Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
Recruitment Play-by-Post Play-by-Post Discussion
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

The Gauntlet (Inactive)

Game Master concerro


51 to 74 of 74 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>

Since the victory for fight 3 is a forgone conclusion do you guys want to finish it out or move on to fight 4?


Unknown

I'm fine with that. I expect Huuurk and Caarl to destroy it completely. Let alone the Eidolon and Boleridin smacking it around.


Any way the wind blows, doesn't really matter to meeeeeee...


Boleridin, your drawing a rod while moving should be mechanically sound.

Draw or Sheathe a Weapon wrote:

Drawing a weapon so that you can use it in combat, or putting it away so that you have a free hand, requires a move action. This action also applies to weapon-like objects carried in easy reach, such as wands. If your weapon or weapon-like object is stored in a pack or otherwise out of easy reach, treat this action as retrieving a stored item.

If you have a base attack bonus of +1 or higher, you may draw a weapon as a free action combined with a regular move. If you have the Two-Weapon Fighting feat, you can draw two light or one-handed weapons in the time it would normally take you to draw one.

Emphasis mine. I'd say a rod is similar to a weapon, especially since several rods are also enchanted as weapons. Not to mention they are sturdier to wands, and wands are mentioned in the quoted paragraph.


Also, Watcher, you said you would explain what your plan was going to be during that last fight? Y'know, before Cleric went bye-bye?


That rule consist of two separate paragraphs which I see as two seperate subjects.
The first one is referring to drawing a weapon or weaponlike object when it is within reach vs when it is stored in a backpack

The second sentence is strictly referring to drawing a weapon while on the move. If they had wanted the weapon-like clause to apply to the second paragraph they would have allowed them to be one paragraph since it would all be one subject.

Generally speaking if someone introduces a new paragraph they are introducing a new topic.

If it had read as below meaning everything is tied together I would agree.

Quote:
Drawing a weapon so that you can use it in combat, or putting it away so that you have a free hand, requires a move action. This action also applies to weapon-like objects carried in easy reach, such as wands. If your weapon or weapon-like object is stored in a pack or otherwise out of easy reach, treat this action as retrieving a stored item. Also if you have a base attack bonus of +1 or higher, you may draw a weapon as a free action combined with a regular move. If you have the Two-Weapon Fighting feat, you can draw two light or one-handed weapons in the time it would normally take you to draw one.

The "this action" is referring to the first paragraph. The 2nd paragraph is an entire different action.


Shakros wrote:
Also, Watcher, you said you would explain what your plan was going to be during that last fight? Y'know, before Cleric went bye-bye?

I might try a different version of it again, but I did soon I will tell you. :)


I guess you can see it that way; I've always thought that the "you may draw a weapon" in the second paragraph referred to the action "Drawing a Weapon" itself, under which the first paragraph has direct control. You are the DM, however, so your ruling goes, and I'm just fine with that.


Just noticed the related Rules question on that board. Checking it out now for multiple opinions out of curiosity.


Male Human Oracle 15, HP 141, Init +1

So Blessing of Fervor again? Or should I pull out my eversmoking bottle to give us some concealment (and concealing the enemies from us). I'm concerned about the storm giant plucking someone full of arrow holes.

Or I could go with fickle winds negating the giants bow completely.


I forgot to add that I am reversing my previous decision on drawing rods while moving. Even if an FAQ comes up to say otherwise I will leave it that way until the gauntlet is over.


Reversing meaning, I can draw the rod on the move? Just making sure it's clear.


Boleridin Swaggle wrote:
Reversing meaning, I can draw the rod on the move? Just making sure it's clear.

Yes.


In about 2 hours I am going to continue with the Gauntlet.


Last Fight.

You find yourself underground in a swamplike envriroment. The water is not deep enough to impede your movement however. Large tree like plants rise up over 100 feet into the air.

TR is a strange looking creature. It resembles the grim reaper to a large extent, but it has several arms and legs, and it is hunched over. Just like the grim reaper it does carry a scythe. It's eye seem to be eagerly searching for a victim.

Ox appears to be an ooze, but part of it also appears to look like a melting humanoid in shape. It is quiet disusting to look upon.

