Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
Recruitment Play-by-Post Play-by-Post Discussion
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

PaizoCon 2014!

Night of the Werewolf (Inactive)

Game Master Kinetic_cards


651 to 700 of 1,528 << first < prev | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | next > last >>

Male Half-Elf Zen Archer Monk 8 / Mage 1
Info:
HP:49/80, AC:26, Saves F+11, R+11, W:+18, Speed:50, Perc:+20

Lots of luck to your wife.


***INACTIVE*** Human Archaeologist Bard/9; Init: +4*; Perc: +19; HP 27/63, F: +7/R: +10*/W: +7

Best of luck to you both (for, admittedly, different reasons). If your experience is anything like mine was, you're going to spend a large chunk of time being a support system for your wife. I hope you're both caught up on sleep.


DM

Congratulations!


That is WONDERFUL! congratulations and good luck!


HP 56/88 Male Half-Orc Barbarian 1/Unbreakable 2/Rogue 6

Babies are good!


Male Half-Elf Zen Archer Monk 8 / Mage 1
Info:
HP:49/80, AC:26, Saves F+11, R+11, W:+18, Speed:50, Perc:+20

Sleeping and pooping.... Pooping and eating.... ;-)

Best time in my life was holding onto my two girls for the first time.
Enjoy being a dad!


Male Human Wizard 9 (Teleport) Perception +8

Congratulations! Take lots of photos; These are amazing times but the inevitable sleep deprivation is a killer for memory!


Per +11

Should Ianez go in parallel to LS?


DM

Yes, Ianez can take his turn simultaneously with La Siréene.


Female Aasimar Urban Druid 9

Alright, can Caromarc and La Siréene hear/converse with each other or not? Kind of inconsistent. I had a post mostly ready, before realizing it kind of hinged on this somewhat uncertain fact.

Embarrassingly enough, I assumed that after the post marked (La Siréene hears this too) that all posts in that circumstance would be heard by both of us, and read those. If that was mistaken, I apologize.


DM

@La Siréene, Caromarc:
Yes, they can. I was bringing Caromarc into the scene and bringing your posting and his posting together (then realizing I'd given you initiative for this encounter and that makes it sort of awkward. I'm not sure it's necessary to strictly adhere to that for sake of conversational flow. You can both respond to each other as you normally would.) Up to this point, Caromarc has only seen La Siréene but hasn't heard any of her conversation (he either was not there, unconscious, or the hooded figure whispered/spoke confidentially to La Siréene.) Up to this point, La Siréene has seen Caromarc and heard when the hooded figure spoke to him.

You and Caromarc can hear and converse with each other now, or post the PC's thoughts, etc, as in a usual scene. You also have the option of speaking out of earshot of each other (especially here since each other is currently immobilized), if you choose.


***INACTIVE*** Human Archaeologist Bard/9; Init: +4*; Perc: +19; HP 27/63, F: +7/R: +10*/W: +7
Network wrote:
Yes, Ianez can take his turn simultaneously with La Siréene.

Done. (Not that Ianez can do much until he can see again; OTOH, he still has see invisibility running, which might be of use.)


DM

Ah, yes...good point!


Male Half-Elf Zen Archer Monk 8 / Mage 1
Info:
HP:49/80, AC:26, Saves F+11, R+11, W:+18, Speed:50, Perc:+20

Paige's action is to have the large chandeliers fall on top of us. Therefore, regardless of the outcome with the reflex roll, it will be Quinn's turn. Just wanted to confirm before rolling attack.

Also, correct me if I'm wrong but this is not a direct attack so invisibility will continue to stay in effect for page. Only direct attacks will cause the individual to reappear. Very sneaky. :-P


DM

That is right. She is a tricky one.


Per +11

Couple of questions
(A) how many light sources remain in the corridor, and of what type are they (gas, candle, electric, magic)
(B) Did the noise trigger MM's readied action?
(C) Elspeth and aquarium are still in MM, right?
(D) is there anything flammable in the area
(E) how big/how much does a chandelier weigh?
(F) is MM aware the door to Caromarc has been barricaded?


DM

(A) There are still sconces (gas) and candelabras (candle), so the corridor is "evening light", sort of like restaurants have for dinner. Without the chandeliers, it's a little bit dimmer.

(B) I do not think so. I took your readied action to be triggered if Paige cast a spell or attacked directly.

(C) Yes.

(D) It's a usual room. There is nothing highly flammable, but there are things that could be set on fire (like the oil paintings or the carpet runner?)

(E) The chandeliers are huge, about 350-400 lbs each.

