Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
Recruitment Play-by-Post Play-by-Post Discussion
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

AZ's Kingmaker

Game Master Azure_Zero

Current Map
Current Game Date: Pharast 28th

Updated: 04/29/2014

Renders:


301 to 350 of 688 << first < prev | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | next > last >>

Male Human Wizard 2

I also welcome you to the game, I hope you enjoy it.

Azure, I realized I forgot to include my favored status bonus of 1 skill point on my character sheet. I used it to buy the Appraise skill.

Appraise check on items in party fund:

Silver earrings: 1d20 + 7 ⇒ (18) + 7 = 25

Music box: 1d20 + 7 ⇒ (1) + 7 = 8


Male Gnome Sorcerer (Draconic: Red Dragon)/1

Thanks for the warm welcome.
Well, the new profile is finally done, thank the gods that most of it is on a template that I created otherwise I would still be typing by this time next week.
Please take a look at it and see if there's anything I missed or that I typed in wrong.
Thanks again and I look forward to getting this game on.


Thinking about what spells to prepare given the party.
0 level
purify food and drink
detect magic
stablize

1st level
Entangle
Cure light wounds.


Looks good Buckwell.

Halloran, Earrings: 150gp.


Male Human Wizard 2

Thank you, what's the rule for retrying appraise checks?


you have to wait til you level up, or get someone else to do it.


Male Gnome Sorcerer (Draconic: Red Dragon)/1

Are we waiting on Bertious to join us?


Human Fighter (Free Hand Fighter) 2

"Well, you're certainly not waiting on me, mate. You're not pretty enough to wait on me!"


I sent him a PM, and we'll see his response.


Male Gnome Sorcerer (Draconic: Red Dragon)/1
Mikka Restokov wrote:
"Well, you're certainly not waiting on me, mate. You're not pretty enough to wait on me!"

"I'll have you know, that for your edification, I'm considered quite handsome by Gnomish standards."


Male Half-Orc Rogue 1 (Thug)/Barbarian 1 (Urban Barbarian)

Asok grins. "Isn't that rather like being smart, by a chair's standards?"


Human Fighter (Free Hand Fighter) 2

"Sorry, mate. I prefer my women tall. And women. And definitely not as hairy."


"In that case you might like what the GM has planned out."


Male Gnome Sorcerer (Draconic: Red Dragon)/1

"A chair is very good at being a chair, it doesn't have any pretensions to be anything other than what it is."

"I'm afraid you have Gnomish women confused with Dwarven women. Gnomish women are quite beautiful, just ask Lini."


Elaine says "I hope an intellgent chair doesn't end up staring at whoever is sitting in it. I don't ever remember a chair with good manners either." Elaine then laughs some as if she wasn't serious.


Human Fighter (Free Hand Fighter) 2

"Gnomish might be beautiful, mate, but I was talkin' about you!"


Elaine responds "Like every person could be beautiful it would just get redefined."


Human Fighter (Free Hand Fighter) 2

"Not true, lady. I've seen tons of pretty unshaggable wenches in my time. In some cases, actual tons were involved. And a few made me long for my horse... I mean, a man who looks this good has to maintain standards. You must be this hot to ride the ride, ladies. I mean really! Look at me. Is there anything finer than I? I did not think so!"


Bertious won't be joining us.

I'll be selecting another


Vital Stats:
HP 12/12, AC 17, CMD 15, Touch 12, Flat 15, F +1, R +2, W +2, INIT +2, Perc +4
Human (Ulfen) Oracle 1 (Battle Mystery)

Höd Ronoakson checking in. I will be catching up on who is who and what has happened so far, I'll get an introductory post up tonight.

Are we playing this as Höd has been present all along, or as he is joining fresh?


Joining fresh, as the new recruits are heading to Olegs,
with Asok Demon Tongue having been caught by the law, and having agreed to
a deal with the judges that he'll work off his debt to society by helping in reclaiming and mapping the Stolen lands.


Vital Stats:
HP 12/12, AC 17, CMD 15, Touch 12, Flat 15, F +1, R +2, W +2, INIT +2, Perc +4
Human (Ulfen) Oracle 1 (Battle Mystery)

Perfect. That fits well. I'll work it up.

Do I see correctly that the team is fighting at the moment? Shall I wait until they are away from harm?


I'll be having them return to Olegs, where you'll all meet up.


Vital Stats:
HP 12/12, AC 17, CMD 15, Touch 12, Flat 15, F +1, R +2, W +2, INIT +2, Perc +4
Human (Ulfen) Oracle 1 (Battle Mystery)

Cool. I will wait for the obvious moment :P


Male Half-Orc Rogue 1 (Thug)/Barbarian 1 (Urban Barbarian)

So... am I the rest of the party's prisoner?


Vital Stats:
HP 12/12, AC 17, CMD 15, Touch 12, Flat 15, F +1, R +2, W +2, INIT +2, Perc +4
Human (Ulfen) Oracle 1 (Battle Mystery)

I don't think so. I think we both ended up on the wrong side of the law and our penance is to serve by mapping the greenbelt.


Asok Demon Tongue wrote:
So... am I the rest of the party's prisoner?

No, you were caught in Bevoy, and the judge "made you an offer you could not refuse."


I hope I get back to Olegs as well soon.


Male Half-Orc Rogue 1 (Thug)/Barbarian 1 (Urban Barbarian)

Oh, sorry, I thought you were suggesting that the other PCs were my escort out of Brevoy. :)


Male Gnome Sorcerer (Draconic: Red Dragon)/1

Enlist or be prosecuted.


Human Fighter (Free Hand Fighter) 2

"Ah, sounds like my father's stance on marriage!"


Male Elf Ranger

leaving today for vacation weekend. DMPC as needed.


