Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
Recruitment Play-by-Post Play-by-Post Discussion
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends


Desna's Chosen

Game Master MythrilDragon


351 to 400 of 1,686 << first < prev | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | next > last >>

Ah, yes. Victor is a tragic hero! Tragic in the sense that everytimes he tries to be heroic, it ends in tragedy thanks to the dice roller.


Evening Day 1 Total earned XP: 13700

Perhaps Victor will become the "bungling" hero. The guy with good intentions who always ends up in the wrong pace at the wrong time doing and saying the wrong thing...but when in the clutch his "mishap" is the thing that saves the day. IE Inspector Gadget


Wren Chavali wrote:
Cast Burning Hands (Ref DC 16 for half damage). I'm not good at math, but I think Brock is clear. I hope Brock is clear.

On the plus side, if you're wrong, Victor and his 1 point of damage from an arrow will be forgotten. Talk about friendly fire. ;)


Whew. Glad I didn't crisp Brock, but it looks like we are in a whole lot of trouble right now...


Gee, who'd have thought that going into a dungeon out of spells could turn out badly? :P


LOL, very true, Joana. Hopefully the runners will make it back next round. Wren is just hanging out and puking right now...


I don't know how far Victor could have gotten without a light source, so hopefully he'll be back even before Eponine. Hey, and someone even conveniently left a rapier there for him!

Wish I could say that was actually planned... :p

At least we didn't split the party!!!

The bad guy did that for us...


Evening Day 1 Total earned XP: 13700

I am going to make a ruling about the thread and wanted to do it here instead of in the main dialogue so I could better explain it. Eponine's last post was to stop and defend, but as I understand the spell that is only an option if there is no where to go. I noticed some of the comments about the darkness and lack of light to see, a factor I forgot to consider when double moving the fleeing characters away from the fight. I was just moving them back the way they came in using double move actions. I have decided that the characters have to continue to move away from the combat because of the spell, however I am going to adjust for the fact they do not have a light source. I will rule they double moved the first round, then slowed by visibility to a single move the next two rounds. That means that at the end of this round they will not actual move father on the map. The narrative will indicate as such, but the map won't change for the three fleeing characters this time.


Thanks MDM. I was trying hard to think of what Eponine would do in those conditions under that effect. I figured she'd probably do a move action into darkness beyond her low light vision range, but then pause.

I thought if it were one large monster behind her, she'd continue to grope along or try to make a light source. But with a small foe popping in and out of visibility and who could be anywhere, she'd probably freeze and try to listen for the foe, or press against a wall and hope to go unnoticed.


Evening Day 1 Total earned XP: 13700

In Round 4 I posted this as the demons speach, but I forgot I wanted her to speak in the third person about herself.

"I'm not gone, my pretty. Get out of my Kingdom or I will eat your flesh for dinner" The creature suddenly appears in Sophy's face with foul reeking breath. She slaps Sophy in the face, and a wave of inflicted pain courses through the timid hero's body.

It should have read:

"We are not gone, pretty one. Get out of our Kingdom or we will eat your flesh for dinner."


Male Humanly Awesome 'n Totally Rockin' Paladin of Greatness
Wren Chavali wrote:
Wren spends her third round in a row puking, glad to see that Epi and Victor were back in the thick of things.

There has GOT to be some form of dry heaving in there. Did you really eat that much? ;)

You should repay the flying little demon thing with your OWN wad of chunk...

Heck yeah! Take that you little demon snot thrower! How you like me now?! Uh-huh, uh-huh, uh-huhuh-huhuh-huh! Wren does a fanciful dance at her little bit of revenge. Oh. Sorry, Sophy. Collateral damage. What are you gonna do? :)


I was like, please no "1", I could just see Brock crushing poor Sophy's head...phew!


Male Humanly Awesome 'n Totally Rockin' Paladin of Greatness
Lucendar wrote:
I was like, please no "1", I could just see Brock crushing poor Sophy's head...phew!

lol! I know. It was a little scary until I actually looked at the attack rolls. Nice move and a gutsy one too. Kudos on that one. There is NO way Victor would try that. ESPECIALLY after he has already hit Brock.

*grumbles* Clutzy ol' Victor. *grumbles*


Sweet move on Brock's part. It is a good thing that the rest of us have him!


If we live after this one, we need to buy Brock a medal or something.

RPG Superstar 2008 Top 16

That might have been a nice blow, had Erylium not rolled a 1 on her grapple attempt to drag Sophy by her hair. This has been an interesting fight.


Who'd have thought an enemy rolling a fumble would actually work against us? :P

I'm flailing a bit with how useless Sophy is in this fight, but sadly, even if she had all her 1st-level spells, she [i]still[i] couldn't do much of anything helpful.


She's been more effective than Eponine so far. And Victor. She healed Eppy and she distracted the little creature from attacked our main damage outputter for a round at least.


markofbane wrote:
She's been more effective than Eponine so far. And Victor. She healed Eppy and she distracted the little creature from attacked our main damage outputter for a round at least.

