Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
General Discussion Recruitment Play-by-Post Play-by-Post Discussion
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

RPG Superstar 2015

Shackled City (Pathfinder) - GM_Chris

Game Master Chris Shannon 719

This will be the Shackled City adventure path using the Pathfinder rule set. However, the existing deities (i.e. St. Cuthbert, Pelor, Wee Jas) will not be converted to similar Golarion gods.


451 to 500 of 3,121 << first < prev | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | next > last >>

M Steinneblin (Rock Gnome) Paladin 14/Cavalier 1
Silfr wrote:
Round 34, initiative 2. 5+1 temp HP

Well, at least we know with this glimpse into the future, in 31 more rounds, Silfr will still be alive and well.

Shadow Lodge Star Voter 2013

I'ma strap that sword to my hand. This is out of control.


M Steinneblin (Rock Gnome) Paladin 14/Cavalier 1

You aren't necessarily disarmed when you're stunned, are you?

EDIT - Yep, life does indeed suck.

PFSRD wrote:


A stunned creature drops everything held, can't take actions, takes a –2 penalty to AC, and loses its Dexterity bonus to AC (if any).

Attackers receive a +4 bonus on attack rolls to perform combat maneuvers against a stunned opponent.


At least the Sean Reynolds is working on getting some answers...

Synth healing mentioned as a todo item

They will show on the book's FAQ tab.


Glimmil wrote:
Silfr wrote:
Round 34, initiative 2. 5+1 temp HP
Well, at least we know with this glimpse into the future, in 31 more rounds, Silfr will still be alive and well.

Haha that would be a lot of whiffed attack rolls!

Shadow Lodge Star Voter 2013

Glimmil wrote:

You aren't necessarily disarmed when you're stunned, are you?

EDIT - Yep, life does indeed suck.

PFSRD wrote:


A stunned creature drops everything held, can't take actions, takes a –2 penalty to AC, and loses its Dexterity bonus to AC (if any).

Attackers receive a +4 bonus on attack rolls to perform combat maneuvers against a stunned opponent.

Yeah I double checked first. Oh well.


Male Human (Per +6 | Fort +16 Ref +11 Will +21 | AC 29 (f28/t15) | CMD 20)
GM_Chris wrote:

Round 6, Init 11

The silver man stabas at Atol with his rapier 1d20+8 for 1d6 damage while whistling "Happy birthday to you!"

oooohhhhh. Just what I always wanted, 1d6 damage for my birthday! :D Wooot! Thanks Chris!

heheheheh


Atol Lem wrote:
oooohhhhh. Just what I always wanted, 1d6 damage for my birthday! :D Wooot! Thanks Chris!

That was just the present. The cake was 8 more HP damage and the icing was 2 STR damage.


M Steinneblin (Rock Gnome) Paladin 14/Cavalier 1

Geez, I don't know what to do.

Glim can't hit the side of a barn. Finneas appears stunned again. Glimmil can't see S1...

The construct likely has some crazy AC (18?)...


Stats:
F14:R16:W16 (+2);K(Arc)23;K(Dun)12;K(Hist)16;K(Loc)22;K(Nat)22;K(Pln)27;K(Rel)22;Perc 25;SMot 20;Spllcft 26;UMD 18
Cuthbertist 15 - Bludgeoner First Class
Glimmil wrote:

Geez, I don't know what to do.

Glim can't hit the side of a barn. Finneas appears stunned again. Glimmil can't see S1...

The construct likely has some crazy AC (18?)...

Yick, yeah, this is tough.

I'd say stay inside the bubble (invisible) and try to whack the construct...I gotta think that one more good it will make it go away.

I like focusing fire...attacking the construct until it dies then moving to the next yahoo.


M Steinneblin (Rock Gnome) Paladin 14/Cavalier 1

The dice gods love Bregan but loathe Glim! Why?!

Let's see how many times he could hit AC18 with his weakened +3 attack roll.

1d20 ⇒ 16
1d20 ⇒ 8
1d20 ⇒ 19
1d20 ⇒ 14
1d20 ⇒ 10
1d20 ⇒ 12
1d20 ⇒ 1
1d20 ⇒ 9
1d20 ⇒ 4
1d20 ⇒ 7
1d20 ⇒ 15
1d20 ⇒ 8
1d20 ⇒ 6
1d20 ⇒ 8
1d20 ⇒ 7
1d20 ⇒ 14
1d20 ⇒ 8

Nice, 3 hits in 20 tries...

EDIT - Of course I'm a monster on the d10 damage rolls for every miss.

The Exchange Star Voter 2013, Dedicated Voter 2014

Male Humanoidish Yahoo 4/Painlord 6/Punk 2/Cleric of Happiness & Sunshine 1

Yay statistically correct?!