GM Notes (Booze):
Crate of various booze:
Love Wine
Ager's 11
The MacGuffin
Bond's Booze
Dragon Ale
Black Jack


Male Human Wizard 2

As I want to establish a bond with this group, I probably would have picked Bond's Booze. If their labeled that is, if their not then I just would have picked 1 at random.

Are there only 6 bottles? or are there more than 1 of each?


there are 8 bottles, but 6 varieties


Male Human Wizard 2

We certainly get a lot more traffic on the forum, with all the new players.


Vital Stats:
HP 12/12, AC 17, CMD 15, Touch 12, Flat 15, F +1, R +2, W +2, INIT +2, Perc +4
Human (Ulfen) Oracle 1 (Battle Mystery)

:)


Not going to have a drink Hod?


Ah dang that might have been useful to use with the beguiling gift spell although I don't think we have someone who can cast it.


I can't fumble with claw attacks can I I won't have my claws fall off right?


I'll think of something if that happens.


Halloran Westover wrote:
I thought we already agreed that I was using my staff with Hand of the Apprentice, because normally I wouldn't be able to use it in a grapple and you already gave the go ahead on that. But if it's really an issue I'll just draw my second dagger and attack with that.

Note the ability is Hand of the Apprentice, but you require two Hands to use a quarterstaff.

Hand of the Apprentice wrote:
You cause your melee weapon to fly from your grasp and strike a foe before instantly returning to you.

You dropped the staff when grappled, and in a poorly lit to dark hole.


Vital Stats:
HP 12/12, AC 17, CMD 15, Touch 12, Flat 15, F +1, R +2, W +2, INIT +2, Perc +4
Human (Ulfen) Oracle 1 (Battle Mystery)

Why would he drop the staff? Only 'stunned' causes you to drop weapons to my knowledge. I am asking because I don't know and want to learn. Not trying to challenge.


PRD wrote:
In addition, grappled creatures can take no action that requires two hands to perform.

this applies to two-handed weapons as well,

hence he was forced to drop the staff.


Vital Stats:
HP 12/12, AC 17, CMD 15, Touch 12, Flat 15, F +1, R +2, W +2, INIT +2, Perc +4
Human (Ulfen) Oracle 1 (Battle Mystery)

So your ruling is that a two-handed weapon cannot be held in one hand? Not wielded, but held?


If I went with 3.5 grappled condition rules. He would only be allowed light weapons and be forced to drop two-handed and one-handed weapons, which I agree with.

but the drop rule is vague in the PF version, and looks like it only applies to two-handed weapons only.


Vital Stats:
HP 12/12, AC 17, CMD 15, Touch 12, Flat 15, F +1, R +2, W +2, INIT +2, Perc +4
Human (Ulfen) Oracle 1 (Battle Mystery)

Good to know! Thanks.


Male Half-Orc Rogue 1 (Thug)/Barbarian 1 (Urban Barbarian)

I don't see why you can't hold a two handed weapon. You just can't wield it properly. Nowhere in the grapple rules does it say that you are forced to drop anything.


If I went with 3.5 grappled condition rules. He would only be allowed light weapons and be forced to drop two-handed and one-handed weapons, which I agree with.

but the drop rule is vague or hinted in the PF version, and looks like it only applies to two-handed weapons only.

PF inherited from 3.5 so the vague parts of PF are getting cleared up with 3.5 parts, if they are clearer than the PF version.
and for me, wield and hold are the same.

and when grappled you can not use two-handed items period, and not "you can not wield properly."


Human Fighter (Free Hand Fighter) 2

I need clarification on this.

grappled condition:

A grappled creature is restrained by a creature, trap, or effect. Grappled creatures cannot move and take a –4 penalty to Dexterity. A grappled creature takes a –2 penalty on all attack rolls and combat maneuver checks, except those made to grapple or escape a grapple. In addition, grappled creatures can take no action that requires two hands to perform. A grappled character who attempts to cast a spell or use a spell-like ability must make a concentration check (DC 10 + grappler's CMB + spell level), or lose the spell. Grappled creatures cannot make attacks of opportunity.

A grappled creature cannot use Stealth to hide from the creature grappling it, even if a special ability, such as hide in plain sight, would normally allow it to do so. If a grappled creature becomes invisible, through a spell or other ability, it gains a +2 circumstance bonus on its CMD to avoid being grappled, but receives no other benefit.

If You Are Grappled:

If you are grappled, you can attempt to break the grapple as a standard action by making a combat maneuver check (DC equal to your opponent's CMD; this does not provoke an attack of opportunity) or Escape Artist check (with a DC equal to your opponent's CMD). If you succeed, you break the grapple and can act normally. Alternatively, if you succeed, you can become the grappler, grappling the other creature (meaning that the other creature cannot freely release the grapple without making a combat maneuver check, while you can). Instead of attempting to break or reverse the grapple, you can take any action that doesn’t require two hands to perform, such as cast a spell or make an attack or full attack with a light or one-handed weapon against any creature within your reach, including the creature that is grappling you. See the grappled condition for additional details. If you are pinned, your actions are very limited. See the pinned condition in Conditions for additional details.

I don't see anything about dropping anything or being unable to hold something in one hand. It only states you can't take any actions that require two hands to perform, meaning that you can't use the two hands together not that one hand is somehow immoblized. He could easily hold the staff in one hand (doesn't require two hands and is not an attack) and a dagger in another. He could attack with the dagger, but not the staff.

At least's that is how I read that passage. Do you read it differently?

301 to 350 of 688 << first < prev | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | next > last >>
Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Community / Online Campaigns / Play-by-Post Discussion / Solos / Varash Kingmaker Discussion All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.