(F) Yes.


Per +11

Sorry Network
How many chandeliers remain?

Am I right in thinking putting out the remaining sconces would take a long time?

What are the walls and floor made of, please? I'm guessing from the description stone?

How wide are the chandeliers? (yes, thinking about grabbing one (medium encumbrance) and running it up the coridoor...

Does the carpet runner cover the entire coridoor? (thinking about flipping it to see where she is)


DM

No problem. (Also, I edited the chandelier falling post to reflect the ablative barrier. That's a very cool effect!)

(A) No chandeliers remain hanging in the entryway hall where you are now. There are two off to the left and two off to the right in the corridor labeled "ground floor hallway" on the map.

(B) Yes, it would probably take at least a couple of minutes.

(C) The walls are a hard material like brick or stone. The floors are marble.

(D) The chandeliers have a 10 ft radius.

(E) The carpet runner runs the length of the corridors. It is 5 ft wide.


Per +11

Not that good! Only ignores the first 5 (turns it no-lethal), and assuming not magic then MM has DR 2/magic to reduce more.
Is like a normal guy getting hit with a sixty pound sack from ten feet, so totally understand it drives him prone.


Per +11

Sorry Network, thank you :)


DM

I came home from work, walked in the door, and was able to re-edit that post at 59 minutes, lol.

Still very cool spell.

I read the spell as converting lethal damage to non-lethal, 5 points for every caster level. So, since MM has two levels in Alchemist, I think it provides him 10 points of protection total, not 50. What happens is the chandelier did 10 points of damage, so the barrier converted all of that to nonlethal and the spell was discharged, and MM takes the 10 damage as nonlethal. Is that right?


Per +11

Spell was actually cast by Caromarc, and is a conjuration spell. 35 points total.

doesn't do more than 5 per attack - so CL is really the number of attacks it works for.

Constructs don't take non-lethal, so effectively removes 5 damage.

Much better for a construct than a wizard!


Per +11

and I just realised I haven't updated MM's hp for levelling...


DM

Ok, thanks for explaining. I edited the post to say the chandelier did 10 damage total, and MM took half of that.


DM

Quinn, to use disrupting shot, I think you might need to forego taking an attack for one round (standard action) to instead ready the action (also a standard action). Which means because you attacked in round 2, you couldn't use disrupting shot in round 3. If you had not attacked and instead readied disrupting shot in round 2, then you could use it in round 3. I don't mean to be too strict about this, but for future reference I think that's how it works.

Also, you missed Paige because she unhooked the chain (standard action) and then moved (move action).


Per +11

Net crashed . On phone. Can't alias.


Male Half-Elf Zen Archer Monk 8 / Mage 1
Info:
HP:49/80, AC:26, Saves F+11, R+11, W:+18, Speed:50, Perc:+20

Ok. I'm good with that.


Per +11

All hold till net back. Don't wait for me


DM

For this round, Sandru and Blackacre are no longer blind.


Per +11

Net's back. Yay! Sorry about the delay guys.


Per +11

Does MM's SLA run off character level?

Is the roof made of plastered hardwood?


DM

Regarding SLA, what are you asking exactly in context?

I found this -

Quote:

For creatures with spell-like abilities, a designated caster level defines how difficult it is to dispel their spell-like effects and to define any level-dependent variables (such as range and duration) the abilities might have. The creature’s caster level never affects which spell-like abilities the creature has; sometimes the given caster level is lower than the level a spellcasting character would need to cast the spell of the same name. If no caster level is specified, the caster level is equal to the creature’s Hit Dice. The saving throw (if any) against a spell-like ability is:

10 + the level of the spell the ability resembles or duplicates + the creature’s Cha modifier.

The roof I guess could be made of plastered hardwood. ?? I will say yes.


Per +11

Awesome :)
Want to leviate either MM or the chandelier, smash it into the roof and knock loose plaster dust.
Is the roof within 20ft? Is the chandelier <=500 lbs?


DM
Mechanical Manservant wrote:
Is the roof within 20ft? Is the chandelier <=500 lbs?

Yes to both.


HP 56/88 Male Half-Orc Barbarian 1/Unbreakable 2/Rogue 6

Tiny creatures move into the targets square to attack, is it a fair assumption that Elspeth took Melanie's spot, then attacked Dex. Putting her 1 square north of Dex, instead of where she is now on the map?


DM

Ok.


DM

Based on this, it looks like if Dex fails his save, he takes damage for the round, but it doesn't consume his standard action and he can act normally.