True. Hopefully we've drawn off most of its spells, too, if it's reduced to grappling. Sophy certainly can't take another inflict, anyway. Now if we could just hurt it!


Evening Day 1 Total earned XP: 13700

Seems like a bad run of luck for the Heroes of Sand Point. How will they fair?


Just like to point out that Sophy wanted to retreat and regroup. ;)

Do you have a backup weapon, Brock? Sophy'd give you her dagger, but I think it would look like you're wielding a toothpick.


Male Humanly Awesome 'n Totally Rockin' Paladin of Greatness
Mythril DM wrote:
Seems like a bad run of luck for the Heroes of Sand Point. How will they fair?

I'LL TELL YOU HOW WILL FAIR MR. DM MAN....!

We're screwed. :(

RPG Superstar 2008 Top 16

Is this turning into a Kenny Rodgers kind of moment?

Know when to hold them, know when to fold them,
Know when to walk away, know when to run

The Gambler


Evening Day 1 Total earned XP: 13700

NICE BROCK, I love how you used Demoralize! That is the first time I have seem someone actually use that in play. Good Choice. I'll just wait for Eponine's action and finish off the round.


Thanks, it was either that or run out crying over his lost weapon and the latter just didn't fit the character! LOL...


Male Humanly Awesome 'n Totally Rockin' Paladin of Greatness

BOOMSTICK BROCK! (Without the stick, even!) That was some FANTASTIC demoralization! That was just freaking awesome!

(In other non-game news, love The Gambler. Great good ol' country song. Not really into country anymore, but I appreciate the older stuff. Was raised on it.)

RPG Superstar 2008 Top 16

Tomorrow is my Birthday, not trying to give a plug or anything, just letting you know that I will probably not be posting to the thread again until Monday.


Male Humanly Awesome 'n Totally Rockin' Paladin of Greatness

Happy Birthday, Mythril! Have a good one!

(That's pretty cool because today is my brother's birthday.)


Happy birthday!!!


Enjoy your birthday, MD!

RPG Superstar 2008 Top 16

Thanks for the Birthday wishes, though it won't keep the monsters from trying to bash your heads in :)


Evening Day 1 Total earned XP: 13700

I have always understood that when a creature has a natural attack listed as 2 claws and bite, that to use all three would be a full-round action. Also, I have always understood that when a creature is listed with natural attack like 2 claws that it gets to use each as a standard action. The way I have played for years is that as a standard action the creature could either attack with both claws, or bite and as a full round action do all three. Granted this could be something left over in my head from 2nd, 3rd, or other version of the DND rules. I looked at the Bestiary but couldn't find anything to answer if listing a natural attack as 2 claws or 4 tentacles counts as one or multiple attacks. How have the rest of your groups handled this? Can you show me anything in the rules that clarifies? I am finding that as I run this PBP I am finding that a lot of the rules I use are house rules or misinterpretations of rules my table groups have used for years. I am willing to adjust the attack on Victor if you all can convince me this is what has happened.


I found this thread dealing with the matter, but I haven't run across any with developer input.

EDIT: Sean K Reynolds weighs in in this one.


Evening Day 1 Total earned XP: 13700

Thanks Joanna, seems I'm not the only one who has had an issue understanding this tidbit of the rules. I read the post with Sean K.Reynolds and I will go adjust the post to reflect this understanding of the rules. Seems I have been an Unfair DM to my groups for years.


My groups have always handled it that if a creature moves, it is limited to a standard action, only one natural attack (claw, bite, tentacle, etc., usually whatever fits the creature's profile), unless it has special feats, like Pounce, which allows full-attacks on a charge.

Standard Actions

Attack: Making an attack is a standard action.

"Armed" Unarmed Attacks: Sometimes a character's or creature's unarmed attack counts as an armed attack. A monk, a character with the Improved Unarmed Strike feat, a spellcaster delivering a touch attack spell, and a creature with natural physical weapons all count as being armed.

Multiple Attacks: A character who can make more than one attack per round must use the full-attack action (see Full-Round Actions) in order to get more than one attack.

Since you have to roll to hit for each claw, this counts as more than one attack, and therefore, the creature needs the full-round action. That's my 2 cents.


I've done it wrong off and on, too; it's one of those issues I never remember which way is actually "right." When I went looking for messsageboard clarification, I actually thought it would be backing up your original understanding.

My home group did two-weapon fighting wrong for years, too, as in, all the way through third edition until after we had switched to Pathfinder. We always gave TWF 1 attack with each weapon on a standard attack until we actually read the rule and had been doing it wrong the whole time. The TWF fighter in my group wasn't happy when we announced we were going to start doing it right!

Another rule I consistently get wrong is the one about doing damage to incorporeal creatures with corporeal weapons. No matter how many times I do it, I never remember if it's 50% miss chance or half-damage and how magic weapons effect it.