I just think we have the chance to use the environment to our advantage by hiding the bubble, setting up a wall until we can kill the construct.

I'll heal Glim and Silfr on my next turns.

I dunno. That's what Dyrant would suggest.

Shadow Lodge Star Voter 2013

I've hit this construct for 27 damage so far. I don't know how we can win at 1st level with our current rolling and positioning. This is very frustrating.


M Steinneblin (Rock Gnome) Paladin 14/Cavalier 1

Yeah using the invisibility against the two new guys is a good call.

I was tempted into fighting them, just for a chance to use Smite (I'd guess the construct isn't evil).

I was going to suggest using Aid actions to help Finneas hit, but he's stunned.

The construct is cunning too, backing away our attempt to get in to flank it, so maybe it is evil instead of a big mindless machine... Shrug.

EDIT - There are fights we are supposed to run away from that exist. Perhaps the construct is one of them? If it's some sort of guardian it generally won't leave the room it's set to protect.

Shadow Lodge Star Voter 2013

If we could get Atol and head down the stairs we might have a chance, especially if it doesn't leave the room. I'm stunned round 9, hopefully on round 10 we can flee.


Stats:
F14:R16:W16 (+2);K(Arc)23;K(Dun)12;K(Hist)16;K(Loc)22;K(Nat)22;K(Pln)27;K(Rel)22;Perc 25;SMot 20;Spllcft 26;UMD 18
Cuthbertist 15 - Bludgeoner First Class

I'm happy to run as well.

I hope that S2 goes away and then Silfr can grab Atol and we flee?


M Steinneblin (Rock Gnome) Paladin 14/Cavalier 1

Begin additional metagaming...

I suspect it's DR5 or something, so your 27 damage was more like 17? 3HD maybe for a CR2 fight? Add a pair of bad guys to pump it up to CR4? Eek, add some invisibility spheres for CR5. Gulp?

Here's what we know:

Initially seen by Finneas and Glim:
The construct has a cylindrical body and two arms like pyramids with several small pyramids on top of those. It appears to be years if not decades old. It has numerous dents and even a few missing pieces.

Dyrant's arcana check:
The construct was used to make the tunnels, but appears to be of gnomish origins. It does not have any hardness, but it's cylindrical body looks like a weapon for a sonic attack.

Hard to say if it's a gnomish device used by the bad guys to dig their crude tunnels, or an original Jzadirune device. Can Glimmil tell if it's gnomish, or only Dyrant knows that?

Maybe there is a stray piece that if we pull out, it shuts down? (a loose power source tugged away with a CMB roll?)


Male Human (Per +6 | Fort +16 Ref +11 Will +21 | AC 29 (f28/t15) | CMD 20)

Gurgle

Seriously though, this is a good test for us. It's a tough fight and at this point I think retreat/recover is a good move. If the silver men follow, well we'd have to fight them anyway. The construct is UNLIKELY to follow, and just as unlikely to heal in our absence. :)

Atol, once up, has lots of healing left, and a bless to wade us back in....

Shadow Lodge Star Voter 2013

I think we can take it we just need to buff up and coordinate tactics in character. This thing isn't really that tough but we were totally unprepared. Also I believe Chris said it didn't have DR? Could be wrong on that.


M Steinneblin (Rock Gnome) Paladin 14/Cavalier 1

As a player, I'm all for retreat.

Glimmil, though, will need it to be someone else's idea...

EDIT - Hopefully we didn't just lose Silfr, too.


I think you guys are getting sidetracked with statistics... the real problem is the encounter was balanced for a party of four, but Dryant just stands around complaining.

:)

*edit* no DR, just a high AC. I read the ooc thread after posting, maybe my summons will waste the opponents time so we can retreat.


Balodek wrote:

I'm on Google most of the time.

** spoiler omitted **

Sent you a google talk message - from Morgan.

*Edit & Glimmil, I think.


M Steinneblin (Rock Gnome) Paladin 14/Cavalier 1

Dyrant is in perfect position to flee and recruit the replacement party! :)

Please no mass stun... please no mass stun...

This robot is like a mind-flayer!

Shadow Lodge Star Voter 2013

Well, back to full HP and armed again. If this construct fails to activate for one more turn and Undzo distracts them we might be able to pull out.


Stats:
F14:R16:W16 (+2);K(Arc)23;K(Dun)12;K(Hist)16;K(Loc)22;K(Nat)22;K(Pln)27;K(Rel)22;Perc 25;SMot 20;Spllcft 26;UMD 18
Cuthbertist 15 - Bludgeoner First Class
D30 wrote:
edit* no DR, just a high AC. I read the ooc thread after posting, maybe my summons will waste the opponents time so we can retreat.

