Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
Recruitment Play-by-Post Play-by-Post Discussion
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends


Deathwatch: Sons of Jericho IC

Game Master Rookseye

For untold centuries the Deathwatch have stood vigil over the Jericho Reach. Now, the disparate Astartes of Kill-team Umbra must vanquish a threat and unravel a mystery which portends to place the entirety of the Achilus Crusade in jeopardy.


301 to 350 of 1,045 << first < prev | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | next > last >>

Male Catfolk Shade (magically altered human) Monk-8, Mage-16

Eradico, remember, if you think it is important enough, you can spend a fate point.


Lorm Dragonheart wrote:
Eradico, remember, if you think it is important enough, you can spend a fate point.

Good advice. First I'll see what the others do and read what Rook's next post is. I was mostly using the auspex to scout. I have a feeling we are about to stir up the hornet's nest.


Black Templar Techmarine

"Brothers, who is this 'Ahmazzi?' I thought we were Ordo Xenos, not Ordo Malleus."

:)


lol I did not even snap to that.

Cheliax

Male Human Warhammer 40K GM

LOL.

I told Kaltos a little while back that I would do this sooner or later, it was only a matter of time. That's what happens when you jump back and forth between two campaigns, I guess.

The funniest part is that I have been almost religious about double-checking before I finalize the posts.

Heck, it wasn't the first crossover I intended between the two campaigns, but I can say with certainly it won't be the last.

;)

Cheliax

Male Human Warhammer 40K GM

Just holding off on the posts for IC to let Brother Decius get a word in with his intentions, as well as let the rest of the Kill-Team at the Refinery Gatehouse formulate their next action.

Cheliax

Male Human Warhammer 40K GM

For the Emperor!

Brother Caledonii better floor the accelerator, I'm thinking the rest of Kill-team Umbra will be happy for the reinforcements.


Lol I just hope I dont break it while doing it.

Cheliax

Male Human Warhammer 40K GM

Sorry about the slow posting last night and tonight, my oldest has the flu and we both have been short on sleep. Once Ellipsis posts his hits I will continue the round.


Male Half-Orc 9th lvl Cleric, 4th lvl Ninja, 1st lvl Black Flame Zealot

Hey Rook,

Was wondering if I could do a shooting reaction based off of our Squad Mode, and do my Psychic Power seperate as my turn?

Cheliax

Male Human Warhammer 40K GM
Balfic-graa wrote:

Hey Rook,

Was wondering if I could do a shooting reaction based off of our Squad Mode, and do my Psychic Power seperate as my turn?

Yep, since all the enemies have already acted, it makes sense to use your Reaction to take a shot. No need to Dodge this round...one of the perks of acting last In a round, I guess.


Male Half-Orc 9th lvl Cleric, 4th lvl Ninja, 1st lvl Black Flame Zealot

Okay cool. Just wanted to make sure before I made Lyriel's action.


Rook,

From "Damaging a Horde" (p. 359):

"Weapons that inflict Explosive Damage (X) gain a bonus against Hordes, and count as having inflicted one additional Hit."

The superfluous comma in the above statement makes for confusion. I'm assuming the bonus *IS* the additional hit.

I don't think I've been adding in the "bonus" hit for any of my attacks on the termagant horde. For example in round 2 Brother Emeric hit the horde four times for a total of 72 points, thus reducing the horde magnitude by 7. But according to the above rule the reduction should have been 11. Or am I reading this incorrectly?

Lorm,

p. 247, Engaged in Melee reads: "Characters that are engaged in melee can only make attack actions with the melee subtype."

But...

p. 140, "Pistol weapons are fired one-handed and can be used to make a Standard Attack while engaged in melee." Check the rest of this section as certain modifiers are not applicable while in melee.

Gotta love FFG editing.


Rook,

Arg. Checked the Errata. It reads:

Damaging a Horde (page 359): The sentence “Weapons
that inflict Explosive Damage (X) gain a bonus against Hordes, and
count as having inflicted one additional Hit” should be changed
to “Weapons that inflict Explosive Damage (X) gain a bonus against
Hordes, and count as having inflicted one additional Hit per Attack
after all other Hits have been applied.”

So in my round 2 example it looks like Brother Emeric should have done a total of 8 hits rather than 7.

Anyways, something (else) to be aware of.

Cheliax

Male Human Warhammer 40K GM

Eradico, I had been adding the extra hit for the Explosive type right along. I did mistakenly record your last damage of 7 at face value, but that was my mistake brought on by too much Easter candy last night. I owe you a point of damage for your last attack and will add it.

Basically the damage inflicted for each attack on a horde only matters for purposes of getting through AP and TB and scoring damage; any damage, really. So long as you score damage by exceeding the AP/TB threshold, it counts as a hit. So, for you, four damaging hits each count as a point of damage against Magnitude, as well as one additional point of damage per each hit for the Explosive Type of the Bolter.

I hope this makes sense, this is how I understood things through multiple re-readings. I have also been basically house ruling an additional point of damage on hordes for each occurrence of Righteous Fury...I may suspend this however, as the Tearing quality tends to jack up these incidences a lot.