Lucendar wrote:

My groups have always handled it that if a creature moves, it is limited to a standard action, only one natural attack (claw, bite, tentacle, etc., usually whatever fits the creature's profile), unless it has special feats, like Pounce, which allows full-attacks on a charge.

That's the way my groups have always played it as well, but no idea if it was right or not, lol.


Evening Day 1 Total earned XP: 13700

Thanks for the input. I have been playing it wrong for as long as I can remember. Again, one of the things I like about DM'ing this PBP is it helping hone my DM skills. Thanks Brock for asking about it, I am eager to address any issues any of you have with a ruling and I am more than willing to re adjudicate a post based on a better understanding of the rules. Though I may occasionaly pull the DM fiat thing I mostly want to stick to the Rules as they are written.

Also, sorry I have been a bit scattered with this combat. I have no excues for not being more attentive. Hopefully I am out of that slump and we can get back to a smooth running game.

Thanks again for being such an awesome group of gamers, I realy am enjoying the story we are telling and the adventure that is unfolding.

Lastly, I know its the 4th of July weekend. I don't have any set plans for the Holiday other than buy a big girl bed for my 2 year old, so I plan to keep the thread moving unless any of you need a day or two for family things ect.


I'm boring, DM. I'll be around this weekend, if anyone else is.


Male Humanly Awesome 'n Totally Rockin' Paladin of Greatness

Nope. I'm good. Still be here. And I agree with Gerald. He is boring. (Just kiddin', buddy!) ;)

Honestly, though, having a great time with this group. I mean, what are the odds, you can make enemies, of your allies, by accident? :)

Only Victor, bay-bee! Only Victor. Insert Inspector Gadget theme music here. :P

Thank you for being a solid DM, Mythril. They are truly few and far between.


JD, I didn't mention it, but I had to admit I laughed when I saw Victor hit with his arrow, and you rolled a one for damage...The dice roller hates him. Alot. A tragic hero, if there ever was one.


Evening Day 1 Total earned XP: 13700

I have to admit that this mistype made me giggle.

Wren wrote:
She raises her wand on fires of a tiny white bust of light at the creature.


Ha...I, needless to say, did not notice that! My lack of typing skills get me again.


I'll be around off and on over the weekend. We are having a party at our place Monday evening (our place overlooks Lake Union here in Seattle), so I'll be spending most of the weekend helping my (undiagnosed) OCD wife get the place in shape for visitors and getting ready for the party. But I'll be logging in when I can.


Male Humanly Awesome 'n Totally Rockin' Paladin of Greatness
Gerald wrote:
JD, I didn't mention it, but I had to admit I laughed when I saw Victor hit with his arrow, and you rolled a one for damage...The dice roller hates him. Alot. A tragic hero, if there ever was one.

Lol! I know. Trust me I know. All I could do is throw my hands up and surrender. It's hold my breath time every time I roll anymore. With Victor around, this group is in some serious danger! :P


Male Humanly Awesome 'n Totally Rockin' Paladin of Greatness

<Off topic interruption>...

Hey Mythril, you got picked up in that Mormont's pbp. Here's the OOC thread.

Okay, now back to our regularly scheduled pbp...


Male Humanly Awesome 'n Totally Rockin' Paladin of Greatness

I have a question: Could I have held my bow in one hand and just attacked with the dagger in the other? That's what I was intially going to do but I didn't know if that would incur 2 weapon fighting penalties,(or some kinda penalty, or just not legal) so I dropped it.

Otherwise, I would've just kept in my off hand and attacked with the dagger in my main one.


If you can wield a one-handed weapon with a shield or a holy symbol in the other hand, I don't know why you couldn't hold a bow in the other hand. It's not like you're trying to shoot an arrow with it; just hold it.


Evening Day 1 Total earned XP: 13700

I don't see any reason you can't hold a bow in one hand and attack with a light weapon in the other. They have done away with Ambidexterity feat so no requirements for off hand fighting that I know of. And If your like me you hold the bow in you off and and the string in your dominate hand anyway, so drawing a dagger and using it like that make sense. The problem is more going back to use the bow, you'd have to make a move action to sheath the dagger and shoot or drop the dagger to move and shoot.


Male Humanly Awesome 'n Totally Rockin' Paladin of Greatness
Mythril DM wrote:
I don't see any reason you can't hold a bow in one hand and attack with a light weapon in the other. They have done away with Ambidexterity feat so no requirements for off hand fighting that I know of. And If your like me you hold the bow in you off and and the string in your dominate hand anyway, so drawing a dagger and using it like that make sense. The problem is more going back to use the bow, you'd have to make a move action to sheath the dagger and shoot or drop the dagger to move and shoot.

Cool. That's what I needed to know. Thanks.

351 to 400 of 1,686 << first < prev | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | next > last >>
Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Community / Online Campaigns / Play-by-Post Discussion / Mythraldragon's RotRL OOC All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.