Dude...I can't believe you'd suggest leaving Atol there.

Harsh.

At least Dyrant wants him alive.

* * *

Anyhoot, maybe the next Undzo will give Glim/Finn a flank?


Stats:
F14:R16:W16 (+2);K(Arc)23;K(Dun)12;K(Hist)16;K(Loc)22;K(Nat)22;K(Pln)27;K(Rel)22;Perc 25;SMot 20;Spllcft 26;UMD 18
Cuthbertist 15 - Bludgeoner First Class
Balodek wrote:
Well, back to full HP and armed again. If this construct fails to activate for one more turn and Undzo distracts them we might be able to pull out.

I'm not sure the construct can 'see' us, but I dunno.

* * *

LOL@Glim's 19, 19, 20 rolls. "Le sigh".

* * *

Awesome combat. Surely, we'll learn from this and do better.


Male Human (Per +6 | Fort +16 Ref +11 Will +21 | AC 29 (f28/t15) | CMD 20)
Dyrant Maynor, the Pre-Sainted wrote:
Awesome combat. Surely, we'll learn from this and do better.

Personally I think we did it EXACTLY right. For a first level party that is. :D

Two areas of invisibility. A high AC high HP construct. Two thieves sneaking into combat after we're a bit worn. I don't think we should be tough on ourselves, we're up (mostly) and still fighting a solid retreat (intelligent).

We'll come back stronger and they (at least the construct) will be the same.

Oh yeah, and this:

Dyrant Maynor, the Pre-Sainted wrote:
"We can't leave without Atol."

He likes me! He likes me!

hehehe


|| Per +18 | Fort +13 Ref +8 Will +13 | BAB +12 | CMB +17 | CMD 29 || Init +7 Half-Orc (Smoking Eye) Oracle of Battle/Barbarian (Armored Hulk)/Rage Prophet/Chevalier 4/3/5/3

The construct turns and whirrs, gears spin and it swings its mighty spiked arm

Sweet leaping lizards we're saved!


M Steinneblin (Rock Gnome) Paladin 14/Cavalier 1

Wait... what?

Did the Diplomacy work, or did Glimmil flip the switch from "Evil" to "Good"?


|| Per +18 | Fort +13 Ref +8 Will +13 | BAB +12 | CMB +17 | CMD 29 || Init +7 Half-Orc (Smoking Eye) Oracle of Battle/Barbarian (Armored Hulk)/Rage Prophet/Chevalier 4/3/5/3

Don't look a gift gnome in the mouth I say.

The Exchange Star Voter 2013, Dedicated Voter 2014

Male Humanoidish Yahoo 4/Painlord 6/Punk 2/Cleric of Happiness & Sunshine 1

I have a plan. Stay invisible you two.

Shadow Lodge Star Voter 2013

We already left in order to drive them off Atol I think. :(

The Exchange Star Voter 2013, Dedicated Voter 2014

Male Humanoidish Yahoo 4/Painlord 6/Punk 2/Cleric of Happiness & Sunshine 1
Balodek wrote:
We already left in order to drive them off Atol I think. :(

:(. Or don't.

Shadow Lodge Star Voter 2013

Trust me if they hadn't move to flank Atol while he was playing drool patrol with the floor I'd have stayed in the dubious safety of that invisibility bubble, and I'm going back there as soon as I drag the unconscious one with me. Don't forget he still owes Dyrant for breakfast 2 days ago.


D30 wrote:

I think you guys are getting sidetracked with statistics... the real problem is the encounter was balanced for a party of four, but Dryant just stands around complaining.

:)

See! 12 rounds of standing around mumbling to himself.

Dryant wrote:
Reading from the spellprayer, "A noble embiggens the smallest man, so too shall St. Cuthbert...". Dyrant continues to recite. You get the feeling this may take a while.

haha


Glimmil wrote:

Wait... what?

Did the Diplomacy work, or did Glimmil flip the switch from "Evil" to "Good"?

In terms of game mechanics you had already acted, so it wasn't a diplomacy check.


Male Human (Per +6 | Fort +16 Ref +11 Will +21 | AC 29 (f28/t15) | CMD 20)
GM_Chris wrote:
Glimmil wrote:

Wait... what?

Did the Diplomacy work, or did Glimmil flip the switch from "Evil" to "Good"?

In terms of game mechanics you had already acted, so it wasn't a diplomacy check.