I'll post IC later tonight. If I've missed something here, please, everyone, provide your input.

Cheliax

Male Human Warhammer 40K GM

Wow, big battles like this one are fun, but also a little overwhelming on the stats/roll tracking front. Please let me know if I missed anything in Round#2.

As I read it (DW p. 277) (at work, and I don't have the errata handy) the Fear (3) WP test failure results in a loss of Cohesion equal to the creature's rating. All other effects of Cohesion loss limit the loss to 1 per round. So, I'm assuming the full loss was warranted. If anyone notices otherwise, please tell me in OOC.

Note: I rolled the Guardsmen and Commissar's Fear tests off-screen, success in both cases.


Rookseye wrote:
Wow, big battles like this one are fun, but also a little overwhelming on the stats/roll tracking front. Please let me know if I missed anything in Round#2.

It doesn't affect the outcome thus far but I'm wondering about melee hits vs. hordes. Re-read the section on p. 359. Do you actually have to succeed by two degrees for *one* hit or would that mean an *extra* degree of success? Confusing. :-/

Cheliax

Male Human Warhammer 40K GM
Eradico Pravus wrote:
Rookseye wrote:
Wow, big battles like this one are fun, but also a little overwhelming on the stats/roll tracking front. Please let me know if I missed anything in Round#2.

It doesn't affect the outcome thus far but I'm wondering about melee hits vs. hordes. Re-read the section on p. 359. Do you actually have to succeed by two degrees for *one* hit or would that mean an *extra* degree of success? Confusing. :-/

The way I understand it Eradico, you receive one damage against Magnitude for just hitting, one degree of success on top of that would still mean one hit, hitting and then two degrees would mean two hits, hitting and three degrees of success still two, hitting and four degrees would mean three hits, and so on.

The trick is to just not think of that hit by less than ten as a 'degree' of success. It just means you hit. Degrees are units of ten over and beyond that initial hit. It is initially confusing to think in terms of degrees of success but you get used to it. It took me some time to hash this out in my head when we first started DH...I think it was even less clear in that ruleset...and don't even get me started on calculating opposed tests where one of the actors involved has an Unnatural characteristic...ugh.


Male Catfolk Shade (magically altered human) Monk-8, Mage-16

I don't know if this affects anything, but on pg 211 it states that one of the ways to recover cohesion is if any member of the kill squad spends a fate point. I checked the use of fate points and that is not mentioned. Does that mean that if anyone spends a fate point for any reason, cohesion is recovered? It does not say anything about it in the errata.

Cheliax

Male Human Warhammer 40K GM

I believe Lorm, that you specifically spend a Fate Point to recover a point of Cohesion, but I will double check.

Cheliax

Male Human Warhammer 40K GM

Using a Fate Point will restore a point of Cohesion (DW p. 212)


Found this on the FFG DW Forum:

>No, it has been settled. I have been asking FFG and received this reply
>from Ross Watson on Jan 14th:

>Q: Does every Fate Point spent restore 1 point of Cohesion or only a
>Fate Point spent with the dedicated purpose of restoring Cohesion?
>A: Every fate point spent with the dedicated purpose of restoring
>Cohesion.

>I subsequently posted it in the errata thread, it's as good as official,
>expect it to be part of the next errata update.

Rook--Although the wording in the text (again!) is vague, your interpretation is correct. Only a fate point spent to specifically restore cohesion actually restores cohesion.


Male Catfolk Shade (magically altered human) Monk-8, Mage-16

Thanks Eradico. You can see by the wording how interpretation could go either way.

Cheliax

Male Human Warhammer 40K GM
Eradico Pravus wrote:

Found this on the FFG DW Forum:

>No, it has been settled. I have been asking FFG and received this reply
>from Ross Watson on Jan 14th:

>Q: Does every Fate Point spent restore 1 point of Cohesion or only a
>Fate Point spent with the dedicated purpose of restoring Cohesion?
>A: Every fate point spent with the dedicated purpose of restoring
>Cohesion.

>I subsequently posted it in the errata thread, it's as good as official,
>expect it to be part of the next errata update.

Rook--Although the wording in the text (again!) is vague, your interpretation is correct. Only a fate point spent to specifically restore cohesion actually restores cohesion.

Thanks for digging this up, Eradico, hopefully they crank out another version of their 'living' errata for Deathwatch soon.

Cheliax

Male Human Warhammer 40K GM

I had this idea occur to me the other day on my fifth time commenting out BBCode tags in a row for combat, how about a page on the wiki with templates for various weapons fire?

Here is my first attempt, using the blocks for bolters firing on Single, Semi-Auto, and Full-Auto Burst (standard ammo, of course). I figure cutting and pasting these templates will save everyone some typing over the course of the campaign. Let me know what you think, and we can add other weapons!

The page is linked off the "Battle Brothers" page under "Bolter Drill".


Thanks, Rook, great idea. I will use the dice templates for sure. Kind of a pain in the neck! I tried using commas, semi-colons, etc., but the way you typed it is the "best" way to do it. High labor for sure, but not any longer!! :)

Cheliax

Male Human Warhammer 40K GM

Don't worry, Eradico, Brother Emeric will have the full decrypted message by tonight, following the Oremor Affliction posts.