HP 56/88 Male Half-Orc Barbarian 1/Unbreakable 2/Rogue 6

Last post in thread... has to use and item or unarmed attack. It's an attack, therefore a standard action. I think he's still allowed his move action, swift actions, free actions (drop prone if he wishes).

In this manner, his condition is bettered when he makes his Save and is staggered, because now he can choose which action he wishes to take (standard or move). He still remains somewhat introspective, AC -2.

At least he's not flat-footed! You're not getting any sympathy from Sandru over a failed Will Save! Screw'em!

But, you're the DM... your show, Sir!

Oh, and "acting normally" as is mentioned by someone in that thread (whom I agree with) is consuming a standard action... and being free to act with what actions you have left.

Otherwise, the spell is also hasting you?

It's a good situational spell and Blackacre applied it properly... against a hot-head (probably low wisdom, low will save) sorcerer. I mean if it were applied against someone who made the save... they only lose a half/round of actions. No biggie. Good Inquisitor move to subdue.


HP 56/88 Male Half-Orc Barbarian 1/Unbreakable 2/Rogue 6

Also remember, in a skirmish (combat) party-vs-party, this isn't a huge deal. You're basically nerfing one of the enemy party members.

But, poor Dex... Abanadoned by his leader, lost his partner, Paige isn't in here (or so we think). He's just screwed.


DM

Hrmm...okay. I just took a read-through of the spell description and didn't realize the mechanics of this. Since the post is there already we'll split the difference and say he was uber and cast scorching ray or tried to cast it at Sandru or whatever, but that he missed, which is a net zero effect on you.

Dex appreciates your sympathy, lol.


HP 56/88 Male Half-Orc Barbarian 1/Unbreakable 2/Rogue 6

I hadn't meant to avoid the damage... just questioning the mechanic. But, Sandru appreciates your reason!


DM

La Siréene, Caromarc:
The rules state that resurrected characters take a negative level penalty and so forth. But I would like to use the D&D 4 penalty of -1 to all d20 rolls for the duration of 6 encounters. (There will be another effect that is rather neutral, but the -1 penalty is what I'd like to use for the resurrection debuff.) Since I'm proposing using something from a different rule system, is this okay to you?


Per +11

Network:

Sure :)
You do realise that as spellcasters this is not as big a penalty for us, right? Negative levels strip spells. Just doing full disclosure.

So, Ianez. We agree Caromarc is just asleep, and a bit burned?


***INACTIVE*** Human Archaeologist Bard/9; Init: +4*; Perc: +19; HP 27/63, F: +7/R: +10*/W: +7

Absolutely. He should be fine once he wakes up.


DM

@Caromarc:
I want it to matter, but I didn't want to be heavy-handed. I want to incorporate a penalty that is appropriately representative of a resurrection "penalty" (at least for a short while.) Do you think a negative level is too much or is that okay? Are there any alternatives you might have in mind?


Male Human Wizard 9 (Teleport) Perception +8

@network:

This is our fear of death. Admittedly a neg level here is worse, because we can't find someone we can pay to just get rid of it.
I was more thinking that neg levels are designed to be just as bad for a summoner wizard as a rogue.
Want to bring Nameless in on this?

Also, I was going to have Elspeth attack Paige from inside the lounge. I can not do it if you'd prefer.


DM

@La Siréene, Caromarc:
Waiting on La Siréene's response. So, the -1 on all d20 rolls for 6 encounters then sounds like the way we might go.

@Caromarc:
I can't influence Elspeth without being meta. But Caromarc can't exist independent of the actions of his minions, I don't think. If Elspeth goes for the throat, this will probably have alignment ramifications for her master.


Male Human Wizard 9 (Teleport) Perception +8

Network:

Oh, I'm okay with the -1 if you are!

We're in a weird situation, happy to be meta. Technically Elspeth is a happy-go-luck familiar for 24 hours, then bamf, she's a fish.
I think there should be more of a gradual degradation, and have been playing as such.
Paige is one of the group that killed her wizard and condemned her to lose her mind. I reckon someone could talk her out of it, but Elspeth might well have a go.
Yeah, given the shared soul this could go all bad for Caromarc. Funny if the angel is "I'm sorry, but your destination has been changed"...


Female Aasimar Urban Druid 9

Network, Caromarc:
-1 for 6 encounters? Interesing rule. I think I much prefer it to the negative level variant, actually. You have my consent to this rule.

Have you considered making it a permanent houserule of your campaigns?

651 to 700 of 1,528 << first < prev | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | next > last >>
Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Community / Online Campaigns / Play-by-Post Discussion / Night of the Werewolf Discussion All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.