Movement During a Pounce-Charge: You must move before your attack, not after. You must move at least 10 feet (2 squares) and may move up to double your speed directly toward the designated opponent. If you move a distance equal to your speed or less, you can also draw a manufactured weapon during a pounce-charge attack if your base attack bonus is at least +1.

You must have a clear path toward the opponent, and nothing can hinder your movement (such as difficult terrain or obstacles). You must move to the closest space from which you can attack the opponent. If this space is occupied or otherwise blocked, you can't pounce-charge. If any line from your starting space to the ending space passes through a square that blocks movement, slows movement, or contains a creature (even an ally), you can't pounce-charge. Helpless creatures don't stop a pounce-charge.

If you don't have line of sight to the opponent at the start of your turn, you can't pounce-charge that opponent.

You can't take a 5-foot step in the same round as a pounce-charge.

If you are able to take only a standard action on your turn, you can’t pounce-charge.

Attacking on a Pounce-Charge: After moving, you may make a full melee attack (including rake attacks if the creature also has the rake ability). You get a +2 bonus on all attack rolls and take a –2 penalty to your AC until the start of your next turn.

A pounce-charging character gets a +2 bonus on combat maneuver attack rolls made to bull rush an opponent.

Lances and Pounce-Charge Attacks: Since a mounted character can’t pounce-charge, a lance does not deal double damage in a pounce-charge.

Weapons Readied against a Pounce-Charge: Spears, tridents, and other weapons with the brace feature deal double damage when readied (set) and used against a pounce-charging character.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I really don't think that's necessary.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

These FAQ blogs are getting better while their names are getting worse!


19 people marked this as a favorite.

BARBARIAN LIKE TO THANK ALL PEOPLE WHO AM MAKE THIS POSSIBLE. AMOUNT PRETTY MUCH ENTIRELY TO BUTTHURT CASTYS WHO AM NOT LIKING RAGELANCEPOUNCE AND PEOPLE WHO AM ALSO TREX.

BARBARIAN ONCE RIDE FLYING TREX, BUT FIND NOT AS SUBTLE AS BATTY BAT.

BARBARIAN ALSO NOTE MANY PEOPLE EXPECTING SPEECH. BARBARIAN NOT WANT DISAPPOINT, BUT IF BARBARIAN SPEND MORE THAN 50 SECONDS TAKING, MUST RAGELANCEPOUNCE BARBARIAN OUT OF SENSE OF FAIR PLAY.

INSTEAD, BARBARIAN INVITE EVERYONE TO PARTY AT BARBARIAN PLACE. AM NULL MAGIC DEMIPLANE NEXT TO BREWERY AND BROTHEL. NOT MISS IT.


Pounce with a lance? Never. Even multiattack with a lance is ridicolous.


3 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I love AM Barbarian.

Sorry, just had to say that.


jreyst wrote:

I love AM Barbarian.

Sorry, just had to say that.

/agree

Everytime I want to rip out my hair reading some moronic jackass's take on a rule, all I have to do is go look at AM's posts and I always feel better.

AM forever.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I can just see next week's FAQ ("Return of the Revenge of the Son of the FAQ Attack!") now:

Quote:


Do lances deal their extra charging damage on attacks other than the first successful hit?

No.

I'd laugh.


That would mean that next next week FAQ would need name like FAQ: Resurrection after AM is done with it.


HOORAY FOR ONGOING FAQ/ERRATA BLOG POSTS!!! KEEP IT GOING!!!

Seriously, I just want to know how many more times I need to voice approval for these regular FAQ blog updates for them to get firmly cemented into a weekly blog feature. Please tell me, cause I *will* do whatever is necessary to make it happen. Just saying...


My humble suggestions for future FAQ weekly blog names:

How about "Beneath the Planet of the FAQ Attack"?

or my favorite:

"Life, Liberty, and Pursuit on the Planet of the FAQ Attack"

That would be really boss.

MSG

Taldor

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Modules, Tales Subscriber
Cheapy wrote:

I can just see next week's FAQ ("Return of the Revenge of the Son of the FAQ Attack!") now:

Quote:


Do lances deal their extra charging damage on attacks other than the first successful hit?

No.

I'd laugh.

Why? How would that be funny?


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Mostly the seemingly planned decision to clarify the rules as they've always been on one week (with AM clearly being the catalyst), and the next week they take away the main bit of damage from ragelancepounce. Build up one week, then knock down the next. If that happened, I'd laugh and then lament.

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

Here's a candidate for a future installment. 22 clicks and counting in an hour and a half.

Seems worthwhile, eh?