Cool. I thought you might have forgotten my post on the earlier page so I was prompting you with a, um, gentle reminder. :)

Thanks!

Cheliax

Male Human Warhammer 40K GM

Sorry about the quiet patch, guys.

Off-shift coverage occasionally means re-filling the sleep bank.

Once everyone has finished interacting with the guardsmen, determining the disposition of the vehicular transportation, and planning your next move, I will move the scene forward.


Wow, Lorm. Looks like I have some sort of magnet that allows me to post exactly the same moment someone else does... Sorry about that!


Male Catfolk Shade (magically altered human) Monk-8, Mage-16

Don't worry about it, Eradico. It happens to all of us. Between the two games, there has been approxiamately 4000 posts. It happens more than you think.


Male Half-Orc 9th lvl Cleric, 4th lvl Ninja, 1st lvl Black Flame Zealot

New FAQ is out for Death Watch.

http://www.fantasyflightgames.com/edge_news.asp?eidn=2251

On a secondary note. Any of you guys take a look at the 3rd wave release of Dark Eldar models? Man those things look evil!

Cheliax

Male Human Warhammer 40K GM

Wow. 4000 posts.

Thanks for the bit on the FAQ Bal, downloading it now.

I did take a peek at the Eldar models last night, what the heck are those things?


Male Half-Orc 9th lvl Cleric, 4th lvl Ninja, 1st lvl Black Flame Zealot

They are the Talos, and the Cronus. Basically they are torture machines of the haemoniculi covens that double as war machines. The Talos kills you a cut at a time, or just rends you. The Cronus sucks out your vitality and soul like a slurpee.

Cheliax

GM W.R. Monger

You make it sound all tasty and nice. I'm a Carcharodon Astra player, I don't really like the Dark Eldar, but they still look great.


Male Half-Orc 9th lvl Cleric, 4th lvl Ninja, 1st lvl Black Flame Zealot

I'm a Iron Warrior and Dark Eldar player. While the models look great I am leaning on taking the Venom and Scourges. Holding out for the Razorwing. Already seen the pics for it, and it looks fantasic. As far as tasty an nice. Thats my spin when I play my IW. We are the bad guys, but we have a damn good reason. Dark Eldar are just evil. No way around that one Lol.

Cheliax

M going to build my first 40k army: the Grey Knights.


Male Half-Orc 9th lvl Cleric, 4th lvl Ninja, 1st lvl Black Flame Zealot
Radavel wrote:
M going to build my first 40k army: the Grey Knights.

They are a good choice. Very solid army.


Male Catfolk Shade (magically altered human) Monk-8, Mage-16

Have fun with them, but they must die.(I play a Daemon army.)

Cheliax

Lorm Dragonheart wrote:
Have fun with them, but they must die.(I play a Daemon army.)

Don't be hating LOL


Male Catfolk Shade (magically altered human) Monk-8, Mage-16

Death to the false emperor! Let the galaxy burn! (I also play Chaos Space Marines.)

Cheliax

Who wants to play this?

Cheliax

Male Human Warhammer 40K GM

OK, again, sorry about the lull in the action, long week at work. We're nearing the finish line for Extraction. I'll be posting more tonight based on your replies.

Radavel wrote:
Who wants to play this?

I think everyone, Rad. I love the premise for this intro adventure, too, nothing more fun than an improvised prison-ship break!


Bal, finally checked out the updated Deathwatch Errata. The appendix is interesting with the modified weapons chart. Some substantial changes with no full-auto for bolters and decreased damage. Might be worth discussing once we finish the Extraction scenario.

Cheliax

GM W.R. Monger

Just for the record, everyone can use my Intelligence modifier (4)for their initiative rolls. Just use it if you have something lower ignore it if you have the same, tho I might upgrade it later on so we all get 5 Initiative.

Cheliax

Male Human Warhammer 40K GM

Deiros, I'm not sure if you follow the concurrent Dark Heresy campaign we are involved in, The Oremor Aflliction, but I just wanted to extend the invitation to you to join that game as well if you had any interest.


Rook, based upon my re-reading of the Tech-use description in the core rulebook, Emeric may not have time to effect any actual repairs in 1-2 minutes. Since time is critical, he will simply try to staunch any major fluid leaks, etc. and prepare the Magos for transport to the surface.

Cheliax

GM W.R. Monger

Well I don't follow it really but I can read some of it to get an idea and get me the Dark Heresy rulebook from a friend to know how to create a character.

Cheliax

Male Human Warhammer 40K GM

There is always room for more, Deiros. I know it is intimidating to consider the prospect of catching up through some 70+ pages of posts, but Eradico proved that it could be done.

Although I'm not sure how many Insanity Points he accrued for that, surely something on the magnitude of 2d10 or so.

Cheliax

GM W.R. Monger

I've been ready a few pages every time I get a chance, and waiting to get my hands on the Dark Heresy book, probably do a soldier type

301 to 350 of 1,045 << first < prev | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | next > last >>
Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Community / Online Campaigns / Play-by-Post Discussion / Deathwatch: Sons of Jericho OOC All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.