@GM Hmm, the module has this section:
In the other Phantom Phenomena quests, the PCs may have
acquired special equipment that helps them during the
Epicenter quest. So long as at least one PC has the associated
Special Resource box checked on his Chronicle sheet, the PCs
receive one of the associated tool.
Did the PC's earn any of the listed tools? I suppose if I had run the module from start to finish I would know.
I think you guys/we earned the one for Manor but I'll check for certain in a bit!
Current marching order:
Elena, Fran, Mr. Sunshine, Estra, Mathos, Honaire, Erasmus, Wormling, Gulch
I'll give Rhasuel till tomorrow morning to chime in, then we'll move on.
Nobody wants to buy anything? No questions for Dr. Quolorum? He's keen to tell you about his collection of painted marine snail shells and let you read the unfinished manuscript of his Sarenrae/Orcus fanship novel.
That marching order is fine with me :)
Pick a Card!: 1d6 ⇒ 1 Str!
Player: Carol S
PFS #: 239343-2
PFS Character: Elena White
Faction: Silver Crusade
Harrow Deck: 1d6 ⇒ 1 Strength!
I got a million of 'em, folks.
Let me know when you're getting tired of the weirdness and we'll move on to the next part.
And I'm serious about that. The module specifically says to move on "when the players start growing bored of the atmospheric effects".
Seriously? That's hilarious :3
|Hmm... a Pregen|
A cerebric fungus constantly scans the minds of those around it, projecting around itself a confusing collage of images gleaned from their thoughts. Creatures within 60 feet that can see the fungus must succeed at a DC 14 Will save or take a -2 penalty on attack rolls. This is a mind-affecting effect. The save DC is Charisma-based.
Do you read this as a single check at the start of combat, or a check before every round?
How I'm leaning:
@Hmm - Yep, we will do that when Fran's turn comes up again!
|Hmm... a Pregen|
Interesting, and good catch, King!
I think it's one save against an aura unless explicitly stated otherwise. If not, the bad guys would just overpower the party forcing them to save over and over.
KingOfPregens, the critter has Multiattack.
Now that you raise the question, though, I'm not sure whether it applies to a Surprise round. I'm willing to be convinced -- anyone know for sure?
At the bottom of Standard Actions, it says this:
A character who can make more than one attack per round must use the full-attack action (see Full-Round Actions) in order to get more than one attack.
Emphasis mine. As I read that, they would have said "creature" if they had meant that rule to be universal.
Thoughts, fellow GMs?
It is interesting that it says Character specifically. I've never applied that rule to PCs alone. My monsters have always followed the same attack action rules as the players for the most part.
Multiattack just reduces penalties. It doesn't touch the conditions in which attacks can happen.
Personally I wouldn't change what happened at this point. It is easy to say that it was a readied action + suprise round action to get the same effect.
Appreciate the feedback. I was seeing it as how a lurking octopus grabs with all tentacles at once, but it makes sense rules-wise to limit it to just one. Just goes to show you how crazy-prepared for you this one was, this one time. :-)
Another question for the GM Hivemind:
When players ask for details like "how hard is it to climb?", is it appropriate in this venue to give the DC value so they can roll and immediately know success or failure? Or just a general sense of easy/medium/difficult/insane/impossible?
In combat rounds, I would definitely give the D.C. It makes life so much easier.
Out of combat, I might be vague to make characters think about whether they should take 10 or roll, but that would depend a lot on the pacing of the game and the nature of the challenge.
Hey folks, I'm working today until evening CST so feel free to bot Fran if her turn comes up again :)
I'll be free to post again at 10pm EST. Possibly at 5pm EST if enough other people have updated.
Do you roll to stabilize every hour? Or every round?
Round 1. From the combat rules:
a surprise round happens before regular rounds begin
1. not everyone can act in a surprise round2. actions are limited
3. They don't always occur
It is least confusing to have round 1 refer to the first round in combat wherein everyone can make full actions.
Now, another question for the GM Hivemind:
Does a creature with Multiattack get any additional Attacks of Opportunity? Specifically, should the fungus get one for each tendril?
I'm leaning toward "no", on the theory that AoO's are a mental thing more than a physical thing.
Minor point, but clearly Elena and I disagree. I'll go with the consensus opinion henceforth.
Huh? What am I disagreeing with? I'm so confused! Lol.
Hey guys, popping in to say that today is/has been/will be busy with spring cleaning, an apartment inspection + visit by the HVAC guy, and anniversary sushi but I'll try to get caught up on things later tonight :)
Not unless it has combat expertise.Multiattack does nothing but reduce attack penalties.
I think combat reflexes is the feat you are thinking of!
Oops, I just realized that the AoO against Honaire shouldn't have happened, since Honaire is not only 10 feet away, but also 20 feet down.
He made his save, so no harm done. Advice wanted: would you leave it as is, or retconn that it didn't happen and instead take an AoO on Gulch (who is now in range)?