I think we're just out of reach and it's swinging randomly on all available targets. Just please don't kick Atol in his direction...


|| Per +18 | Fort +13 Ref +8 Will +13 | BAB +12 | CMB +17 | CMD 29 || Init +7 Half-Orc (Smoking Eye) Oracle of Battle/Barbarian (Armored Hulk)/Rage Prophet/Chevalier 4/3/5/3

At least when I go barbarian it won't be a surprise in character.


Male Human (Per +6 | Fort +16 Ref +11 Will +21 | AC 29 (f28/t15) | CMD 20)

The Bipolar Barbarian. It has a catchy ring to it. :D


M Steinneblin (Rock Gnome) Paladin 14/Cavalier 1

Ah, I've been short-changing (pun intended?) Glim on the damage rolls when he's been power attacking.

Damage should be 1d10+4 in his current state not 1d10+3

(+1 from his now 12Str and +3 from Power Attack with a 2H weapon). I had only been adding +2 for the PA (confusion/carry-over from Power Attacking with the 1H hammer).

Will fix that if combat keeps on continuing...


|| Per +18 | Fort +13 Ref +8 Will +13 | BAB +12 | CMB +17 | CMD 29 || Init +7 Half-Orc (Smoking Eye) Oracle of Battle/Barbarian (Armored Hulk)/Rage Prophet/Chevalier 4/3/5/3

Luckily since you haven't hit yet it hasn't been an issue. :D


Stats:
F14:R16:W16 (+2);K(Arc)23;K(Dun)12;K(Hist)16;K(Loc)22;K(Nat)22;K(Pln)27;K(Rel)22;Perc 25;SMot 20;Spllcft 26;UMD 18
Cuthbertist 15 - Bludgeoner First Class
Finneas Glenn wrote:
Luckily since you haven't hit yet it hasn't been an issue. :D

**zing!**


M Steinneblin (Rock Gnome) Paladin 14/Cavalier 1

*tears*

Actually, Glimmil's one hit on the silver-man did an extra damage!

Which brings up something I found.

I noticed a 1st level Witch spell perfect for Dyrant called "Compel Hostility" ... :)

The Exchange Star Voter 2013, Dedicated Voter 2014

Male Humanoidish Yahoo 4/Painlord 6/Punk 2/Cleric of Happiness & Sunshine 1

The silver man is stunned?
And Finneas is gi-huge-normus?
Am I the only one here who wants to see a HUGE Coup de Grace?


Male Human (Per +6 | Fort +16 Ref +11 Will +21 | AC 29 (f28/t15) | CMD 20)

I don't think you can do that to a Stunned opponent. They have to be helpless. Coup de Grace rules

But it would be nice to drop them both this round! :D


Stats:
F14:R16:W16 (+2);K(Arc)23;K(Dun)12;K(Hist)16;K(Loc)22;K(Nat)22;K(Pln)27;K(Rel)22;Perc 25;SMot 20;Spllcft 26;UMD 18
Cuthbertist 15 - Bludgeoner First Class
Atol Lem wrote:

I don't think you can do that to a Stunned opponent. They have to be helpless. Coup de Grace rules

But it would be nice to drop them both this round! :D

You're totally right. :(

Sadness, I wanted more blood in the name of St. Cuthbert.


M Steinneblin (Rock Gnome) Paladin 14/Cavalier 1

Ah yes, it's Paralyzed that allows coup de gras.

And see what I mean with the rolls?

Chris got: 1,13,2,1,1,1,11,9,1,16

Five 1s in 10 rolls! You're not supposed to roll 1 HALF the time unless it's a 1d2!


M Steinneblin (Rock Gnome) Paladin 14/Cavalier 1
Finneas Glenn wrote:
Finneas smashes it from within the invisibility field while still enlarged.

NOT THE PUPPY!!

Glimmil's eyes enlarge like big shiny, wet saucer-plates as he wrings his hands together.

See here


|| Per +18 | Fort +13 Ref +8 Will +13 | BAB +12 | CMB +17 | CMD 29 || Init +7 Half-Orc (Smoking Eye) Oracle of Battle/Barbarian (Armored Hulk)/Rage Prophet/Chevalier 4/3/5/3

I guess that makes me the...donkey.


Stats:
F14:R16:W16 (+2);K(Arc)23;K(Dun)12;K(Hist)16;K(Loc)22;K(Nat)22;K(Pln)27;K(Rel)22;Perc 25;SMot 20;Spllcft 26;UMD 18
Cuthbertist 15 - Bludgeoner First Class
Glimmil wrote:
It would be good for the tired man to contribute something!

Dang, that's cold.

And Mr. Pot...let me introduce you...

451 to 500 of 3,121 << first < prev | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | next > last >>
Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Community / Online Campaigns / Play-by-Post Discussion / Shackled City (Pathfinder) - GM_Chris - OOC All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.