TA appears to be female, but it also has pronounced animal like features including hands that bend in the wrong direction

Drow-Another drow with a holy symbol has come to test you.

D1 and D2 are tall lithe humanoids with pale skin and black eyes. They are both wearing fullplate and wielding bardiches

G rises from the ground as you arrive. It appears to be made of soil, earth, and decomposed flesh.

1 Knowledge Religion

3 Knowledge Planes

1 Knowledge Nature
----------------------------------------------

link to map

----------------------------------------------
Monster init

TR:1d20 + 8 ⇒ (15) + 8 = 23

Ox:1d20 + 11 ⇒ (12) + 11 = 23

TA:1d20 + 7 ⇒ (20) + 7 = 27

Drow-:1d20 + 11 ⇒ (18) + 11 = 29

D1 and D2:1d20 + 9 ⇒ (19) + 9 = 28


This was supposed to be in the gameplay thread. Post your knowledge check rolls in the gameplay thread. That is where the last post should have been, but I put it in the wrong tab.


I forgot to roll for the Guecubu:1d20 + 10 ⇒ (18) + 10 = 28


Huuurk and Darrt are not on the map.


When I get home tonight I will probably start the game. If anyone is not on the map I will randomly place them somewhere.


Caarl:
Not that it matters because it is the last fight, but while in the process of breaking your build down so I could have it for myself I noticed a few things.

Invulnerability (Ex): At 2nd level, the invulnerable rager gains DR/— equal to half her barbarian level. This damage reduction is doubled against nonlethal damage. This ability replaces uncanny dodge, improved uncanny dodge, and damage reduction.

Increase Damage Reduction (Ex) While raging, your DR increases by 1. <--I think this stacks with the above ability.

So we have DR 9 lethal. DR 18 nonlethal.

----------------------------------------------------

Quote:

Stalwart

You adopt a defensive stance that allows you to absorb and redirect hits.

Prerequisites: Diehard, Endurance, base attack bonus +4.

Benefit: While using the total defense action, fighting defensively action, or Combat Expertise, you can forgo the dodge bonus to AC you would normally gain to instead gain an equivalent amount of DR, to a maximum of DR 5/—, until the start of your next turn. This damage reduction stacks with DR you gain from class features, such as the barbarian's, but not with DR from any other source. If you are denied your Dexterity bonus to AC, you are also denied this DR.

This gives you another 4 DR

Quote:

Improved Stalwart

You can roll with the punches while simultaneously striking back at your attackers.

Prerequisites: Diehard, Endurance, Stalwart, base attack bonus +11.

Benefit: Double the DR you gain from Stalwart, to a maximum of DR 10/—.

This only double the DR you gain from Stalwart, not your total DR.

Now you have 8DR from the Stalwart feats.

That is 17 DR.

8 DR + 9DR when raging= 17 or 34 nonlethal.

If I missed something let me know.

I am trying to get this down for myself. I plan to use it as an NPC. :)

Keep the DR 19 for the last fight. Two more DR won't matter that much anyway.


I'm using both combat expertise and fighting defensively for a +7 normally. so i trade +5 of it to add DR 5/-, improved stalwart makes it DR 10/-, plus the stacking with barb DR 9/-.


Caarl wrote:
I'm using both combat expertise and fighting defensively for a +7 normally. so i trade +5 of it to add DR 5/-, improved stalwart makes it DR 10/-, plus the stacking with barb DR 9/-.

Ok. If I can give your build high AC when I use it the players will have a rough time. Thanks for the explanation.


Mithral full plate and heavy armor proficiency should take care of that. There is an armored hulk archetype for barbarians but I don't know if it stacks with invulnerable rager. Also, I'm not wearing any armor items, amulet of natural armor and a ring of protection would be a good way to do it cheaply.


Sorry that I'm doing this sort of suddenly, but I'm going to withdraw from this game. I'm feeling like my Pbp's are a chore, and I'm not really having fun anymore. You can keep playing me or just drop me out. Best of luck to you.

51 to 74 of 74 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Community / Online Campaigns / Play-by-Post Discussion / Discussion for The Gauntlet All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.