The strange thing is that this was already done. In a very long thread were AM presented the ragelancepounce build a developer said that the totem was not intended to be used this way, that the ability "pounce" was designed for natural weapons. I like that. I would also permit a 2 weapons user to attack with both.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I'm quite sure they have a list of all those FAQ'd threads, ordered by number of FAQ requests ;)


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
AlecStorm wrote:
The strange thing is that this was already done. In a very long thread were AM presented the ragelancepounce build a developer said that the totem was not intended to be used this way, that the ability "pounce" was designed for natural weapons. I like that. I would also permit a 2 weapons user to attack with both.

Which developer said that? Was it JB, SKR, or SMR? I do not recall seeing any of the developers weigh in on that previous.


Don't remember, sorry. Since I'm not interested in havin "the official rules about..." I just take what is useful for my game. I'm discussing about that because I'd like that PF mantains a more serious style and this sounds to me as a big error.

Silver Crusade

So the barbarian wearing Rhino Hide armor is still able to rage-pounce-lance with 4 attacks, 5 if hasted all in one move?


Sean K Reynolds wrote:
wraithstrike wrote:
Sean you might want to verify if you really meant any attack sequence instead of melee attacks which is the the core rules say.

The charge rule limits you to melee attacks.

The pounce rule says you can make a full attack when you charge, but doesn't invalidate the rest of the restrictions of the charge rule (melee only).

Technically, the FAQ just clarifies that the pounce rule doesn't limit you to just natural attacks, and thus doesn't invalidate the rest of the charge rules (melee only), but when I add this to the actual FAQ I'll make sure it's clear that the FAQ answer isn't opening up this combo for non-melee attacks.

Great blog posts!

Keep up the excellent work!
I hope someday we see a blog post on haste being able to affect creatures with natural attack as well. You already said in another thread it will be fixed in the next edition, but some may not know this.

Also the recurring question if the bonus from furious weapons, bane weapons, Hol y Avenger, etc. count for bypassing DR would be nice to have a verdict on. But all in due time :-)


Cheapy wrote:
Which developer said that? Was it JB, SKR, or SMR? I do not recall seeing any of the developers weigh in on that previous.

It was James Jacobs. So, not really official errata or anything. I think he has said it a few times, but you can see one here.

EDIT: Oh yes, and "Yay, FAQ!" It is great to have a few of these little issues worked out every week. Now I just have to wait until they get to how the heck Master Craftsman is supposed to work.


AlecStorm wrote:
Don't remember, sorry. Since I'm not interested in havin "the official rules about..." I just take what is useful for my game. I'm discussing about that because I'd like that PF mantains a more serious style and this sounds to me as a big error.

Well, one developer commented that it was not intended. It happens I write lots of things that aren't treated as intended. But, when an FAQ comes out that generally means the question was tossed around the office and multiple developers came to the conclusion to leave it work that way.

If you prefer to have games where people can't use iterative attacks on a pounce feel free to do so. Just don't let me catch you crying later about how martial characters don't get nice things.


Pounce should really just be natural attacks. I would even go one step further and say natural attacks of Animal creature types only. Any other creature type does not benefit from Pounce at all. That would certainly solve much debate about this Universal Monster Rule. Why this applies to player characters at all I have no idea.


cibet44 wrote:
Pounce should really just be natural attacks. I would even go one step further and say natural attacks of Animal creature types only. Any other creature type does not benefit from Pounce at all. That would certainly solve much debate about this Universal Monster Rule. Why this applies to player characters at all I have no idea.

Said universal monster rule is handed out to barbarians, rangers, spellcasters and druids. So I don't understand the point of emphasis.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
TarkXT wrote:
cibet44 wrote:
Pounce should really just be natural attacks. I would even go one step further and say natural attacks of Animal creature types only. Any other creature type does not benefit from Pounce at all. That would certainly solve much debate about this Universal Monster Rule. Why this applies to player characters at all I have no idea.
Said universal monster rule is handed out to barbarians, rangers, spellcasters and druids. So I don't understand the point of emphasis.

And then players couldn't have damage reduction, flight, climb speed, natural attacks, resistance, or anything else. Oh noes!

Designer, RPG Superstar Judge

6 people marked this as a favorite.
cibet44 wrote:
Pounce should really just be natural attacks. I would even go one step further and say natural attacks of Animal creature types only. Any other creature type does not benefit from Pounce at all.

The griffon, hydra, shadow demon, and sphinx are now crying.

cibet44 wrote:
That would certainly solve much debate about this Universal Monster Rule. Why this applies to player characters at all I have no idea.

Ferocity, immunity, and low-light vision would like a few words with you.

1 to 50 of 211 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | next > last >>
Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / General Discussion / Paizo Blog: Revenge of the Son of the FAQ Attack! All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.